Infinite Love…MH17.

Our family would like to send our love to all those affected by the horrific shooting down of Malaysian Airlines Flight MH 17. We feel so much love for you and we also want to express our outrage at this heinous crime.

Last Saturday, our children made red love hearts, which we taped onto paddle pop sticks and we sent these to some of the schools affected by the tragedy. This was something that I felt inspired to do. In other words, this wasn’t an idea that came from myself.

The children making the love hearts.

The children making the love hearts.

I suspect these hearts were inspired by the red poppies the children make every ANZAC Day at school to honor our service people who made the ultimate sacrifice for our country. The children draw poppies onto red paper and then cut them out and sticky tape them onto paddlepop sticks. A poppy from each class is then planted in the memorial garden underneath the Australian and Aboriginal flags.

As someone who didn’t lose a loved one in this incident, it is hard to know whether to respond publicly or to remain silent out of respect. But I feel in a sense compelled to step out beyond my comfort zone. We couldn’t send these hearts to everyone we wanted to. The task was beyond us but I guess I thought that by sharing the photos I took of the hearts, that they might help someone somewhere. That it might help someone grieving in Amsterdam, or Melbourne, Perth or Malaysia that families they’ve never met in a different place, are holding them in their hearts and really and truly care. Quite frankly, you’d have to be a lump of stone not to.

Also, as much as we might struggle to find the words to say the right thing, what is the alternative?

Silence?

The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing- Edmund Burke.

I don’t know if fields of red love hearts can grow beyond the realms of my imagination but we have sown the seeds of love and hope they can provide some comfort to those who mourn.

Love Flowers

Love Flowers.

Before we posted the hearts out, I photographed the hearts in the grass at home and also at the local waterfront and I’ve shared them here. You will notice the hearts cast a shadow…the heartache of those who are grieving their loss.

Love & Shadows

Love & Shadows

For all those who are grieving, particularly the families and friends of the victims but also those who never knew the victims in life but also feel, we send you our love. I have experienced the love of a stranger at particularly hard times in my own life and it really touched my heart. It is genuine and real. We send you that love.

Love and God’s richest blessings,

Rowena, Geoff, Mister and Miss xx oo

DSC_2698

3 thoughts on “Infinite Love…MH17.

  1. roweeee Post author

    Reblogged this on beyondtheflow and commented:

    Following the horrific events of last week and as 2014 draws to a close, I decided to reblog a post I wrote following the awful shooting down of Malaysian Airlines Flight MH17. Our family made some red love hearts and sent them to the victims families and schools connected to the tragedy. I am wondering where we go to now. How can we as average Joes make some lasting tribute to those who have lost their lives as civilians to terrorism? xx Rowena

  2. Corina

    What a wonderful idea. I also like that your children got involved. It’s so difficult for children to deal with death, especially senseless death.

  3. roweeee Post author

    Thanks. The kids make red poppies for ANZAC Day, our commemoration for when Australians landed at ANZAC Cove, Gallipoli in WWI and that inspired me. I have a life-threatening illness and had had chemo six months before that happened so we were all very sensitive to that loss. My health goes up and down but is good again at the moment. I know it’s made me more compassionate and empathetic with others. Hope you have a good week, Corina. Best wishes,
    Rowena

Leave a Reply

