2014 in review-The World-Wide Impact of Blogging.

The WordPress.com stats helper monkeys prepared a 2014 annual report for my blog and I was blown away by some of the results.

The report showed that I’ve had visitors from 62 countries last year, about one third of all the countries in the world. When you consider that I was immobile for much of 2014, I was gobsmacked and completely stoked about this global spread of my writing. Before I started my blog, I used to share my poetry with my husband and a friend in her shop down the street. I love this global expansion , even if it’s still on a small scale. Shows what a little person can achieve with persistence, hard work and not letting the black dog of low stats defeat them. It also validates blogging as a credible and world changing vehicle

Let’s keep spreading our words and ideas around and around the world in 2015

xx Rowena

Here’s an excerpt:

A New York City subway train holds 1,200 people. This blog was viewed about 4,900 times in 2014. If it were a NYC subway train, it would take about 4 trips to carry that many people.

Click here to see the complete report.

2 thoughts on “2014 in review-The World-Wide Impact of Blogging.

  1. maxwellthedog

    Oh my goodness, I am your most prolific commentator. Well, everybody says I’m a big mouth. I enjoy your stories Rowena and look forward to each one. In fact I look forward to seeing new posts on all my fave blogs which, like yours, span the globe. I have to admit the one follower from Nigeria has me a bit spooked and I keep waiting for an email about secret bank funds that can be all mine if only I cough up some personal data.

  2. roweeee Post author

    Thanks Tom. I also love your blog and anticipate posts and share them with the kids. They love Max and he really is adorable. He always looks so clean…especially for a white dog. He must spend a lot time at the salon!! It’s quite for us to be able to experience your world of Hawaii with the big surf and meet you.
    I was telling Geoff how much my world has changed. I went over to Perth in around 1989 and stayed in the backpackers there and met people from around the world and this blew my mind at the time. Even though Australia is obviously very multicultural, I still hadn’t met many people from Europe…especially what I was looking for in my late teens…single foreign men. That said, I behaved myself. It was a real novelty to meet people from overseas and I knew nobody over there whereas now I’m chatting daily with people I consider good friends all around the world It’s fantastic!!
    I have wondered about a few of my followers as well but so far so good. I haven’t had any of those offers from Nigeria either xx Rowena

Leave a Reply

