W is for Wanderlust

I have to confess to a bit of wanderlust myself. A great post and I love the Dylan Thomas poem. It could very well be the song of my heart. I’m certainly not leaving this world without a fight xx Rowena

Byrdwords' Blog

This post is a bit more mystic, in that it covers a singular aspect of why people sail. This is not so much for power boats. I’ve heard it said (and it rings true for me) that folks who go on powerboats go with the intent of going somewhere or doing something in particular, whether it’s fishing or trawling or skiing. Sailors go with the intent of enjoying the going, not the getting somewhere. I believe that feeling is the edge of wanderlust, the simple desire to move.

a to z - wanderlust drama_adventuresinparadise_1

The first time I can remember feeling wanderlust was as a five year old child, watching the television show ‘Adventures in Paradise.’ The waving palm trees, the schooner Tiki, and the adventures of Captain Troy were all I needed to light the spark.

The term ‘wanderlust’ has its origins from the German words wander (to hike) and Lust (desire). According to Wikipedia…

View original post 896 more words

One thought on “W is for Wanderlust

  1. Tails Around the Ranch

    Right there with you on the wanderlust…always looking for the next adventure in far flung locations–it’s always so fascinating and interesting to see how other cultures put their perspective on life.

Leave a Reply

