H- Hang in there

So many of us know someone who has taken their own life and the tragedy it brings. This poem is so incredibly moving. Take care xx Rowena
PS this is from the A-Z Challenge

Randoms by a Random

image

Seconds, minutes, hours, gone;
There you lay- pale and numb;
I stare at the still-life that you’ve become.

Recalling our times, your smiles, our wars;
Said you were done, I believed your words;
Should have pushed on a little bit more.

“It’s an overdose”, the doctor said.
“The heart is intact, but the brain’s dead”
“There’s no more we can do- it’s the end”.

To hear you scream, just once more;
To save your life, I’ll give the world;
To take your place, I’d give even more.

Stay with me, let me in;
Defy all odds, break the shield;
Your hearts alive, that’s all I need.

They say it’s denial, I call it hope;
It’s not your time, I feel it in my bones;
Hang in there friend, I won’t let you go.

View original post

4 thoughts on “H- Hang in there

  1. roweeee Post author

    I’m so sorry to hear that. Suicide is absolutely awful and it just leaves everyone around them feeling like they could have done something. A Dad from our school took his life about 5 years ago and I went to the funeral. His daughter was at our place for our son’s birthday party the day before and it really hit me thinking about her losing her Dad so young. She’s doing very well but it’s been very hard on the family…especially on her brother.
    I think you’ll enjoy this blog: https://wordpress.com/read/blog/id/44166318/
    She writes about it too. Thinking of you xx Rowena

  2. Ula

    Really powerful and moving. It’s so unfortunate how many of us have had some kind of dealings with depression and suicide – some personally (themselves or someone in their family) and some through friends and acquaintances. Any way you look at it, it’s a tragedy.

  3. roweeee Post author

    It is awful and many of these family and friends have bent over backwards to try to save their loved ones. It’s hard enough for people to accept and understand accidental death but suicide is in another ballpark entirely.

Leave a Reply

