Cake of the Irish

Reading through this recipe, reminds me very much about my recent post about Cadbury’s Vegemite Chocolate. The thought of chocolate and Guiness together makes my stomach shudder but I think I will give this cake a whirl. How about you? xx Rowena

Rantings of an Amateur Chef

 Here is another post from Maggie. I first met Maggie back in 1988 when I was hired as a Resident Advisor at The Ohio State University. Maggie was the Hall Director, my boss and the zoo master for a staff of misfits that really blended into a high functioning team. While Maggie is not a member of the Gourmet Club I am in (the commute to Ohio might be rough), she made this in honor of the Irish theme for the Gourmet Club’s dinner this past weekend. Take a look.

I don’t have a drop of Irish blood in me, but hey – it’s March, St. Patrick’s Day is coming, and who doesn’t like cake and beer? I saw this gorgeous cake on the Real Simple magazine website a few months ago, and had to try it. I prefer cake to be pretty moist, so I’ve tweaked their original…

View original post 436 more words

5 thoughts on “Cake of the Irish

  1. New Journey

    Sounds like a wet, thick luscious cake.yumm…I used to make a cake called Hobo cake and it had beer, applesauce, nuts, graded carrots…I need to find that reciepe…it was good, a bit heavy but good

  2. roweeee Post author

    I have a bit of German heritage where yeast cakes are a traditional thing so I’ve wondered if the Guiness would have a similar effect.

  3. merrildsmith

    All the comments I’ve read about Guinness chocolate cakes seem to focus on how moist they are. I’m not sure if the yeast in the beer does that much. You don’t proof it like a yeast cake or bread.

Leave a Reply

