The Question Mark.

“God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,

The courage to change the things I can,

And the wisdom to know the difference”.

However, I must admit that I’ve never been that good at spotting the difference but that’s another story!

Perhaps, however, the ultimate question remains: how do we live with the question mark and life’s inherent uncertainty without becoming a nervous wreck? There is indeed a lot of strength or even misplaced power when we believe we’re all-powerful and somehow rule the world and control each and every roll of the dice…including the weather.

This is indeed one of life’s greatest unanswered questions along with how many days each of us will be walking this planet? We just don’t know. How long is a ball of string?

“Life is what happens while you are busy making other plans”.

John Lennon

Inevitably, busyness usually distracts and refocuses our thoughts away from unanswerable questions redirecting our efforts onto something more tangible like cleaning the toilet.

More than once, I’ve cheered: “Thank goodness for that!”

This has been Q for Question Mark in the Blogging from A-Z April Challenge. If you are doing the challenge, please share what you have written today and how things are going? We’re now on the homeward track.

xx Rowena

 PS Found this great quote today as I approach W of the Blogging A-Z April Challenge:

 “Have patience with everything that remains unsolved in your heart. Try to love the questions themselves, like locked rooms and like books written in a foreign language. Do not now look for the answers. They cannot now be given to you because you could not live them. It is a question of experiencing everything. At present you need to live the question. Perhaps you will gradually, without even noticing it, find yourself experiencing the answer, some distant day.”
― Rainer Maria Rilke, Letters to a Young Poet

12 thoughts on “The Question Mark.

  1. byrdwords

    Wonderful post, kiddo. I too, have more questions that I have ever been able to answer, but there is a danger. The danger of focusing too much on the questions is that we become absorbed in self-evaluation to the exclusion of living. When that happens our awareness is dulled and we lapse into self-indulgence. Hence the razor’s edge of living in the moment, not falling to one side of self-indulgence, falling to the other side of mental/emotional oblivion brought on by eternally chasing someone else’s idea of a dream, or being cleaved in two by the weight of the question driving us down onto the blade.
    My apologies. See what happens when you inspire ME to start thinking? I think I’ll just go back to my little boats and scribbles.
    xoxo

  2. Minuscule Moments

    Rowena one thing I have learned as I grow wiser (I hope) and a bit wrinkled is to go with the flow. I have stopped asking too many questions and just live, breathe or hold my breathe when a challenge comes along. I guess I am always readying myself for the twists and turns of life. But you can never truly predict what each of us goes through and why we must. I had a laugh at the professor, you brought back some timeless laughs and memories of TV way back when we use to copy him.

  3. TanGental

    I was never very good at questions that took a long time to answer. I kinda of had to get on with the living. Ni patience I suppose. Thoughtful post mind you.

  4. merrildsmith

    Lots of things to ponder (or question:) in your question mark post. My brain is too tired right now though, but the Fawlty Towers Manuel images made me chuckle. My husband and I used to watch that show all the time. I think it’s good to question things, otherwise nothing would ever change. That’s what creative people do, and that is how societies change, too. It takes people to question why can’t women go to school, or be president, or whatever. At the same time, you can’t live your life saying “what if” all the time.

  5. roweeee Post author

    For someone who is tired, you wrote a fabulous comment, Merril. Brain’s working better than you think!
    I have been stressed out by transition lately, which I’ve never really handled well or embraced. My son gave to high school next year and there’s the whole issue of whether he should sit for the selective class tests, the performing arts etc. and it’s one of those times, I’d really love to put an old head on young shoulders so he could see how important his future is but he is only 11 years old and how can he put himself in shoes that are way too big for his feet? We are just focusing on his guitar audition and what will be, will be.
    My Dad has also sold the house at Palm Beach and our luxury holiday escape is all but gone. We live at the beach ourselves but it was great going over there and having it all on our doorstep as well as that sensation of space both in terms of the house and the expansive view over Pittwater. I know I am losing a part of myself but I am telling myself that something awesome has to be just around the corner. We’ve brought the kayaks and Laser boat home here and should be able to get out more often, even though it’s going to be an effort to get the boats out of the house ie a trailer. I also have to remind myself that we were lucky to have had that experience in the first place but if you’d never known, then you wouldn’t miss it either!

  6. merrildsmith

    That is a lot to ponder, Rowena! Is your son locked into one tract in high school (and at age 12!)? That is a tough one. Our daughters were just at typical New Jersey high school (a small school that went from grades 7-12) where they took college prep and advanced classes, but also chorus (although sometimes they had to do that at lunch). Their school also had lots of clubs and activities–so they both were in Latin Club, did the school musicals, Madrigal singers, etc. I don’t know if your schools have those sorts of things.
    As for the house (and every time you write Palm Beach, I think Florida:)–it sounds like you have wonderful memories. Hopefully, you will have an opportunity to use the boats again elsewhere.
    All best.

  7. roweeee Post author

    Thanks, Merril. No trouble with using the boats again as we’re 700 metres walk to the beach here just a matter of making the time. The kids do sea scouts so I think we’ll be out there quite a lot.
    The school thing is a bit tricky because he’s above average in some areas but not accross the board. He’s good at maths and not so strong with writing, which is pretty typical. They have addition clubs etc. Indeed, my husband and I were amazed at the options and choices available. Choice is great but also a bit overwhelming if your path isn’t clear cut.
    Our Palm Beach is much quieter than the Florida one. I’ve never been to the US but our Gold Coast is more razzle dazzle and theme parks etc.
    I think I mentioned the rain to you last night? Well, it’s been terrible. The news is using the term cyclonic and several trees in our street alone have fallen over. Indeed, ones fallen on our clothes line. School was cancelled yesterday and supposedly tomorrow as well. That’s the first time in 6 years. Of course, we don’t have snows here like you do in the states. We went for a drive and I’ll be posting some photos. Hope you have better weather at your end. Despite the concern, it is also a bit exciting as well. xx Rowena

  8. merrildsmith

    Oh my–I didn’t know the weather was so bad there. We had some thunderstorms here last night, but nothing too terrible. It’s a bit cooler today, but sunny.
    Good luck with the school choice and with the weather!

  9. roweeee Post author

    I’ll be posted about the weather situation tonight. It’s been quite devastating in some places. Hard too because we’re not really prepared for something like that in these latitudes.
    I decided that he’s not going to audition for drama and we’re just focusing on his guitar. He is a great actor and performer but doesn’t realise that’s what he’s doing. Needs a bit more time under his belt. xx Rowena

  10. roweeee Post author

    Thanks, Shirley. I hope to pop over later tonight. Today I’ll be writing about T for Tea Cups. I collect antique and vintage bone China tea cups. Am feeling a bit worn out after the terrible storm we’ve had this week. It’s been declared at natural disaster. Still feel pretty shaken although I am trying to get on with it. Blessings to you over there xx Rowena

  11. Pingback: Unclerave's Wordy Weblog

Leave a Reply

