My son, the triathlete…

Hi All,
As you may be aware, I have a neurological condition which severely affected me when I was 25 and had surgery. It was a hellish time, particularly as a young person mixing with the elderly at rehab while my friends continued to party. Please read Nick’s story and respond in any way you can xx Rowena

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

nick-trike-park-birds-flowers-trees-009

You may know my son’s story. For once, I have no problem repeating it for those who do not. I have a very good reason for it that I have been bursting to share!

In 2009 my son was 25… a good looking, successful young man with a fast car, nice apartment near the coast and a very promising career. That ended on July 4th when he was left for dead in a Bournemouth alley, stabbed through the brain in an unprovoked attack.

2009 before the attack 2009 before the attack

I have written before of the terror of the next days as he underwent brain surgery to remove the shards of shattered bone from the left hemisphere of his brain. I have told of the weeks of heartache as we waited to see if he would live or die, while his brain bled and swelled, causing further damage to the brain stem itself…

View original post 645 more words

10 thoughts on “My son, the triathlete…

  1. Lynz Real Cooking

    I read it and truly amazing! Really you are a fantastic, inspirational mom to him and he is one amazing young man! Just a heart warming and wonderful true story! Thanks so much for sharing this and a look into your life!

  2. Sue Vincent

    Thank you, he is a very determined young man, and determined to push his own boundaries and the preconceptions of society, not just on his own behalf, but because he too once had them and had learned in a very hard way that those preconceptions may be very far from the reality 🙂

  3. roweeee Post author

    You’re welcome Sue, although for some reason people have been confused and think he’s my son. When I read through this post, I sudfdenly realised that Nick was the same age I was when I had my troubles with hydrocephalus and ended up with the shunt. Not a nice experience at any age but very difficult when you’re just setting out to take on the world and seemingly all your friends are getting on with it while you seem to be treading water at best. I haven’t forgotten that angst! Please give Nick my love and best wishes xx Rowena

  4. Sue Vincent

    Yes, he was just 25… and as you say, that is a time when things are happening… and suddenly you are out of the picture and having to start over. It cannot be easy, even without the health issues that are mountains that must be climbed.
    I’ll pass your good wishes along, Rowena. Thank you! xx

Leave a Reply

