The Rainbow That Got Away!

Photography is like fishing.

There is always that perfect shot that “got away”. That idyllic moment you, for whatever reason, missed.

A few days ago, as I was driving home after the dropping the kids at school, I noticed the most intensely coloured rainbow arching over the beach. I absolutely adore rainbows and experiencing a sort of visual lust peculiar to mad photographers, I felt that tell-tale pitter-patter in my heart which was rapidly crescendoing into a frenzied explosion.

The colours were so intense but although I was completely intoxicated and absorbed by this stunning rainbow, my camera was at home and we all know about the fleetingness of rainbows and how quickly they slip through your fingers. After all, they don’t want to get caught…not even in 6×4.

Not to be deterred, I raced home and picked up the camera and the dogs.

Of course, by the time I returned, the rainbow was gone.

Indeed, it looked like it had never even been there at all. It had vanished without a trace.

Yet, there was still so much to photograph. The sky was a foreboding dark grey with a trail of pure white clouds scudding across and incredibly moody. Storm water had carved an impressive estuary through the sand and the beach had a raw, powerful energy and felt a little wild.

Bilbo fogging up the windscreen with angst while I photograph the rainbow.

Bilbo fogging up the windscreen with angst while I photograph the rainbow.

While I ran around taking shots, the dogs were still in the car as they’re not allowed on this section of the beach.

They weren’t happy!

While I was disappointed at missing the rainbow shots, I was philosophical about it all. Sometimes, you are just meant to feast on such things with your eyes instead of trying to recreate perfection and somehow lose the magic in the translation.

Jonathon Livingstone Seagull Opted to Walk in the Rain.

Jonathon Livingstone Seagull Opted to Walk in the Rain.

I called it a day and started driving home when I noticed the sun starting to force it’s way through the rain clouds with a determined, golden haze. My hopes raised a little. Sun and rain equals rainbows and as I turned into my street and threw a passing glance back at the beach, the rainbow was back.

Yes!!

The elusive rainbow finally captured over Lion Island.

The elusive rainbow finally captured over Lion Island.

One very quick U-turn later and the dogs and I were moving like greased lightening, albeit under the speed limit…of course!!

The rainbow was arched right over the top of Lion Island, which was shrouded in a foggy haze. Serenely beautiful, it was a veritable fairyland with an ethereal beauty!

Wow!

After I’d taken my shots, the sea gulls, which had parked themselves along the beach captured my attention. Perhaps, they were also admiring the rainbow. I don’t know. A few of them suddenly started taking off, so very much like planes on a runway and the seemingly ordinary took on a new serenity at that moment. They reminded me of Noah’s dove…except the rain hadn’t stopped!

Jonathon Livingston Seagull Finds His Wings!

Jonathon Livingston Seagull Finds His Wings!

Indeed, it’s still going and while it hasn’t snowed here, it’s snowed heavily in places which are usually lucky to receive a dusting.

So, you could say we’re needing a rainbow at the moment and I would love to escape to rainbow island if only there wasn’t the perpetuate battle between sun and rain.

Of course, in my idea of the perfect paradise, there is only sun!

xx Rowena

24 thoughts on “The Rainbow That Got Away!

  1. New Journey

    We are loving your pictures….I am using the rainbow as my computer back drop….thanks…the dark sky is ominous, but beautiful…my favorite time of year….

  2. roweeee Post author

    Thank you very much. I was quite surprised at how the sea gull took on this almost hero perspective when it’s such a common garden variety bird. I guess that’s what made me think of Jonathon Livingstone Seagull. Have you read the book? I highly recommend it! xx Rowena

  3. roweeee Post author

    Thanks, Monika. It’s dogged, I mean, determined persistence!
    I’ve had your latest post open all weekend and hope to get to it tomorrow. Spent today at my daughter’s informal mid year dance concert. Hope you had a great weekend xx Rowena

  4. roweeee Post author

    Thanks, Chris. I was absolutely stoked with it and am going to get it enlarged and most likely on canvas this week xx Rowena

  5. The Story Reading Ape

    GREAT – Don’t forget to watermark all your photos though Rowena or they could end up being credited to someone else…
    There are a lot of bandits on the internet as well as great folks…

  6. Sableyes

    I’m afraid I haven’t been an avid book consumer for years. Worse still I got a kobo mini some years back and have bought almost every humble book bundle and story bundle since. I have thousands of books in my back log, Seagull is not among them (yet) 🙂

  7. New Journey

    My son in law is a photographer in his spare time, he has had some of his photos printed on canvas like a picture….its pretty amazing…not sure of the price but that rainbow picture is beautiful especially with the story behind it….defiently a wall hanger…LOL

  8. merrildsmith

    Fantabulous photos! Seeing a rainbow is always sort of magical, isn’t it? I’m glad you got your shots. Those are incredible rainbows, and the photo with the seagull and the rainbow is spectacular!

  9. roweeee Post author

    Thanks, Merril. I am so thrilled with the seagull shot. Seagulls are so common around here and they’re nothing special and yet at instant, that common seagull appears quite majestic. Reminds me of Jonathon Livingston Seagull. Have you read it? I love it! Hope you had a great weekend. I spent yesterday at my daughter’s mid-year dance concert. It is a much more low-key affair than the end of year one and I just loved watching her and all the other kids. We’ve been going for 5 years now so we’ve watched kids grow up and we’re one big happy dancing happy! Stay tuned for the post xx Ro

  10. merrildsmith

    We have seagulls here, too, since we’re close to the Delaware River, and of course, we see tons of them when we go to the beach. I read Jonathan Livingston Seagull way back when–in the 70s. It sounds fun that you’ve watch the dance kids grow up, and got to enjoy your daughter’s recital. Our weekend was low-key–just catching up on stuff. 🙂

Leave a Reply

