Repercussions of Being a Cat Loving Dog

Eisenhower was no doubt trying to be encouraging when he said: “What counts is not necessarily the size of the dog in the fight – it’s the size of the fight in the dog.”

Unfortunately, you’ll need a microscope to find the fight in this dog right now. Indeed, I suspect that I’ve swallowed a chicken in my sleep.

Please excuse my less than positive outlook. I know I’m not exactly upbeat at the best of times and have more of a realist’s world view. However, my current state is low even by my fairly unambitious standards.

Yoko Ono and John Lennon's message still rings true: Give Peace A Chance. The trouble is how to maintain the peace when there is still so much evil in this world.

Yoko Ono and John Lennon’s message still rings true: Give Peace A Chance. The trouble is how to maintain the peace when there is still so much evil in this world. Not so easy…

Since I last wrote, I’ve been forced into hiding in the deepest depths of my canine laboratory since launching my twitter campaign: # cats and dogs are friends. Rather than building bridges between two age-old foes and turning hate into love, my efforts have backfired and focused the hatred of both species onto their new found common foe… me!

“And I don’t want the world to see me
‘Cause I don’t think that they’d understand
When everything’s made to be broken
I just want you to know who I am”

Goo Goo Dolls: Isis

Now, I am a wanted dog and as you could appreciate, it’s sadly for all the wrong reasons. My situation, as it stands, is therefore rather dire.

Hence, this could very well be my very last post.

If only this placard could be true.

If only this placard could be true.

You see, after advocating that dogs and cats should become friends and flying a flag saying: “I love cats” from the roof of my kennel, I’ve attracted hoards of haters…the very thing I spoke out against a few posts back.

Sadly, that often happens when you try to change the world and fiddle with the status quo.

Still a long way off.

Still a long way off.

So, I guess this means I won’t be collecting my Nobel Peace Prize any time soon.

All the dogs think I’m a traitor. That I’ve sold out and joined the enemy. Although I didn’t quite go as far as saying: “Je suis chat”, it seems that by trying to love cats and be their friend, I have crossed an invisible line. I’ve seemingly betrayed the very essence of being a dog. Apparently, hating cats is as much part of being a dog as barking, chewing bones and chasing balls.

Hence, dogs are quite literally trying to kill me. Indeed, a campaign of pure hate is spreading like wildfire on Facebook, Twitter and the blogosphere: #Hate Bilbo, #Bilbo is not a dog… and it gets worse.

Not so long ago, I was living the very uneventful life of a garden-variety backyard dog. Yes, I admit I was also dabbling in dog philosophy and this has somehow become a crusade. It is this crusade which has got be into my current predicament.

Despite these sinister threats, I’m not about to hate. That goes against everything I believe and everything I stand for and certainly is the very antithesis of the Golden Rule. I can’t even kill my own fleas. The family always takes care of that. I am a peace-loving dog whose only crime was to try to change the world for the common good. Now, I’m a dog staring into the headlights of a truck called “Red Rover”. That is, an in “it’s all over red rover”.

It would appear that you only try to change such entrenched age-old values at your peril. So much for appreciating a bit of vision!!

Such is the fate of a lone dog trying to overcome age-old hatred to create a new world order.

However, just because the dogs all hate me, don’t think that I’ve somehow managed to win over the cat population. The cats hate me as well. Rather than seeing my efforts as some kind of bid for world peace, they’ve accused me of being a cold blooded killer, a wolf in sheep’s clothing and have dug up terrible stories about my past treatment of cats. These have been rapidly circulating throughout all forms of media. Like humans, cats simply can’t believe that old dogs can learn new tricks.

So while I’m trying to stay inspired and feel the love, I’ve retreated right into the very depths of my beloved laboratory and Lady, my canine companion, is putting her food thieving, road kill retrieving skills to good use. Thankfully, it turns out that she’s not just “decorative” after all. She’s also become a very loyal friend, standing by me when, as I’ve said, every other dog wants to kill me. We’re in this together for what could well be a very long haul.

Thank you very much for reading, liking or perhaps even following my posts and for trying to step beyond your comfort zone to explore what is truly possible when we all learn to love instead of hate.

This is the way the world ends

This is the way the world ends

This is the way the world ends

Not with a bang but a whimper.

 TS Eliot; The Hollow Men.

xx Bilbo

PS: If you are interested in reading my research into the Golden Rule, my posts start here: https://beyondtheflow.wordpress.com/2015/01/09/greetings-from-good-dog/

 

If you are interested in hearing from Lady, click here for some of her posts:

https://beyondtheflow.wordpress.com/2015/01/07/my-dog-post-lady-at-palm-beach-sydney/

https://beyondtheflow.wordpress.com/2014/10/03/portrait-of-a-lady/

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I have studied many philosophers and many cats. The wisdom of cats is infinitely superior.

