Peace, love and understanding wrapped up in my treasured folk-art piece

Christmas is a time for catching up with family and perhaps not always feeling that direct connection, that commonality perhaps we desperately desire. This touching post share how her Mum tried to step into her daughter “foreign” world of art xx Rowena

psychologistmimi

Peace, love and understanding wrapped up in my treasured folk-art piece

 straight

As a poor girl growing up in the South Bronx, I didn’t have much. I definitely didn’t have much that was of monetary value.  I didn’t really have that many toys; which may be why I have gone a bit overboard with the gift-giving for my son.  About 18 years ago, I started collecting art. I was actually gifted many art pieces. I made jokes that I now had things I could pawn off if my financial situation ever necessitated it.  I know, my sense of humor is a bit twisted.  Now the majority of the walls of my house have art work adorning them: many gifted, some purchased and some won at silent auctions. I love local art, folk art and grand art. I guess that comes from having gone to Vassar College where Art History 101…

View original post 575 more words

Leave a Reply

