Australian Cricket: It couldn’t get any worse BUT THEN @#$%!!!!

Cricket does strange things to some people…especially when it involves that greatest of grudge matches: The Ashes Test Series between age-old rivals, England and Australia. It brings out the sort of fierce national pride, which is really more at home  in a Neanderthal cave.

The Balmy Army

The Balmy Army

Usually, I blame the these antics on the beer or being out in the Summer sun all day. After all, the sun can do funny things to people…just look at the Balmy Army and all those clowns  dressed up as commentator, Richie Benaud, over the years. That has to be madness adopting a hairstyle which should have been “inimitable”.

Way to many Richies!

Way to many Richies!

Anyway, you could say that desperate times call for desperate measures.

In a move not uncharacteristic of your average boastful Aussie cricket fan, TV Presenter Karl Stefanovic put his clothes where his mouth was and tweeted:

If clarkey doesn’t get a hundred I’m gear off on the show tomorrow. Woohoo. Positives for everyone.

Well, even if you’re not a cricket affectionado (ie hate cricket), if you live in the cricketing realm, you’ll know that the Australian cricket team was slaughtered in at Trent Bridge in Nottingham and in the worst score since 1936, was all out for 60 runs.

So, this left our dear mate Karl in a bit of a spot…Would he? Or wouldn’t he? Unlike most of our politicians who wouldn’t know a promise if it punched them on the nose, would our Karl be true to his word or would he capitulate?

Well, I didn’t know any of this until the deed was already done and I strayed across the story online after the fact.

That of course means that I missed Karl’s mighty dash across the set but it turns out, just to spare the viewers vision, a cartoon cricket ball was placed not so discreetly across the screen.

Wait…there’s more:http://www.smh.com.au/entertainment/tv-and-radio/karl-stefanovics-ashesinspired-nudie-run-on-nine-a-win-for-cricket-20150807-gitkdt.html

So, after that, I’m offering Karl to the highest bidder. I reckon he should go into politics where he could actually become one of the first politicians who actually follows through on their promises! I reckon he’d be a hit over in the US right about now as they prepare for their presidential elections. I’m sure he’d knock Donald Trump, Hilary Clinton, Jed Bush right out of the park. Let’s all vote: Karl for President!

For better or worse, here is a man who is true to his word!

By the way, I do have one explanation for Australia’s shocking defeat. That is, Robin Hood was stealing runs from the Australians and giving them to the English. I’m not quite up on the story these days but I’m sure there was a Sheriff of Nottingham???

Humph! Did legendary Robin Hood steal our runs and give them to the English? I wonder...

Humph! Did legendary Robin Hood steal our runs and give them to the English? I wonder…

Anyway, Robin Hood makes perfect sense to me!!

After all, our national pride is on the line. We are the champions…at least, we should have been!

Humph! That’s enough talk about cricket! Time to put another snag on the barbie. We’ve been on BBQ duty with scouts today.

Hope you’re having a better weekend than the Australian Cricket Team!

xx Rowena

PS A personal message for Geoffle: “We’ll be back!”…even if it isn’t in the second innings.

Here’s a rundown on the day’s play: http://www.news.com.au/sport/cricket/the-ashes-2015-live-blog-from-the-fourth-test-at-nottingham-australia-and-england/story-fndpt0dy-1227473148402

A bit of English vitriol from Geoffry Boycott: http://www.news.com.au/sport/cricket/geoffrey-boycott-slams-aussie-cricket-team-in-harsh-rant/story-fnu2penb-1227475251692

17 thoughts on “Australian Cricket: It couldn’t get any worse BUT THEN @#$%!!!!

  1. roweeee Post author

    Thanks very much, Lyn. I always loathed cricket growing up. My brother was obsessed and every Summer we went into battle over who controlled the TV set. Back in the day, that meant who glued to the actual TV clinging onto the on/off switch and the channel changing dial for dear life. No remote controls back then!
    It looks like I’m going to have to do a follow-up story on Karl. This wasn’t his first antic!
    Hope you are having a great weekend xx Rowena

  2. New Journey

    Hey I a all for Karl for President….its gonna get crazy over her I am afraid……he should join the show…looks like he would fit right in…LOL

  3. merrildsmith

    I don’t follow any sports, so no idea at all about Australian cricket. 🙂
    Hope you’re BBQ duty goes well and the scouts enjoy the meal.
    Low key weekend for us so far.

  4. TanGental

    *smug smile* Told you. Just saying. Send my best to your brother… I blame… pretty much everyone. Still if the English can go from muppets to world beaters in 18 months so can Oz. Thank you for sharing some national humiliation. Very enjoyable. Now for the group of death in the Rugby world cup…

  5. roweeee Post author

    I don’t expect to be watching that but I said the same about the cricket and Geoff had other ideas but he’s more into Aussie Rules Football than Rugby.

  6. roweeee Post author

    W’eve had a pretty busy one as we had a delayted birthday lunch with my parents at Palm Beach today. We ferried home at sunset and I took some great photos, which I am just downloading now. Stay tuned! xx Ro

  7. roweeee Post author

    I allow for typos. My brain usually moves a lot faster than my brain, even though I am quite fast on the keyboard. My laptap is awaiting surgery and so I’ve been on the desktop right next to the back door. It’s a glass sliding door and my fingers freeze while I’m typing out here. I think the cold has numbed my senses and I’ve gone mad. That, or I am totally obsessed with writing and photography. Just did the first edit on the photos we took today and the sunset shots are incredible.

  8. New Journey

    How exciting for him and to get to play himself…..I will see the movie when it comes out as I really liked the original…sounds like a good cast…thanks…and I still think he should run for president….LOL

  9. TanGental

    Still it’s good to follow a sport. We managed to see the Swans when we visited as well as the Rabbitos. Most enjoyable too, even if we were a bit rule rusty.

Leave a Reply

