What’s in a name?

One of the things I really love about blogging, is the opportunity to experience places and moments all around the world and we that fly on the wall as I’m taken on a magnificent journey. This story really does belong in a magazine as Geoff Le Pard writes about two very different bike rides through London: one before the marriage of Charles & Diana back in 1981 and then the route of Diana’s funeral. xx Rowena

TanGental

Charlotte Elizabeth Diana. The bookies had a field day with Charlotte. A lot of money went on Elizabeth. But Diana? That was so much a certainty it was almost unbettable. A name with a huge emotional component here in the UK. One to trigger the memory of a very personal journey.

When I qualified as a solicitor in 1981 my then flat mate told me to ‘get a better job’. I had struggled to secure my articles – now called a training contract, these are two years work experience covering various areas of the law that you need in order to be admitted to the Roll, the list of people permitted by law to practice as solicitors. Having done so in a small firm of solicitors in the West End of London, just north of Oxford Street I was content to stay there for a while.

The Suit Borrower was…

View original post 1,148 more words

3 thoughts on “What’s in a name?

  1. roweeee Post author

    Kat, Geoff and I are almost in daily contact and I must order his book. Thank you so much for the reminder. He has also written an excellent series on Street Art xx Rowena

Leave a Reply

