Some personal thoughts at the beginning of a new year, and a poem

I would like to share this very inspirational post from Chris, who is living with MS. I relate to so much of what she writes as I live with dermatomyositis, an auto-immune where my muscles attack themselves. It includes a very motivating poem which is a wake-up call to us all xx Rowena

journeyintopoetry

A new year is here and I feel very grateful to be alive. I am ‘walking’ hand in hand with January carrying optimism and hope, both vital for my well-being, and while I am not wishing away the days, I am very much looking forward to the springtime when I can once more greet the fresh air and spend precious time in its loving company.

I don’t make resolutions but I do take a look at certain aspects of my life and make a few adjustments here and there. MS obviously plays big role in this these days and I need to keep everything about it in perspective while firmly facing the truth of what it is.

Everyone with this condition lives with it on a very personal level and no two people are the same either symptom-wise or affected in the same way by the same symptoms others may…

View original post 404 more words

5 thoughts on “Some personal thoughts at the beginning of a new year, and a poem

  1. roweeee Post author

    You’re welcome, Pam and it was lovely to find your blog. My auto-immune disease sounds a bit like your MS. It hasn’t responded fabulously well to treatment but I am in remission again now after having infusions of cyclaphosphamide last Christmas, which has worked. I feel like I am held together with safety pins but doing pretty well at the moment…at least for me. I hope you are finding reasonable treatments xx Rowena

  2. journeyintopoetry

    I’m really pleased you are in remission, that’s good news. Unfortunately my MS is now at the progressive stage and I no longer have periods of remission, just a slow (hopefully) progression. I can’t walk much now and have no use in my right arm and hand. There are no treatments for progressive MS but we can help ourselves maintain a good sense of well being through diet, physio, meditation etc.

    I was only diagnosed three years ago at the progressive stage but when the neurologist read my notes she said it was clear I’ve had relapsing remitting MS for many years. I knew something was wrong years ago but doctors put my symptoms down to anxiety, which was ridiculous because I wasn’t anxious. I’m doing ok and am just about to have my first book of poetry published. I most probably wouldn’t have started writing if it wasn’t for the MS diagnosis three years ago so I guess that’s the one positive to arise out of all this. All profits from the book will go to The MS Trust.

    I hope you stay well! 😊 x

  3. roweeee Post author

    Only too pleased, Kate. Lea in France put me onto three of you and I was really stoked to find you but also to share your blogs via the Inspiring Blogger Award, even though a few of the people I nominated didn’t accept the award. I have been really touched by the bloggers I interact with. They are all so thoughtful and encouraging in so many different ways from writing tips through to getting through setbacks etc. So different to perceptions of the mainstream media. I feel very blessed xx Rowena

Leave a Reply

