Feeding Life Lessons to My Kids.

This being the second week of the school holidays, I’d personally like to turn all the life lessons I have ever read into some kind of breakfast cereal and shovel it into my kids quick smart whether they’re hungry or not. This is what parents did back in the Victorian era and it seems like a much better idea than being glued to electronics, especially when the outdoors is so incredibly beautiful, serene and finally sunny!!

Moses wasn't too happy with his peoples either.

Moses wasn’t too happy with his peoples either.

I know ramming the Ten Commandments down their throats might seem a bit “old school”, “traditional” and potentially a form of social control. However, perhaps deferring to a higher authority is what I need. After all, as soon as their father arrives home, the little mischief makers do exactly what they’ve been told and fall into line. Don’t you think calling on God’s almighty divine intervention snap them to attention even faster than: “Do you want me to go and call your father?”

While I absolutely adore: The Prophet by Kahlil Gibran whose poetic language just flows like heavenly music, The Ten Commandments cut straight to the chase and pretty much cover all the bases. I also like the sense of hell fire and brimstone, which is infused in the “thou shalts” of the King James version as well.

Perhaps, I should start using a few “thou shalts” of my own around the house:

  1. Thou shalt listen to your mother.
  2. Thou shalt do your chores.
  3. Thou shalt wipe your own backside.
  4. Thou shalt not fight with each other or with your parents.
  5. Thou shalt not whinge, whine.
  6. Thou shalt accept: no means no!

You know I actually felt quite empowered by the “thou shalt”. I think I shalt add it to my arsenal.

Our kids do scouts and as everybody knows, the scouting motto is: “Be prepared” and a big part of it involves being able to pack for camp. This is, as it turns out, an incredible life lesson. Scout’s does a fabulous job preparing kids for this by providing a packing list for each and every camp, which even has a visual diagram. It is hammered into the Scouts that although they can have assistance, they must pack their bags themselves. Moreover, as I still have lingering chemo brain myself and have never been good at packing light anyway, I find the whole thing too stressful . Yes, I know. Even though it might be a very good life lesson for me as well, I’m avoiding these packing nightmares like the plague. I am now getting to the point of tough love too! You don’t pack it, you deal with it!!

As you might have gathered, I’m over it. Maxims like “flogging a dead horse” and “pushing shit uphill” definitely come to mind.

"Oh what a beautiful morning, Oh what a beautiful day. I have a wonderful feeling, Everything's going my way"-"Oklahoma".

“Oh what a beautiful morning, Oh what a beautiful day. I have a wonderful feeling, Everything’s going my way”-“Oklahoma”.

Anyway, while I’m waxing lyrically about life lessons for the kids, I need to consider a few for myself. It’s a sunny day in paradise and what with all the rain we’ve had, these are precious…particularly as we head towards Winter.

So without further ado, the kids and I are off to walk the dogs along the waterfront before the tide comes in. After all,

The tide waits for no (hu)man!

Edmund Burke

Stay tuned for part 2. How could I write just a few paragraphs on such an inspirational topic?

L is for Life Lessons in the A-Z Challenge. The letter L official marks our halfway point. Hurrah! Not that I’m wishing it was over but it is called a challenge for a reason. It’s challenging!

XX Rowena

25 thoughts on “Feeding Life Lessons to My Kids.

  1. roweeee Post author

    Thanks, Laurie. It could be getting longer but they go to camp tomorrow and that will get them outdoors and away from those devices.

  2. Shirley Corder

    Oh yes, I love the Thou Shalts! i think I should probably come up with a few for myself to follow too! Looking forward to Part 2!

  3. roweeee Post author

    Yes, I was feeling quite fired up this morning but the little angels are off to scout camp for 3 days tomorrow so I will be a free agent able to leave the house again.

  4. roweeee Post author

    What’s your favourite? I’m not sure I have one. I like particular songs out quite a few. I am currently playing some songs from Oliver on my violin and love those. Theme song from Cats is awesome. Phantom of the Opera.

  5. merrildsmith

    I don’t think I have a favorite–although probably not any of the ones you mentioned. 🙂 I love the older ones, Sound of Music, My Fair Lady, Oklahoma, etc., and some newer ones, such as Ordinary Days and Light in the Piazza, and all the Sondheim stuff. . .

  6. roweeee Post author

    I don’t know any of those newer ones. My Fair Lady was great. I sort of like the Sound of Music. Sing some of the songs with my daughter but there is that cringe factor.

  7. merrildsmith

    Yeah, there is sort of the cringe factor with Sound of Music. It’s not really one I listen to that often, it was just in my mind because of the recent anniversary. My older daughter told me about Light in the Piazza when she was in high school–it’s beautiful, and my younger daughter has been in a bunch of shows. I heard Audra McDonald sing a song from “Ordinary Days,” and then my daughter was in the show her senior year in college and sang that same song (“I’ll Be Here”). It makes me cry.

  8. roweeee Post author

    How incredible! I can just imagine your pride. At the end of the school year, the kids’ school has a very motley Talent Show. Miss sang “Let it Go”. I was so proud, she did a fantastic job even though I could barely hear her over the roars and applause of the audience. It was like trying to perform in a rowdy pub. Mister also played a solo on his guitar. I was incredibly proud. I’d broken my foot the night before but had to see them perform before I had an xray. Wouldn’t miss it for the world!

  9. merrildsmith

    I would have been the same way! It would have been awful to have missed their show.
    My younger daughter is marrying the man who played Stanley to her Blanche in A Streetcar Named Desire in their college production. (He is NOT like Stanley in real life.) 🙂

  10. roweeee Post author

    What a romantic story and one for the family history!! My Mum was learning the piano at the Sydney Conservatorium from my Dad’s mother and he was sent to the station to pick her up and that was where they met. Your daughter’s story is much more exciting.

  11. roweeee Post author

    Yes, the ups and downs continue but at least life isn’t dull. Mine are back from camp it was so exciting to hear all their tales. They were so animated.

  12. purpleslobinrecovery

    Too good! #3, and 5!!! lol That freckled face is so adorable!
    I have another Aussie friend, Stella from http://www.purfylle.com
    Have you run across her? She’s terrific too. Maybe you could stop in and say hi. Being as how since y’all are from the same country, and must be neighbors, and all! lol (Yes, I realize how stupid that sounds! 😉 )

  13. roweeee Post author

    That’s very much for the link. I had a quick look and I think she’s near Perth…on the other side of our dry continent. I lived over there for about 2 years and loved it. Her photos of the black swans in motion are incredible.

Leave a Reply

