The Nikon Bride. Day 2: Five Photos, Five Stories Challenge

There is a fine line between being passionate, enthusiastic and obsessed or even (dare I mention the dreaded word) addicted.

Some would say that taking photos at your own wedding definitely crosses that line and would suggest putting the camera down and focusing on my new husband instead of staring down the lens at whoever it was.

Perhaps, they’re right.

“I’ve been called many names like perfectionist, difficult and obsessive. I think it takes obsession, takes searching for the details for any artist to be good.”

Barbra Streisand

Indeed, close friends did jest that they half-expected me to have a camera concealed in my bouquet. These days that could well be de rigeur but rewinding back to 2001, such  digital technology was very rudimentary . All our photography was done on film.

As crazy as it might appear, you are who you are. Once you become a photographer, professional or otherwise, your camera lens becomes a second set of eyes. A way of viewing the world. So, to go through our special day without viewing it through my lens, would have somehow not been me. I wouldn’t have experienced our wedding in quite the same way.

“What moves those of genius, what inspires their work is not new ideas, but their obsession with the idea that what has already been said is still not enough.”

Eugene Delacroix

By the way, I should also add that I made Geoff stop of at the Palm Beach wharf for more photos well after midnight and the next day, we dressed up in our wedding gear again and took photos at Palm Beach late afternoon. I think we must have flagged down a passer-by to take a joint shot. I’ve never considered how that must have come across. I mean…I’ve never been asked to take a photo by a stray bride and groom like that myself in all my years of lurking around photogenic locations with my camera.

Call me passionate, enthusiastic, obsessed, addicted or all of the above. Yet, even if I’m crazy or even a little dangerous at least, I am unashamedly me.

I was nominated by Geoff Le Pard fromTanGental for the Five Photos Five Stories blog Share: http://geofflepard.com/2015/06/10/five-photos-five-stories-day-two/

I would like to nominate Paula from14 Weeks Worth of Socks  at http://14weeksworthofsocks.com/ . Paula lives in New Zealand and writes a great travel blog with stunning photographs.

The rules of the Five Photos, Five Stories Challenge are:

1) Post a photo each day for five consecutive days.
2) Attach a story to the photo. It can be fiction, non-fiction, poetry, or a short paragraph. It’s entirely up to the individual.
3) Nominate another blogger to carry on the challenge. Your nominee is free to accept or decline the invitation. This is fun, not a command performance!

I am enjoying thisw challenge and so far it’s taken me on a journey revisiting how my love of photography has unfolded over time, rather than featuring my best or even favourite shots, although the two photos I’ve posted so far are sentimental favourites.

Do you have a passion for photography and how did you get started?

xx Rowena.

14 thoughts on “The Nikon Bride. Day 2: Five Photos, Five Stories Challenge

  1. vanbytheriver

    That’s great, and truly obsessive. I was so nervous on my wedding day, the pictures would have been blurred ! Mine were done by a friend of my father’s. Small studio operated out of his home. He was very creative. But, you’re right…I was tempted. ☺

  2. roweeee Post author

    I should have put that we did have an official photographer. I think I went through a roll of film at the reception and then we did those shots afterwards.

  3. New Journey

    Remember I am sure that is one of the many reasons your husband not only loves you but married you, because you are who you are, love your picture of you, the bride with a camera…can’t stop who you are and addictions are just that, some you want to control and others are just meant to run free…..

  4. merrildsmith

    I wish we had more and better photos from our wedding. We did not have a very good photographer, and it was waaaaayyy before iphone cameras and such. I don’t think most brides would want to stop and take photos themselves, but that’s who you are, and I’m sure you got some memorable shots. 🙂

  5. roweeee Post author

    I can’t even remember what I photographed although I suspect this shot may have been posed. That said, I know I took a roll. Couldn’t resist.
    Hasn’t photography improved and passed beyond the professionals into the grasp of the every day person. Even though there is still that skill in taking it to the professional level as well as the experience, digital photography and being able to take photos with your phone has really enable anyone to seize the moment forever.

  6. roweeee Post author

    Thanks very much. I’ve found quite a lot of nice bonkers through blogging and am indeed starting to feel more mainstream! I was talking to the manager of the op shop this morning about youth and my son etc and she’d been to a conference where singer Ed Sherrin spoke and he’d grown up with a stutter. He said something like embrace your quirks and you will attract people around you who accept you for who you are and embrace you. I liked the sound of that and am going to see what I can dig up on Google.
    By the way, the dreery damp weather has set in here. Great day for hibernation! xx Rowena

  7. roweeee Post author

    It seems I have no choice. I know I have poor spatial skills and get lost easily, especially in the dark so last night, I arrnaged for friends to drop Miss of as her cub scout camp and all I had to do was get her to their place. However, I had to find their place in the dark, trying to read non-existent numbers etc. I ended up calling for assistance and when I started up the csr again, forgot to turn on my head lights. I stopped for a cup of tea and then had to pick Mister up from his friend;’s house and again I was in the dark aand coming the opposite direction to usual and after my previous effort became bamboozld and decided to drive home and hope Geoff would be home. Mister was on the phone wondering where I was and all was soon resolved. We have an Australian kids book called “The Muddle Headed Wombat” and I reckon that described me to a T last night.

  8. roweeee Post author

    Definitely. I’ve been thinking that if I wrote a book about me becoming a scout leader it would be a best seller. Perhaps, I should just write it as a novel although I’d like to give it a whirl. I just think someone could murder me along the way and perhaps not appreciate the comedy!

  9. roweeee Post author

    As you would apreciate as a scout leader yourself, they do like certain things to be taken seriously and I’m sure you’ve heard of Gomer Pile but I’m sure if my dsense of direction is anything to go on, I’d be going the wrong way on parade and holding the map around “the right way” probably wouold go down well but they do appreciate my photographic skills and being able to journal is another plus. Actually, I forgot how much the scouts love my choc-chip cookies.

Leave a Reply

