Walking Along the Storm Ravaged Beach.

A few months ago, I wrote about some terrible storms which ravaged Sydney and our normally placid, local beach. While you usually hear about the calm after the storm, there is also the carnage. Naturally, the  electricity is well and truly back on and the streets have been cleared and the fallen trees pulverized into mulch.However, the beach is another story. There is still ongoing  sand erosion and trees have been uprooted and devoured by the angry surf. Still on the rampage, the surf has set its sights on the road, as it carves through the dunes with determined persistence.

Trees have been uprooted and strewn along the beach and buried in a sandy grave.

Trees have been uprooted and strewn along the beach and buried in a sandy grave.

While the environmental impact of the storms has been quite severe, from a photographic perspective, it’s quite another story. The interplay between surf, sand and the trees is rather captivating.

Moreover, it’s also a magic wonderland for little hands, feet and eyes to explore.

Miss climbing up the decimated tree scape.

Miss climbing up a tree skeleton, which was buried in the sand.

Most days, I walk the dogs along this stretch of beach solo but given the glorious Winter sunshine, I encouraged the kids to join me. Despite her action-packed, sleep-deprived weekend at camp, Miss came along. I pulled out the camera and followed her, the dogs and an incredible bank of billowing, white cloud.

Aren't those incredible clouds so mesmerising!

Aren’t those incredible clouds so mesmerising! That’s the Palm Beach headland in the foreground and Whale Beach in the background.

After being outside while the vanished dried on the kitchen floorboards, the dogs almost flew into the car…not that I ever need to tell them twice!!  Actually, all I need to do is get my handbag and head towards my keys and they’re both standing at the front door tails wagging and then there’s almost a draft as they zoom out. There’s no stopping them!

A Dog's Life...isn'tt it tough?!!

A Dog’s Life…isn’tt it tough?!!

We’re in the middle of Winter here and although we’ve had some wet, damp and gloomy stretches, we’ve also had more than our fair share of glorious, sunny weather. When that magical Winter sun is shining , your soul starts to warm up and dance on the inside as you stick your head out the door.

 Even in the middle of Winter, you can muster a smiley face.

Even in the middle of Winter, you can muster a smiley face.

I don’t always take the camera to the beach and I’ve been a bit reticient since we recently updated the lens and it’s still “precious”. After all, getting sand all through your swimmers and your shoes is one thing but it really does nasty things to a SLR camera lens.

Miss in the dunes.

Miss in the dunes looking like an advertisement for some form of  miraculous stain remover.

However, that combination of girl, dogs,beach and sun was too hard to resist and I was thrilled to spot a bank of huge, billowing clouds on the horizon and the light was absolutely perfect as well…the magic hour!

I was in heaven.

Now, I hope you enjoy sharing a touch of our heaven too!

I could almost inhale the incredible beauty!

I could almost inhale the incredible beauty!

Never forget that even in darkest depths of a freezing Winter, the sun is always just behind the clouds waiting to come back out.

xx Rowena

27 thoughts on “Walking Along the Storm Ravaged Beach.

  1. Laurie Buchanan

    I especially enjoyed the “stain remover ad” photo — it reminds me of how I looked on a continual basis throughout my childhood. And I loved every minute of it — the dirtier, the better!

  2. merrildsmith

    Stunning and glorious photos. It looks like a wonderful adventure for girl, dog, and photographer/mom!
    It’s been hot and humid here, and now this morning, it’s cooler and raining.

  3. roweeee Post author

    I know the plants need the rain and that if there wasn’t any rain, there wouldn’t be any rainbows and there is a kind of beauty in the rain and the musicality of the raindrops BUT don’t you just hang out for the sun?!! Hot and humid seems like a distant memory at the moment.
    By the way, I should also point out that most Australian homes don’t have central heating and are built to cool down during a hot Australian summer, so don’t provide much defense against the winter and we rug up indoors and envy the dogs’ fur coat and offer them a nice warm lap for the night!

  4. roweeee Post author

    Thanks very much. I was pretty stoked with what we found the other day. Te light and the clouds were just perfect..a gift! My daughter ad the dogs also made the walk and photos much more entertaining too.

  5. roweeee Post author

    Those were also the jeans she’d worn on her cub scout camp. We used to have this laundry powder ad where this older woman said her husband was the dirtiest man in Parramatta (in Sydney) but, of course, even his clothes came out glowing white. I often think of that ad when the kids return from their scouting camps!

  6. merrildsmith

    Ahh–I did not know that about Australian homes. Good to know for test writing items set in Australia. 🙂 I like the phrase “rug up.” I guess it doesn’t get that cold there then? The US has a whole range of climates. Here in the Philadelphia area, we tend to get hot, humid summers (but sometimes some glorious sunny days, too), but it can get cold and snowy in the winter–although not as much as in Boston, where my older daughter lives. We also have spring and fall, which some areas do not get, so that’s nice to have a bit of everything.

  7. TanGental

    The blue in that last photo is incredible. Here we once had an advert where the child was called the Champion Dirt Collector: I’d say Miss is challenging for the title.

  8. roweeee Post author

    Ooh yes. I love that phrase. It’s excellent.
    The dgs do a pretty good job at that too although they also seem to collect chaff, which they just love to deposit in the house!

  9. roweeee Post author

    Thank you very much, Monika. We just replaced the lens on the Nikon and as much as I hate it when people tell me that I have a good camera, it has helped. The zoom lens had died completely and the standard lens had inbuilt camera shake.

  10. roweeee Post author

    We “rug up” here too but that’s at 15 degrees C. We do feel the cold terribly and react quite badly to rain. When my Mum was a child, she stayed home from school when it rained.
    Mountain areas like the Blue Mountains and the Snowies do get quite cold as does Canberra. You’d have the open fire place there and the Autumn leaves are more of a feature. My husband comes from Tasmania and it’s quite cold down there. He tells me things like you learn how to sleep without losing your blankets and keeping doors shut to keep in the heat.
    One of the things I really like about blogging is you pick up on some of those details about living in a different country. It’s so easy just to sub-consciously stick our experiences onto somewhere or someone else. I was in Germany for6 months and we had central heating and the family wore fairly light clothing. That was very different for me.

  11. merrildsmith

    I think “rug up” might be an Australian phrase. I’ve never heard it before. 🙂 Our house tends to be rather cool in the winter because I turn the heat down. I’m usually wearing sweaters, and at night have a couple of blankets–and cats!

  12. roweeee Post author

    I didn’t realise that.
    I’ve been having the kids or dogs on my lap. Bilbo hasbeen lucky to keep his fur coat lately. I have considered borrowing it.

  13. TanGental

    Well given he left making us to last when he had to be dog tired after the ultimate week on a construction site then he’d have to laugh or he would have cried.

  14. roweeee Post author

    Yes, maybe God should have rested on day 6 instead and made us on Day 7 after he’d caught up on his sleep.
    Geoff added that perhaps everyone on earth should have one day off a week instead of working 7 days a week 23 hours a day. He’d sure appreciate it!

  15. Pingback: Beach Bandaid. | beyondtheflow

  16. Robin

    Oh gosh, it looks like such a beautiful place! I know what you mean about taking a good camera to the beach. I generally avoid it, but sometimes things come together that make it hard to resist. 🙂

  17. roweeee Post author

    I murder my cameras slowly but surely the sand gets in there and you hear grinding noises turning the lens. I am much more careful these days but sometimes when you’re looking through that lens you throw caution to the wind and you just want that shot!

Leave a Reply

