You…Who Are You?

As I approach the second last letter of the alphabet and the Blogging A-Z April Challenge is almost over, today’s post is not about me. It’s about YOU!!!  This empty screen is a mirror seeking your reflection.

Who Are You?

www.youtube.com/watch?v=7WseRJMQf1U

I could slack off and ask each of you to introduce yourselves and your blogs but seeing this is part of a blogging challenge, I’d better make an effort.

1) What is your name/blogging profile?

2) What is the name of your blog & provide URL.

3) Which country do you live in and feel free to mention town and perhaps something about where you live if you like.

4) What are you writing about at the moment?

5) If you’ve been doing the Blogging A-Z April Challenge, did you have a theme?

6) If you could meet any living person, or animal, in the world, who would it be and why?

Add your responses as comments and I’ll compile them and do another post in a few days i.e. after the challenge. I have quite a few things on hold at the moment until “after the challenge”!!

“Always remember that you are absolutely unique. Just like everyone else.”

Margaret Mead

I look forward to hearing from you and getting to know you better…and for you to get to know each other better as well.I really work hard to keep Beyond the Flow personal and feel like we’re all sitting around in a fabulous cafe sharing coffee and chocolate cake together. To quote the hit musical Oliver, I hope you all consider yourselves “at home”.

You Are The One That I Want.

You Are The One That I Want.

Just to help you get into the mood, here are some songs with ‘”you” in the title:

Taylor Swift –You belong with me

Michael Jackson – The Way You Make Me Feel.

John Farrar : You’re The One That I Want. (performed by John Travolta & Olivia Newton-John.)

Whitney Houston: Saving All My Love for You
Queen –We Will Rock You.
Performed by Whitney Houston:
You light Up My Life. www.youtube.com/watch?v=PYONl71KINE
Elizabeth Mitchell- You Are My Sunshinehttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k8SKjL5dIb0
Adele – Someone like You.
Bruno Mars – Just the way You are.

I look forward to meeting you and turning this into a real online gathering. You’re all invite to join us!

This has been “You” for the letter Y in the Blogging A-Z April Challenge.

xx Rowena

9 thoughts on “You…Who Are You?

  1. Midwestern Plant Girl

    I’m Ilex – Midwestern Plant Girl
    Midwesternplants.org
    I’m in Illinois, USA
    I’m working on my blooming flower series. I take photos of what’s blooming that day and post. It’s a phenological record for my area. Don’t have the time to write long posts now, however photos are easy!

  2. merrildsmith

    Hi Rowena–
    I’m Merril D. Smith
    Yesterday and Today: Merril’s Historical Musings (my older daughter set up the site and named it)
    https://merrildsmith.wordpress.com/
    I live in southern New Jersey in the US, near Philadelphia
    I’ve recently completed a 2-volume encyclopedia, World of the American Revolution: A Daily Life Encyclopedia (ABC-CLIO). I’m going through the copyedited manuscript now.
    I also work as a freelance test writer.

    I’m not sure who I’d like to meet. I think I would just keep changing my mind! 🙂

  3. TanGental

    Blog handle is TanGental, already a misspelling for Tangential and nothing to do with slow cooking in the sunshine, more to do with rambling off on one
    Geofflepard.com if you want to find me on line.
    I live in the green and leafy village of Dulwich – pronounced Dullitch – in South London. For a hint on the geography we are almost exactly six miles due south from St Paul’s Cathedral. Sounds pretentious to call part of greater London a Village but, with Hampstead to the north of the Thames, we properly are.
    I’m writing as much as I can. The A to Z challenge has been ‘place’ but really it is just a hook to go off on a tangent – hence the blog title.
    I have published one novel and a second has just returned from my editor for its last major clean up before publication. I expect to go live between mid June to mid July. After that a third will I hope reach the stands in December. I currently have three works in progress for new novels, one of which I publish in weekly instalments on my blog. I enter various flash challenges and when the mood is right I dabble in poetry.

