Self-Portraint in Rainbow Paint. Day 5: Five Photos Five Stories.

It looks like Mister reinterpreted what it means to paint yourself and painted on himself instead.

Actually, this shot was taken in the lead up to Christmas 2005 when we were1 making Christmas cards to send to the family. For his first Christmas, we’d pretty much stuck with footprints but it looks like we became a lot more ambitious for his second Christmas. You can see paint all over the paper as well as the boy. Howeever, even though it was so incredibly messy and it felt like I hasd to scrub out the entire house by the time we’d made it through the bath, we had a fabulous time taking creative self-expression to new heights.It also reminds me of the value of letting creativity run its course and actually flow rather than being caugyht up in being neat or having the perfect child. A child who sits perfectly still and colours in instead of painting themselves, the table the floor and even the bathtub as “Operation Scrub” goes into full swing.

Too often, we put on the brakes. Lock our child up in a cage. Force them into a mold.

Love that paint job!

Love that paint job!

Believe me! It is very tempting. It is so much easier thasn allowing them to be themselves! I’m not just talking about cleaning up the mess here or all those trips to Emergency patching up the scapes. I’m also talking about managing a non-conformist and all that means when it comes to interacting with other kids, parents, teachers and just about anyone. It would be so much easier for them all if we could just run kids through a factory to a set of “standards” but easy doesn’t stretch our horizons or challenge our thinking. It doesn’t give us texture, colour. Indeed, there wouldn’t be any rainbows anymore because we’d love all those beautiful colours without that mix of sun and rain.

I’m guity of this myself. I remember the first timew Mister mixed the different playdoh colours together that I almost had a heart attack. There his was squeezing those beautiful rainbow colours through his little fingers when I heard this chastising voice from somewhere in my deeply repressed past: “Do not mix the colours”. Playdoh was considered expensive when I was a kid and something of a luxury and we all knows what ultimately happens when all those rainbow colourss mix together for too long. They turn “poo brown”.

Seeing this photo also reminds me how long it’s been since we’ve done paintiing at home. I even enjoy doing a bit of painting myself but got a bit turned off by all the cleaning up afterwards and what with trying to keep up with writing, photography and playing my violin, it’s been awhile.

That’s about to change. I think we’re well and truly overdue for a paint date.

I was nominated by Geoff Le Pard fromTanGental for the Five Photos Five Stories blog Share: http://geofflepard.com/2015/06/10/five-photos-five-stories-day-two/

I would like to nominate Eli from Coach Daddy at https://coachdaddyblog.wordpress.com/ We met through the April Blogging A-Z Challenge and I thought he might enjoy another one.

The rules of the Five Photos, Five Stories Challenge are:

1) Post a photo each day for five consecutive days.
2) Attach a story to the photo. It can be fiction, non-fiction, poetry, or a short paragraph. It’s entirely up to the individual.
3) Nominate another blogger to carry on the challenge. Your nominee is free to accept or decline the invitation. This is fun, not a command performance!

xx Rowena

13 thoughts on “Self-Portraint in Rainbow Paint. Day 5: Five Photos Five Stories.

  1. roweeee Post author

    Thanks so much, Laurie. I am going to stop wishing we painted more often and just get those paints out and let the kids go for it. That said, we just replaced our kitchen floor over the weekend, so we’ll be outside!

  2. New Journey

    Give them a wall in their bedroom to paint…..let them create picture for themselves, its what I did and I was amazed at the lovey flowers, sun and moon that came of it….they also added stick people of them self at the base of the flowers…I can’t find my picture of it but really made there room cheerful…..after all its only paint…..love the photos…

  3. maxwellthedog

    Ah yes, the joys of self expression. At least the product employed did not originate in a diaper (nappie?) or the cat box, both of which I had experience with.

  4. Eli Pacheco

    Challenge accepted! The idea will go into my idea bucket – I’m not sure when I’ll do it, but I most certainly will, and definitely you’ll be the first to know. Thanks for thinking of me!

    (You carried out the challenge marvelously, by the way).

  5. roweeee Post author

    Thanks, Eli. I thought you might enjoy it. I re-discovered a number oif the photos I posted while cataloguing my online photos and trying to streamline things. It’s amazing how those busy moments from real life look so much easier in the photos. If you look at my latest post re our renovations, you’ll see the dog lying on the end product, conveying none of the hard work that went into it. Also, it doesn’t show the view of the adjoining dining room, which still has a cupboard and much paperwork etc and looks nowhere near at neat and empty as the kitchen.

  6. roweeee Post author

    Thanks, Monika. I’m really thinking that I need to get those paints out again. He looks so at home there!! xx Ro

Leave a Reply

