Plight of A Modern Lap Dog!

Apparently, it’s getting tough to be a lap dog these days. In addition to the age-old competition from kids, newspapers, dinner plates and late night drinks, there’s a new much more persistent challenger, which has been added to the mix.

It’s the laptop or, in this instance, the keyboard.

Blogging away with my lapdog support-Lady!

Blogging away with my lapdog support-Lady!

However, nothing beats a dog for persistence or perseverance and both our dogs have reluctantly, no doubt, consented to be laptop supports. This is indeed different to providing technical support although with the various mutterings I’ve heard over the years about the quality of tech support, it could at least be argued that laptop supports at least helpful.

This, until you realise your late night snack has gone missing.

Humph…yet another fee for services rendered.

Hope you’ve had a great weekend. It’s been raining here and while we went out today, yesterday was spent in hibernation mode.

xx Rowena

12 thoughts on “Plight of A Modern Lap Dog!

  1. Tails Around the Ranch

    Sam will not play second fiddle as a support, he’d just as soon flick the laptop off my lap as look at me. Maybe he ‘feels’ the electro-magnetic field, or he’s just self-centered and not willing to share. Either way, I know I can appease him if I let him lay close next to me and it seems to work and keep the MAC safe, me productive and him the center of the sofa! Maybe it’s the sofa he’s more enthralled with than me, hmm, gonna have to figure that one out! 😉

  2. roweeee Post author

    Monika, my mother-in-law, who I didn’t know well but was an asute observer in many ways talked about pets having “cupboard love”. In other words, they love you for your food.
    Much to my disappointment, I have noticed a definite increase in affection and attention while eating. Our dogs aren’t allowed to sit directly on couches but can sit on laps so that could also be a bit of self-interest.
    Not sure our pets are quite as altruistic as we would like to believe! xx Rowena

  3. Davina Lyons

    I have always loved dogs! I melt whenever I see them and want to hug and smooch with them. If I had a dog that would lay on my lap like that it would be awesome! I haven’t had a pet I years because of being busy and active. I don’t think it’s fair to leave have them and they aren’t a priority in your life. Soon maybe…

  4. roweeee Post author

    One of the upside of my health issues is being able to spend more time with the kids and the dogs, although I can and do tend to ignore both at times..especially while I’m writing. Actually, the other dog just appeared…

  5. roweeee Post author

    Thanks, Laurie. I’ll have to get a shot of our Border Collie on my lap with the laptop. It will look a bit ridiculous! Hope you are enjoying Spring. We’ve had endless rain but the sun is back tomorrow. Can’t wait! xx Rowena

  6. merrildsmith

    Love the photo, and the new definition of laptop! 🙂
    Computers of any type are popular with cats, too. My daughter’s beloved now-gone cat used to IM her friends on the desktop computer we used to have. (My iPhone, too.One of my cats sometimes summons “Siri.”) One of my cats will step on my keyboard if I leave it unattended, and when I leave it closed, he’ll sometimes rest on top of it.

  7. maxwellthedog

    Excellent use of a warm fuzzy and compliant canine. Now if you can teach Lady to go in the kitchen and fix up a nice pot of tea it will be even better.

  8. roweeee Post author

    Currently working on how to get both dogs to wash themselves properly. We never had to bath Bilbo before Lady came along and now he really smells, has the toughest fleas this side of the black stump and has an allergy to them. The sun came out today and instead of being ecstatic about being able to do the washing, I’m thinking “bath time canines!” Dousing them both with Malaseb.

Leave a Reply