Hippolyte Taine
Read more at http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/topics/topic_pet3.html#WbTjMwQhRvQBozEu.99

 

 

12 thoughts on “Repercussions of Being a Cat Loving Dog

  1. noelleg44

    Hey, Bilbo,I’m sleeping here on the couch next to my friend, a large puffy fur ball named Elijah Moon – he’s even purring. Keep the faith, friend. I respect your effort. And Elijah is soft and warm!
    Angel

  2. roweeee Post author

    Thank you. I have been quite amazed at what started out as a simple blog post by my dog has evolved into an exploration of the Golden Rule and how to negotiate complex relationships such as between Christian and Muslim extremists, the gender divide. I also had a play date that went terribly terribly wrong and rather than talking through the issues and working out what happened, my family was subjected to fairly extreme violence and I had to ring the Police. It was a complex situation where their daughter broke my lamp and didn’t apologise and my husband wasn’t happy and from their the whole thing spiralled. I was out of the house for about 30 minutes buying dinner so we’re not talking about a lengthy scenario and our son was also here. Anyway, this woman has as far as I’m concerned, become pure hatred and even subjects my children and my mum to to her bile. This seemingly unresolvable situation has underpinned much of my thinking about the Golden Rule. I have made several efforts to try to discuss the matter but as I said, she’s just become pure hate and there’s nothing I can do.My daughter has been somewhat ostracised from some her friends and it’s been a very nasty business. I can’t seem to do anything to change things. It’s been 2 years now and we just seemingly have to live with it. However, even if I can’t impact one person, it doesn’t mean I should give up on the rest.

  3. roweeee Post author

    Thank you so much for reblogging this Sally. I am very grateful. The last month or so has been a very rough time for our planet, even though much worse things have happened in the past.
    When I first started writing about Bilbo’s struggle with cats which undermined his intentions to be a better dog and live by the Golden Rule, it was just meant to be a reflective dog post.However, a sense of allegory started entering his posts and I felt myself being drawn on quite a journey with him to try to help us all get along better.
    You know how it is as a writer. There are times you a controlling your work and there are other times when you suspect another force is at work. Perhaps not entirely but I do feel a bit of that with Bilbo’s posts.
    Best wishes,
    Rowena

  4. roweeee Post author

    Thank you very much for the encouragement Monika. It has indeed been my darkest hour. However, they say the coldest time of night is just before dawn. You wouldn’t believe what happened. Lady came to my rescue. Turns out that she wasn’t just “decorative” after all. Stay tuned!! There have been some incredible developments xx Bilbo

  5. roweeee Post author

    Hello Angel,
    I’m sorry that I didn’t reply sooner. I sometimes struggle with technology and I thought I’d replied so my slackness was totally unintentional.I’m pleased to hear that you and the cat have been able to live in love and harmony, respecting each others’ differences. Things have improved a lot for me, although I went through quite a bad patch there when everyone hated me: both cats and dogs and my heart is still racing and I feel quite jittery when I leave the house. I am working on my next post. Mum said she needs to catch up on a few things. She’s signed up for this compassion blogging campaign. She’s written about it on the blog and it’s really worth getting involved in it. She’s also received a few awards and hasn’t accepted them yet. That’s right. She just signed up with Twitter and is having trouble finding her feet. She said she feels like a real twit.
    Anyway Angel. Take care and I’ll catch up with you later.
    xx Bilbo

  6. roweeee Post author

    Hello Angel,
    I’m sorry that I didn’t reply sooner. I sometimes struggle with technology and I thought I’d replied so my slackness was totally unintentional.I’m pleased to hear that you and the cat have been able to live in love and harmony, respecting each others’ differences. Things have improved a lot for me, although I went through quite a bad patch there when everyone hated me: both cats and dogs and my heart is still racing and I feel quite jittery when I leave the house. I am working on my next post. Mum said she needs to catch up on a few things. She’s signed up for this compassion blogging campaign. She’s written about it on the blog and it’s really worth getting involved in it. She’s also received a few awards and hasn’t accepted them yet. That’s right. She just signed up with Twitter and is having trouble finding her feet. She said she feels like a real twit.
    Anyway Angel. Take care and I’ll catch up with you later.
    xx Bilbo

  7. noelleg44

    Thanks for the contact, Bilbo. I know how it is with our humans. There are times when mine is so busy that she forgets to pet me. I follow her everywhere to remind her. I’m glad things are calming down for you. Elijah and I have a pact of sorts. If I don’t invade his space without his permission, I don’t get spked.

  8. roweeee Post author

    Thanks for the tip, Angel. I have similar issues with my canine companion, Lady. The hide of her! She’s the new dog on the block and yet she has the audacity to push me out. It took me awhile to get my head around things as I’m a bit reserved. Not real good at meeting new of any description unless it’s food. Take care and I’ll be back on the blog soon xx Bilbo

  9. roweeee Post author

    Sounds like a good plan to me. Lady and I tend to have our zones as well at times. We like a bit of space but every now and then we snuggle up just to confuse the family.

Leave a Reply

