It’s Not Easy Being Green!

G is for Green and as I struggled to think of a meaningful topic for the Blogging A-Z Challenge, I remembered a favourite childhood song: It’s Not Easy Being Green, which was written by Sesame Street songwriter Joe Ripozo and sung by Jim Henson as loveable Kermit the Frog.

It's Not Easy Being Green
It's not that easy being green
Having to spend each day the color of the leaves
When I think it could be nicer being red, or yellow or gold
Or something much more colorful like that

It's not easy being green
It seems you blend in with so many other ordinary things
And people tend to pass you over 'cause you're
Not standing out like flashy sparkles in the water
Or stars in the sky

But green's the color of Spring
And green can be cool and friendly-like
And green can be big like an ocean, or important
Like a mountain, or tall like a tree

When green is all there is to be
It could make you wonder why, but why wonder why
Wonder, I am green and it'll do fine, it's beautiful
And I think it's what I want to be

You might even want to have a sing-a-long: www.youtube.com/watch?v=hpiIWMWWVco

This song is dedicated to Freddie the Front Door Frog. If you go back to my post to my post for F about Fractured Fairytales, you might recall being introduced. Freddie lives with my in-laws about half an hour’s hop from Byron Bay when he hitches a ride in the car.

Freddie the Front Door Frog.

Freddie the Front Door Frog.

Well, being an Australian Green Tree Frog, I thought Freddie would appreciate this song. After all, we wouldn’t want him deciding that he didn’t like being green and going all fancy dress, turning himself rainbow colours or hopping around weighed down by too much bling.

That’s right. We want him to know that we love him just the way he is or even because of what he is…GREEN!

By the way, Freddie says that it’s actually a lot easier to be green than you think. That you don’t need to go and change your skin colour, or anything else that radical. Rather, you can start small. Get a worm farm. Reduce the amount of packaging you use and don’t buy snacks in individual serve packets. You can grow a few tomatoes,. Have chooks. Walk instead of drive.

Apparently, all these little things add up and even the smallest and seemingly weakest among us, can make a difference for the survival of our beautiful blue planet and he points out, save more frogs!!

Today has been brought to you by the letter G as part of the Blogging from A-Z April Challenge.

xx Rowena

11 thoughts on “It’s Not Easy Being Green!

  1. roweeee Post author

    I loved Sesame Street too and then The Muppets, which were like the more grown up version. I still remember that Sesame Street was the first show I watched when my parents bought our first colour TV and I saw Big Bird in colour for the first time. That was an absolutely incredible, mind-blowing moment I’ll never forget. Big Bird was yellow!! Wow! It was almost like a hallucination!!! I was about 4 or 5 at the time so it was a very long time ago.

  2. roweeee Post author

    I loved Sesame Street too and remember what it was like seeing Big Bird in colour for the first time. It was absolutely incredible!!! I also loved The Muppets, who were sort of like the grown up, cool version as we got older. I loved Animal and the Swedish Chef. I cook a bit like him with food ending up all over the kitchen!

  3. TanGental

    I read about the Spare in Oz on his military service talking to a Canberra local about how being a ginger (a red head) is now the best thing. So, following Royalty’s lead Fred must be leading e charge for ‘greens’. I’m being rather obtuse, aren’t i?!!!

  4. cahyanidwy

    Kermit :D, I love green, and the frog seems a bit cute. Japanese also has Keropi 🙂

  5. cahyanidwy

    Oh, pardon me Rowee, I wrote my blog in Indonesian, sometimes English.. but it’s okay 🙂 I still enjoy read your blog ❤

Leave a Reply

