Looking For My Song

I know so many adults who would like to learn an instrument and so many kids who stubbornly refuse to practice…even when they profess to love their instrument. This post writes about this so well and connects up with much of my writing about learning the violin xx Rowena

rachelmankowitz

I used to write songs. This was a long time ago. I bought a Casio keyboard with my leaf-raking money when I was eleven or twelve, and tried to remember my years of piano lessons to pick out a melody. But I never felt like I could catch the song I was looking for.

I feel like being a musician, for me, is as impossible as being a dog. I don’t have the right internal organs to get there, no matter how much I might want to. I don’t have the right brain, the right ears, and the right fingers. I’m just not that person and I feel the loss acutely. Cricket and Butterfly have their own unique songs. They have particular patterns and rhythms and pitches that really get their message across, but I feel muted. I can write and speak my story, but I can’t sing it, and…

View original post 573 more words

Leave a Reply

