ZZZZZ…The End of the A-Z Challenge.

Never Wake A Sleeping Dog!

Ha! I have bad news for you, Bilbo! Dogs are open for therapy 24/7. You’re on call day and night…and thank goodness for that!!

Yesterday, marked the end of the Blogging A-Z April Challenge and as the song puts it, the party’s over..at least until next year! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x8BGHt18JTI

Taking a leaf out of the dogs’ book, I was planning to fall into a very deep sleep now that the challenge is over. I was really looking forward to cruising along easy street. Indeed, I wasn’t even planning to get out of bed!!

However, myΒ  hibernation was rudely interupted before it even began, to be perfectly honest. That all transpired after reading Geoff Le Pard’s Z post: Z Is the End? http://geofflepard.com/2015/04/30/z-is-the-end/

Now, I, or I should say “we” have a lot of work to do!!

Damn! However, I had a funny feeling that this overactive brain of mine wasn’t going to switch off, anyway!

Thanks to all who have been following me throughout the challenge, commenting and even sharing my posts. I have also grown expendentially by reading some fantastic blogs during the challenge, which have incredibly enhanced my awareness of the world beyond my own front door.

Being unable to travel much at the moment, I’ve truly appreciated these vicarious journeys and I can’t wait to follow in your footsteps!

Meanwhile, I’m going to make a greater effort to explore the world around me, which, after all, people travel from the other side of the world to see.

I’ll be back with a summary of my A-Z posts and I’m also going to do a word count. See how far these clicketty clacketty fingers have travelled in the last 30 days.

How many words did you clock up? I think we’re all about to be seriously impressed! However, if only building up words could somehow fire up the pedometer and get the body fit as well as the mind, we’d all be competing at the Olympics!

Anyway, although the challenge has been well and truly challenging, I have loved every minute and will be missing it just a tad…

xx Rowena

16 thoughts on “ZZZZZ…The End of the A-Z Challenge.

  1. roweeee Post author

    Thanks so much, Merril. I’m very proud of myself. Turns out that I wrote 33,750 words. I ended up with multiple posts for a few days and the Anne Frank vigil was a lovely detour. I’m proud of being able to write so many words in a month and feel encouraged to get my book moving. I can do it!! Also shows what I already knew…that I need to cut back my word length! Thank you for reading so much of my work. I really appreciate it.
    By the way, got my son to his guitar audition and we were early and the teacher commented on our good organisation as we’d brought a music stand. Boy was he deceived!!! My son usually can’t find his shoes but a lot of work went into this. My mum is a piano teacher who has taugfht kids for years and I was very impressed with how she spoke to him. We were trying to get him to play with more expression and put in the dynamics and she talked to him about the story and what the song was saying. He played “Try” by Pink. A year ago, he thought so poorly of himself and was so worried about making a mistake that he wouldn’t even try “Try”. I remember standing there and thinking”listen to the words!!!” So, I am very proud of how he went and of his support team which included: my husband, my brother,my mother and myself. LIttle sister comes in as a neutral as she helped but also distracted the lad. Thanks for your encouragement. I’ll let you know how he goes and I’ll be posting a photo as well. I took that when he got home but he wan’t holding his guitar so I’ll try to re-take it. Try! Try! Try! xx Rowena

  2. merrildsmith

    Good luck to your son! I hope he gets good news. This audition was to get into a school or a school program? In high school and college, my daughter did lots of auditions for shows, choirs, etc. It never gets easier. It’s always nerve racking for parents, too. πŸ™‚

    But she first met the theater professor who is officiating at her wedding when she went to do an audition to get a talent scholarship for her college (already accepted into the college, but this was extra scholarship money.) She got one for music and one for theater, so that really helped out over the four years!

  3. TanGental

    Well done! Phew! How many words? Blimey, that’s not blogging that’s a bloody novella! You’re a one woman nano. You put so much into your posts it is, at times, exhausting being a reader let alone being you. As one who goes off at a tangent, someone once suggested I thin about splitting my posts so I don’t try and cover too much because the reader may not have the time to go through everything and loses out. I suspect that is not only good advice for me but you too because I fear we miss some of your thinking. Ignore me, tell me to MMOB but just a thought because I love your way of blogging and don’t want to miss out.

  4. Midwestern Plant Girl

    Congrats on getting to Zzzzz! πŸŽ‰πŸŽŠ
    And over 33,000 words. Wow!
    I wish Mr. All the luck in the world. Even at my older years, I’m learning it’s much better to try than to not try at all. Fear of failing has been my bane for years. I’m not sure what I’m afraid of. . The fame πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰ ?
    Welp. If I find a cure, I will pass it on.

  5. roweeee Post author

    That shot was taken a few years ago and before he lost his coat a few months back. He must have been seriously ill because food never stays that long on our floor…not even a crumb!

  6. Alex Hurst

    I didn’t even think about how many words I must have written in April (do I have to go back and count all the comments I left, too? πŸ˜‰ ) Pleased to meet you, Rowena, even if it’s late! Never to late to follow you, I hope. πŸ™‚

  7. Barbara In Caneyhead

    There’s no way I’m going to total up the words! That’s too much work. I’ve posted my reflections post, I plan to do more A to Z visiting throughout May, but at my blog, life is going back to normal.
    ~ We made it!!! ~
    Visit me at: Life & Faith in Caneyhead
    I am Ensign B of Tremps’ Troops
    Don’t forget to snag the Survivor Badge for your sidebar and to add your A to Z Reflections post link at A to Z Challenge! They’ll have the Linky List up on Monday.

  8. roweeee Post author

    I took that some time ago now. By the way, I wanted to let you know that I’ve started on the Tom Gates book and he loved it. Just have to get more organised and stick with it. He had his guitar audition for the performing arts class at the high school last week and that was a huge effort. However, we were the first to turn up and impressed the teacher with our organisation. We had a music stand. This is boy who is lucky to find his shoes and Mum who can’t keep track of school notes or much else beyond writing. I’ll have to do a post about it and record him or something.
    Hope you’ve had a good weekend. It’s been raining here. xx Rowena

  9. Tails Around the Ranch

    Hope you get a well deserved nap like Bilbo. Great job on the challenge; your posts were terrific and I enjoyed reading them (though often times days late). Looking forward to more of your pawsome posts! ❀

  10. roweeee Post author

    Thanks very much Monika both for the encouragement and for reading the posts. I am trying to get my word counts down but am having trouble.

  11. Shirley Corder

    Hmmm. It’s tempting to count up how many words I wrote during April but I don’t think so. I don’t have the energy to work it out. Congratulations to us both (and all the rest of you who did it with us.) Thanks for all your visits. So glad you enjoyed your trip to Africa!
    Shirley posting on Out of Africa – Reflections on the Challenge

Leave a Reply

