“Finish each day and be done with it. You have done what you could. Some blunders and absurdities no doubt crept in; forget them as soon as you can. Tomorrow is a new day. You shall begin it serenely and with too high a spirit to be encumbered with your old nonsense.”

By Ralph Waldo Emerson

I strayed across this quote today and I’ve stuck it in here the same way you might stick it on your fridge for further consideration. It is so redolent with possibilities as well as slaps across the write. While I passionate carpe diem seize the day, I pretty much try to stuff more than is humanly possible into this day, stay up too late and steal hours from  the next day…a pretty common scenario, I’m sure!!

This quote also talks about starting each day afresh without baggage from the past and while on first thought, this seems  very liberating and “mindful”, I also believe we need to learn from the past or we’re just going to be tripping over both feet and never earning to walk, let alone run!! Yet, we also need freedom and to be unencumered from the past. There is such beauty and potential in an open slate just like a stretch of open sea sparkling like a diamond carpet in the sun.

I would welcome and encourage your thoughts on what really is quite an intriguing quote.

xx Rowena

PS My days of stretching my days beyond midnight are currently numbered. The kids go back to school next week and from then on, it will be all systems go…”Thunderbirds are Go!”

10 thoughts on “Best Intentions for Tomorrow…

  1. akeerie

    Like both your quote and your take on it. First I read and thought…..what a hell of a week I’ve had. I’m up early not slept well cause of a stinking cold and all the conversations whirling round my head and this made me think….yep I’ve did what I did….I did it well. leave it behind and enjoy your weekend. I know Monday will come round soon enough…..and that point I should reflect and chew the niggles and improve on how last week went. So….I’m taking this queue to pump up my high spirit! Thanks for sharing

  2. roweeee Post author

    Thanks, Merril. There’s so much in it. When I saw it on someone else’s blog, I had to investigate it further. It had my name on it!! xx Rowena

  3. roweeee Post author

    I’m pleased it helped. My grandfather had a much quoted phrase: “The geese go barefoot everywhere.” He grew up in an Australian village called Hahndorf which had been built and settled by German immigrants and was like a piece of Germany transplated to Australia well beyond WWII. So he always used to recite the quote in German: “Die Ganze gehen barrfuss uberall” (excusing my punctuation etc).
    I am finding more and more through blogging, how much we all have in common regardless of where we live on the blue planet and how we can encourage and nurture complete strangers on the other side of the world and become friends. I love it.
    Mind you, the other side of this, is not being able to effect any kind of change on family and friends living right under our noses or indeed our own selves.
    xx Rowena

  4. purpleslobinrecovery

    Hi Rowena, I’m too guilty of the stay up late club, myself. And never fails, someone calls early the next morning needing something! AAAAAHHHHHH, why don’t I learn????
    Oh well, as it says, tomorrow’s another day.

  5. roweeee Post author

    We night owls are in a flock of our own and there’s always some early bird wanting to show us up. I also have kids who need to get to school etc and it all does go better when I’m not a zombie. But the lure of the night still gets me. I love the quiet stillness. Such peace!

Leave a Reply

