Only Fools Go Fishing: Fisherman’s Wharf, Woy Woy, Australia.

I stumbled across this photo as my reorganisation of my digital photos continues. It was taken at Fisherman’s Wharf in Woy Woy about an hour’s North of Sydney’s CBD. Just in  case  you’re thinking “you had to be there”, I managed to snap this pelican strutting straight inside the fish & chips shop looking for a feed. From my perspective, it’s a rather cocky-looking character who acts like he owns the place.

Unruly pelicans and sea gulls squabbling during feeding time.

Unruly pelicans and sea gulls squabbling during feeding time.

The pelicans there are very bold and audacious. Indeed, gangs of pelican thieves have been known to snatch and swallow plastic bags filled with fish from unsuspecting diners.

Mister with my aunt at Fisherman's Wharf back in 2004 when he was only a few months old and bald was beautiful!

Mister with my aunt at Fisherman’s Wharf back in 2004 when he was only a few months old and bald was beautiful!

Of course, the pelicans are gorgeous but they do extract their pound of fish.There’s nothing like a free lunch!

xx Rowena

11 thoughts on “Only Fools Go Fishing: Fisherman’s Wharf, Woy Woy, Australia.

  1. roweeee Post author

    Both of my kids were follically challenged and I found Mister a bib with “Bald is Beautiful” written on it. I really treasure it and I think it’s in my sock drawer.
    I never get tired of watching the pelicans. As a child, there was a very moving and tragic novel by Colin Thiele “Storm Boy”, which was made into a film. The pelican in that was called “Mr Percival” and even now I still see pelicans as “Mr Percivals”.

  2. roweeee Post author

    I’m really pleased that the blog gave me an opportunity to showcase that moment. It’s been lost among the multitudes on my hardrive for 11 years. I’ve been having a lot of fun on these trips down memory lane. Parenting young kids through the rear-vision mirror is so much easier…not sleep deprivation and all the mess has already been cleaned up. I just get to smile and enjoy the moment.

  3. roweeee Post author

    Thanks, Kath. A great example of carpe diem and photography. So often, it’s a case of the shot which got away!

  4. Rowena Post author

    You’re so right. I suspect that even applies to Lady, who definitely seems to have a good dose of rat cunning behind those dumb looks she does so well. It’s all a calculated act, I’m sure!

Leave a Reply

