That Photographic Eye: Day 3 Five Photos, Five Stories Challenge

While some kids follow in their parents’ footsteps, it looks like Miss is going to be a shutterbug like her Mum. This photo was taken in September 2008, when she was only 2.5 years old and given the weight of my Nikon SLR, she was doing very well just keeping the camera straight. Her other achievement was finally managing to get her hair up into pigtails. Both of my kids were follically challenged and for a long time there, we were watching: “The Bald & the Beautiful”. Miss is still interested in photography and also likes taking videos with her ipad. Continuing my education, she told me that “vlog” wasn’t a spelling mistake but a video blog. I live and learn!

I was nominated by Geoff Le Pard fromTanGental for the Five Photos Five Stories blog Share: http://geofflepard.com/2015/06/10/five-photos-five-stories-day-two/

I would like to nominate Tree Rabold from Conversations Around the Tree at https://treerabold.wordpress.com/ Tree is already doing a 365 dfay photo challenge and has some beautiful and also quite intriguing photos on her blog.

The rules of the Five Photos, Five Stories Challenge are:

1) Post a photo each day for five consecutive days.
2) Attach a story to the photo. It can be fiction, non-fiction, poetry, or a short paragraph. It’s entirely up to the individual.
3) Nominate another blogger to carry on the challenge. Your nominee is free to accept or decline the invitation. This is fun, not a command performance!

xx Rowena

15 thoughts on “That Photographic Eye: Day 3 Five Photos, Five Stories Challenge

  1. roweeee Post author

    A disposable camera is a great idea. My parents gave her a Nikon digital camera. I think it’s a semi-SLR. She’s 9 now and she took it with her when we recently toured the navy ship and had quite a few comments. I guess looking younger than her years with this camera hanging round her neck was quite striking.

  2. merrildsmith

    Nice that your daughter is following in your footsteps!
    My older daughter was also a baldy for her first couple of year, but by age 3 she had a head of curls. 🙂

  3. roweeee Post author

    Not only do we share the photography but I do the photography and publicity for the kids’ school so the kids are also in front of the lens quite a bit too althouh my daughter is quite shy and mgoes through phases where she’s had enough. She’ll also give me a terrible face and my husband will say something like you know your moither will just keep taking photos until you’re sensible.

  4. vanbytheriver

    It’s not fun to get those frowny faces when the camera comes out, but someday, being the family photographer really pays off…they will cherish those pics. ☺

  5. roweeee Post author

    LIke the sound of a head of curls. My son had curls before that dreaded first haircut. Blond curls too and seeing how dark my hair is, you could imagine my surprise. My mother was fair as a child too.

  6. roweeee Post author

    I’ve found some very funny ones during my sorting out lately. I can also appreciate some of those moments more now that things have calmed down a bit. It’s hard to stop for breath when you have a toddler and a baby. Now, I can put my feet up and have a cup of tea while revisiting the pics.

  7. merrildsmith

    It’s funny how hair changes. Our younger daughter had straight blond hair for many year. It darkened as she got older, and then as she entered puberty it suddenly got all curly. For many years, she’s been a redhead by choice–sometimes straight and sometimes curly. 🙂

  8. roweeee Post author

    It’s funny because my grandmother wass a child prodegy pianist and there is a photo of her at a similar age, which appeared in the paper heralding her “arrival”.
    I am curious to see where they both end up. She’s away at a cub scout camp for the weekend and I couldn’t help but feel a bit remiss having her outside overnight…even if it was in a tent under supervision. I know I believe very strongly in taking the rough road and developing resilience but it’s quite another thing to implement that with you kids instead of yourself.

  9. roweeee Post author

    She was adorable. She came home from daycare one day and had these little pigtail with red bows. It was so cute and now that she’s older and chatty, she tells how big a deal it’s been to grow her hair and have long hair.

Leave a Reply

