After the Sydney Storm

After three days of terrifying,cyclonic winds and drenching rain, the sun came out today almost making a mockery of our ordeal. Indeed, as I feel that warm sunshine filtering through the blinds, it’s more of a case of what storm? There isn’t even a puff of wind.If I was feeling more energetic, I’d awaken my rusty vocal chords and belt out: “Oh What A Beautiful Morning”. My Dad used to sing that on long drives in yet another embarrassing Dad moment.

However, while the storm has cleared, the scars remain. Our front window is still taped up and while Geoff has salvaged the clothes line from the fallen tree, there’s still a huge pile of branches in the yard. Tracks down to our local beach have been sealed off and calls have gone out to help with the clean-up.

Ocean Beach, Umina after the storm.

Ocean Beach, Umina after the storm. That’s Lion Island in the middle of the frame and Palm Beach is the headland on the left.

With the sun shining, winds gone and clear skies, my concerns about the kids going to school this morning were gone as were my concerns about driving them there. That, however, didn’t stop Mister from putting up incredible resistance. It’s the first day back after the Easter holidays and we’ve established nothing even approaching a routine. This morning, it was simply a case of getting them there. That’s all.

The storm has still left me rattled and has brought out some troubling old war wounds. Like those phantom pains experienced by an amputee, these memories still haunt me. Yes, you get on with it but that doesn’t mean the ghosts aren’t real. Moreover, I’m sure denial only makes them worse. Then, they start to play up and vie for your attention with all sorts of desperate antics. As much as I really don’t want to say hello and validate their existence, this seems to be the path of least resistance.

And so we move forward. Not strong, all-conquering heroes but fully human…shaken, not stirred.

For all of you who might have lost houses or loved ones during the storm, we send you our love.

Have you been through any spectacular storms? How did you feel afterwards? Please share your stories!

xx Rowena

PS I am participating in the Blogging A-Z April Challenge and this is a postscript to S is for Sydney Storms.

21 thoughts on “After the Sydney Storm

  1. roweeee Post author

    Thanks so much. Aside from the damage, there is such calm outside now. The air feels somehow cleansed. I have wondered if my lingering uneasiness is justified but the area has been classed as a natural disaster so I guess so. Starting to feel better. xx Rowena

  2. roweeee Post author

    Thanks for that. Had a good laugh. One of the people commenting on my post has a blog dedicated to 9/11 and I only just wrote a comment there about watching the second plane fly into the World Trade Centre on TV here on Australia. Seems like the box is building connections after all!

  3. Shirley Corder

    Wow! We are blessed here in S.Africa. Yes, we have storms, but nothing like this! Glad you’re safe. My ‘S’ in the AtoZ challenge is the awesome Serengetti plains of Africa. http://www.shirleycorder.com/?811. Feel free to leave your URL there if you comment. It’ll help to spread your link. Have a great day!

  4. Midwestern Plant Girl

    Here in the Midwest, we only get one, scary threat and that’s the tornado. I’ve been in a large one. The building was gone around us. Just the bathtub (the room) my family huddled in was left. Very scary. I was young. It does still make you understand how powerful nature is and how fragile life is!

  5. pollyesther

    I am Glad you are ok! Thank you for this detailed eye witness story of the storm that hit Sydney. So much better reading than watching depressing news flashes on TV! I loved your photo’s and how you braved it to get them. My thoughts are with those affected by it. I am a little hesitant to add my “measly” high country Winter storm story after your account of what happened this week, but seeing you asked: http://happypollyesther.com/2014/10/05/storm-lovers/ Mind you, I think I understand how you must have felt as memories of the nervous wait in a shaking house during that storm (with gusts up to 150kmh+), and holding onto the door for dear life come back again reading your blog. πŸ™‚

  6. roweeee Post author

    I heard about your storm and remember reading your post about it last year. That storm was quite a contender.
    It makes such a difference reading that first hand account, doesn’t it!! That;s what I love about blogging.
    Are you back in snow country yet or do you work overseas? My instructors go over to Canada and live in a perpetual winter. I don’t know if we’ll be getting down this year. Maybe just for 3 days. See what the tax return from last year is like…we’re a bit behind. xx Rowena

  7. roweeee Post author

    Now, that’s a force to be reckoned with. We all grow up with the Wizard of Oz and there are all those movies. I remember the one with Helen Hunt. I can’t imagine how terrifying your experience must have been. By the way, Captain Courageous our Border Collie is lying across my lap making typing difficult. Think he’s still rattled by the storm.

  8. roweeee Post author

    Thanks very much, Shirley. That storm was considered a once in 10 years. Our tropical cycloe can be pretty devastating though xx Rowena

  9. pollyesther

    Thanks for making me feel better about my story again πŸ™‚ I trust bloggers well before I believe anything in the news! No, currently working in the plant nursery, till the Snow Season starts here. I like to get the best of both Seasons πŸ™‚ The countdown has started as well as the first snow flurries… Crossing fingers on your tax return πŸ˜‰
    xxPolly

  10. gallivance.net

    Rowena, I lived at the beach in Florida for a few years, and I live on coastal Georgia now. Both locations are prime hurricane country, and I’ve ridden out a few. I’ve weathered a couple of Category 1 hurricanes (1 = mild up to 5 = horrific), and I can say that if these were Cat 1s, no way do I want to see anything higher. As you know, talking about it is one thing, living through it is quite another. Sustained winds of 120 kph are scary and a great reminder of how truly insignificant we humans are. ~James

  11. pollyesther

    I cannot wait for Hotham to turn all the snow cams on! Lucky I have a lot of local friends putting the first snow pictures up on Face Book πŸ˜‰

  12. roweeee Post author

    You’ve got it bad! Do they have a term for it? I’ve seen the look in my husband’s eyes and my daughter’s. There’s this fire. A real possessed look. It is an exhilarating sport…especially once you get off the magic carpet where I hang out. xx Ro

  13. Midwestern Plant Girl

    It must be a border collie thing. Mine freeeeeeak out during storms also.
    Me, I still like storms. Not sure why. I think it is the power that Mother Nature wields that excites me! 😁

  14. roweeee Post author

    Our last Border Collie would freak out and jump over the side gate and do the bolt if we weren’t home during storms or fireworks. He went missing for a weekend once. Our Old English Sheepdog wasn’t much better. He’d run in circles round and round the kitchen table hyperventalating, which really was a comic sight! xx Rowena

  15. roweeee Post author

    Hi James,
    My goodness! Those hurricanes sound terrifying. We heard about Hurricane Katrina over here, of course. Our storm was category 2 apparently…bad enough!In these storms trees, rooftops, powerlines…all thrown around. Such power! So glad it’s over and wasn’t worse!xx Rowena

  16. Pingback: Beach Storm | beyondtheflow

Leave a Reply