  4. Ula

    1) My name’s Urszula or Ula for short.
    2) My blog is confessions of a broccoli addict broccoliaddict.wordpress.com
    3) I currently live in Bialystok, Poland. It’s a beautiful small town in north-eastern Poland. Originally, I am from Chicago, IL.
    4) Right now I am working on a novel and a novella. The novel is called Native Landscapes about an artist who moves to Krakow and the relationships she develops there. Unfortunately, her past comes to haunt her. The novella is low fantasy inspired by some Slavic myths. It’s about a young woman who does not accept tradition. I also write poetry, short stories, and flash fiction.
    5) My theme for A to Z was poetry. It’s been fun.
    6) I’d love to swim with a dolphin. I recently learned that my spirit animal for this part of my journey is a dolphin. I’d never had contact with them.

  5. Yvonne V

    Yvonne Ventresca — my blog is “Word Pop” at http://www.yvonneventresca.com/blog.html. I live in NJ, USA. My blogging theme has been productivity, especially for creative people.

    My debut young adult novel, Pandemic, was published by Sky Pony Press last year. In Pandemic, a teenage girl struggles to survive not only a deadly influenza outbreak and its real-life consequences, but also her own personal demons.

    I’m currently working on another YA novel. I would have a hard time choosing someone to meet — most likely a writer!

    6) If you could meet any living person, or animal, in the world, who would it be and why?

  6. Mandy

    This is a fun ‘Y’ post!

    My name is Mandy (aandj8804) and I blog over at With Love. I live with my husband on the outskirts of Atlanta, Georgia in the suburbs but I’m hoping someday to return to the city. At the moment, my blog focus is lifestyle. I talk about money, fashion, food, travel, and books. I love to review products and provide giveaways. 🙂 I did not have a theme for April A-Z other than to stick to my normal post schedule but somehow intermingle the letter of the day within it. Sometimes it worked and sometimes it didn’t. :-/ I tried and that’s what counts, right? 🙂 I can’t think of anyone in particular I’d meet; it changes all of the time! I’d probably want to spend a day with a photographer and get better at taking pictures. I love to take pictures, but I struggle with editing the images up to my standards. 🙂

  7. roweeee Post author

    Hi Mandy,
    Thanks so my for your response and I’ll probably post the follow up post next Friday with people’s responses pasted in. Give people time to respond.
    I also love photography. I was lucky to spend some time with a friend of mine who was a TV cameraman and we did some photo shoots together. Probably the three things he taught me:
    1) Light: try to photograph things during the magic hour. This occurs roughly up to an hour after sunrise and an hour before sun set. ONce you’re conscious of this, you’ll notice that the light seems to switch on and is just beautiful. Here is gains a rich golden hue. Camera shake is another thing to watch out for as that blurs your photos. Another big one for me is really observing what you’re photographing not only for what you want to put it in but also what you waqnt to leave out. I’d show him what I thought was a great photo and he’d say: “There’s a cigarette in the foreground” etc. This was in the days before photo shop was second nature. I learnt photography pre-digital when you had to get it right the first time or perhaps out of a series of shots but film and processing were expensive so you had to have more skill. There was little post-processing unless you developed your own.
    Hope that helps. ot that I’m professional but there are some quick tips. xx Rowena

  8. Tails Around the Ranch

    Monika (and Sam here). We’re a pet therapy team from The Mile High City, AKA Denver, CO and recount our experiences, observations and sometimes, strong opinions at Tails Around the Ranch ‘conveniently’ located on WordPress at https://tailsaroundtheranch.wordpress.com. I didn’t participate in the A-Z Challenge (really didn’t hear about it until it was well started). It sounded like fun and a great way to get really creative on the posts. As for what I’m working on, I kind of let Sam dictate that–he’s such a goofy, sweet fur ball and his antics, er I mean, activities generally provide the inspiration to our posts. Mostly I just observe him and life around us and drive back and forth to the hospital–he does all the work. I’ve been a big fan of Rowena and look forward to her posts-she keeps it real, honest and fascinating, not an easy task in this world of shallow and digital snark. As an introvert, meeting people isn’t my strong suit and I can’t imagine greeting someone notable or famous without pee running down my leg so I leave that to kismet. ❤

Leave a Reply

