Awkward Birthday Negotiations.

My daughter went to so much trouble for my birthday this morning making cards, hanging up streamers. The kitchen looked beautiful and she had gone to so much trouble!

Miss did a fantastic job decorating the kitchen.

Miss did a fantastic job decorating the kitchen.

There was only one problem.

She became quite overwhelmed by this sense that I was going to be lonely spending the day without the family. Feeling almost consumed by this sense of my abject loneliness, she wanted to stay home from school and spend my birthday with me.

These were beautiful sentiments but there was just one problem.

A crown of prawns...yum!

A crown of prawns…yum!

I’d arranged to go out to lunch with my friends. We’ve struggled to get together this year and I think this might be the first time the four of us have managed to get together so it was pretty special and we’d booked into a cafe set among towering gum trees, a contemplative fish pond with intriguing carp and scrumptious food.

I can't exactly remember what it was...banana pudding with caramel and toffee ice cream. I was feeling very indulent and even though I've had a big tummy ache for the rest of the day, there are no regrets!

I can’t exactly remember what it was…banana pudding with caramel and toffee ice cream. I was feeling very indulent and even though I’ve had a big tummy ache for the rest of the day, there are no regrets!

Mummy had plans and …awkward moment…they didn’t involved my daughter tagging along.

Sorry!

Birthday morning at the beach.

Birthday morning at the beach.

After much debate, tempers and tears we compromised and I took the kids and the dogs for a walk along the beach. I often talk to them about the various dogs and humans I meet down at the beach and so it was great to be able to share this world with them and I knew they’d have fun. While detouring to the beach on the way to school might seem a bit naughty, my daughter’s emotions have been quite fraught lately and I felt she needed that together time.

Welcome to Dog Beach!

Welcome to Dog Beach!

Moreover, despite being the middle of Winter with bitterly cold nights, the sun was out and it’s an almost balmy 16 degrees Celsius. It’s absolutely beautiful.

So, off we went kids and dogs in tow.

Bilbo appropriating another dog's ball.

Bilbo appropriating another dog’s ball.

Bilbo was in his usual fine form ingratiating himself to other dog owners throwing balls and he has trained the humans to throw the ball for him as well.

Bilbo training another dog's Dad to throw the ball.

Bilbo training another dog’s Dad to throw the ball.

When it comes to tennis balls, Bilbo is totally obsessed and the epitomy of a working dog. Every ounce of his concentration is fixated on that ball. One paw raise, ears cocked, he has absolute tunnel vision and sees nothing else. His entire world is a green sphere and even though we were leaving to go home today, he was still staring at that ball. Fortunately, once I mentioned “car” miraculously the spell was broken and he finally came.

The kids found this huge “stick” and Spitz was lucky not to catch it!

Meanwhile, the kids enjoyed climbing over fallen branches and throwing our mate Spitz a tree trunk of a stick. Spitz was very obliging and did give it a bit of a chew and inspection but that hefty lump of wood wasn’t going anywhere.

I sometimes forget that my dog walking world at the beach has become my own private bubble inhabited by characters which the rest of the family have never met. I am there most weekdays just after school drop off and I meet virtually the same humans and dogs down there everyday and have become a part of that community…that world.

Having down the tough love, terrible mother thing and dropped the kids at school, I am about to head out to lunch. I am even going to wear lipstick so this is what I consider formal.

Meanwhile, I bought myself two bunches of fresh daffodils. My grandfather and I almost share a birthday and he once bought me a daffodil in a pot for my birthday. From my response, you’d think he did it every year but daffodils always remind me of him.

Mister gave me a fabulous cookbook by Masterchef, Matt Preston. I am wondering whether I now need to buy some loud outfits to reproduce the recipes!

Mister gave me a fabulous cookbook by Masterchef, Matt Preston. I am wondering whether I now need to buy some loud outfits to reproduce the recipes!

So my birthday continues. My husband wished sleeping beauty Happy Birthday as he left this morning. My present is on the kitchen table but I’ll wait til he gets home tonight. It’s nice to know he remembered. I almost forgot myself things have been that chaotic and over the last few years, my birthdays have lost the pomp and ceremony they used to have. I feel like a broken down jalopy who just seems to make it to the finish line each year and don’t quite have the zest and enthusiasm leftover for any rah rah!

Just making sure they still love me when I'm 64.

Just making sure they still love me when I’m 64.

Happy Birthday to me!!

My husband gave me this gorgeous platter designed by David Hart, son of artist Pro Hart. Such a thoughtful gift and I just love those bright yellow flowers! So very Rowie!

My husband gave me this gorgeous platter designed by David Hart, son of artist Pro Hart. Such a thoughtful gift and I just love those bright yellow flowers! So very Rowie!

xx Rowena

16 thoughts on “Awkward Birthday Negotiations.

  1. Laurie Buchanan

    FANTASTIC photos of a great day to remember. Clearly, your birthday negotiations turned out beautifully. A little compromise here, a little there, and voila — the perfect day! Happy birthday to YOU!

  2. New Journey

    What a lovely day you had….love the platter and cook book…why not ! a loud shirt can only add to the fun of cooking, especially since you have a lovely platter to serve it on…LOL Many happy wishes being sent your way Ro….and many more….kathy

  3. roweeee Post author

    Thanks very much, Kathy. I bought the red coat the day before at the op shop for $15.00. You can’t see the cuffs in the photo but they’re faux fur. Really gave me a sense of movie star glamour…as well as being spoilt by family and friends.
    Have had a quiet day today with saos and Vegemite for lunch…a food detox of sorts. xx Rowena

  4. roweeee Post author

    I’ve always loved the Beatle song: “When I’m 64” and so when my daughter teased me by switching the numbers around, I went with it and had some fun. Most people say I look good for my age so not bad for 64! xx Rowena

  5. therabbitholez

    Glad you had a smashing day, your daughter was so sweet to want to spend the day with you, you compensated wonderfully by taking them both on your daily walk(it’s good to have something that’s just yours isn’t it).

    Lunch looked fun and that desert, well lets say I gained pounds just by looking at it lol.

    A lovely day had by all

    Take care x

  6. roweeee Post author

    Thanks. I felt a bit guilty ordering that dessert, especially as none of my friends ordered one but I am who I am!

  7. roweeee Post author

    It’s hard enough to keep up with them at my age let alone 64. That said, my mum has spent a fair bit of time with them and done a marvelous job. She recently turned 70.

  8. merrildsmith

    Wow–you had a spectacular birthday! It was so sweet that your daughter wanted to spend the day with you. The “compromise” dog walking adventure on the beach looks like it was lovely. Your lunch–with that dessert–OMG! Drooling over here. 🙂 I love the platter that your husband gave you, too.

Leave a Reply

