#Weekend Coffee Share: Welcome to Sydney!

Today, I am introducing myself to a new blog share: 

So, if we were having coffee, I’d probably have to start off my introducing myself as I’m pretty sure this is my first coffee with you guys, although I’m pretty sure that I’ve, at least, dropped in before.

So, “Hi”.

If you want to know more about me, you can check out my About page here: https://beyondtheflow.wordpress.com/about/

Miss on Stage Performing Marta with her Musical Theatre Class.

Miss on Stage Performing Marta with her Musical Theatre Class.

Next, I’d tell you that the last week was pretty intense in so many good ways and that right now, Two weeks ago, we found out my daughter had achieved an audition for the role of Marta in the Sydney production of The Sound of Music. Marta is the second youngest of the Von Trapp children. The same day that news came through, I was off to the GP with worsening bronchitis/pneumonia. She prescribed two different industrial strength antibiotics and I was to go on the nebuliser every 2 hours and if I hadn’t improved in 24 hours, I was off to hospital. I have fibrosis in my lungs and so I have to be incredibly careful. This thing was starting to look very nasty indeed!

Persevering with the keyboard while on the nebuliser. I only need it a few times a day so not a big deal.

Persevering with the keyboard while on the nebuliser. I only need it a few times a day so not a big deal.

I wasn’t the only one overcoming hurdles to get to the audition. My daughter was diagnosed with severe vocal nodules a few months ago and has been having intensive voice therapy for the last month or so. This has made a huge improvement but we all knew her voice wasn’t ready yet. However, Miss was determined. She was the right height and she would never be the right height again! Not wanting to be the one her smashed her dreams before they’d even set sail, I submitted her application. https://beyondtheflow.wordpress.com/2015/09/01/climb-every-mountain-singing-towards-her-dream/

Miss outside the Brent Street Studios where the auditions were held.

Miss outside the Brent Street Studios where the auditions were held.

You can read about preparations for the audition here: The House is Alive with the Sound of Music: https://beyondtheflow.wordpress.com/2015/09/02/the-house-is-alive-with-the-sound-of-music/

However, where there’s a will, there’s a way.

I was just as determined to accompany our daughter as she was to sing . Yet, even I, who has phoenixed out of the depths so many times before, had serious doubts. Call it determination or desperation, I was filling my daughter and I up with freshly squeezed orange juice and vitamin C to give us both the best shot. After all, she also had to be well and we needed to protect her precious voice most of all.

I even arranged for us to stay with friends near Sydney’s Entertainment Quarter where the auditions were being held to give myself the best chance of getting there and even more importantly getting us there on time…especially as my friend is an Army Major! Being late meant instant elimination.

Miss with the Major

Miss with the Major

Let me just add, that the trains were out and so my husband drove us down. On the way to dropping the spare car at the station for the return trip, the gear box blew up. Geoff’s trip back didn’t go too well either. There was an accident and they were stalled for an hour.

All that was missing from our dramas was the mandatory car chase!

The audition process went well, although Miss didn’t receive a callback. We were quite philosophical about it all and she wants to keep auditioning.

Looking East over Sydney Harbour from Sydney Tower

Looking East over Sydney Harbour from Sydney Tower

After her audition,we made the most of the day in the city. We went up the Sydney Tower Eye and enjoyed a 360 degree view taking in an 80km radius of Sydney.

Captured by the Ginormous Koala demanding more gum leaves.

Captured by the Ginormous Koala demanding more gum leaves.

This is when we weren’t suddenly captured by a ginormous koala which was demanding more gum leaves. It had an absolutely voracious appetite and availability was scarce. It was absolutely terrifying but we were rescued by none other than Crocodile Dundee who just happened to be in the area.

David Jones's Flower Festival

David Jones’s Flower Festival

We toured the David Jones Flower Show, which was absolutely incredible. David Jones is an exclusive Australian Department store and their Market Street store is something like Harrods in London.

The House of Chanel comes to Sydney...look for the flowers.

The House of Chanel comes to Sydney…look for the flowers.

They even brought the House of Chanel to Sydney.

We were given a free tub of Ben & Jerry’s ice cream and daringly asked for spoons from the David Jones Food Hall and headed up to Hyde Park.

Tim & Nugget

Tim & Nugget

On the way, we met Tim and Nugget who are Vendors for the Big Issue. They usually sleep rough in Hyde Park, which is just across the road from David Jones. The irony wasn’t lost on me. A good night for Tim is when he can afford to stay at a caravan park in Hurstville for $50.00 a night. Indeed, this is luxury!

You can read Tim & Nugget’s Story here: https://beyondtheflow.wordpress.com/2015/09/11/sleeping-rough-in-sydney-meet-tim-his-dog-nugget/

We ate our ice cream in front of the fountain and then headed across the road to visit St Mary’s Cathedral. My grandparents were married here in 1940 during WWII.

St Mary's Cathedral viewed through Hyde Park.

St Mary’s Cathedral viewed through Hyde Park.

That was Monday…obviously a HUGE day but it wasn’t over yet. School photos tomorrow so there I was sewing up my daughter’s school uniform. Actually, my husband did that. I was a bit gaga after our mega day out.

Tuesday…slept (have you read Jackie French’s Diary of A Wombat? I was sure feeling like a wombat!)

Our Wedding Day....The Happiest Day of My Life. I smiled so much, my face hurt!

Our Wedding Day….The Happiest Day of My Life. I smiled so much, my face hurt!

Wednesday, Wedding Anniversary. Happy Wedding Anniversary, darling! 14 years.

Thursday: Blank.

Friday: Kids sick…we all slept. That is except for Geoff who went to work.

Saturday and Sunday: preparing for the Royal Visit. My aunt’s coming over tomorrow. So we’ve washed dogs, washed dogs’ bed, mowed lawns, still getting stuff out for council cleanup. Aunt was due Tuesday so stuff will still be out the front tomorrow but at least it’s on its way.

I am hoping this week things will return to normal. Next week…school holidays await!

I hope you’ve had a wonderful week and have enjoyed having coffee with me.

The Weekend Coffee Share is hosted by Part Time Monster.  You can join this week’s Coffee Share on her blog or by clicking on the “Linky“.  I encourage you to click on the “linky” to see to meet some other bloggers and even join us if you haven’t before!

xx Rowena

10 thoughts on “#Weekend Coffee Share: Welcome to Sydney!

  1. roweeee Post author

    Thanks, I am magically back on deck as though nothing ever happened but I am feeling a bit shell-shocked. I seem to feel worse emotionally after the cloudhas lifted for a bit. I think it’s a matter of just trying to find my equilibrium…a bit like jet lag xx Ro

  2. roweeee Post author

    Thanks very much, Diana. I have been enjoying the link up and getting to know people. It’s been just like sitting in a cafe having a chat. Thanks very much xx Rowena

  3. Ula

    Welcome to the coffee share. It’s a wonderful meeting of generous bloggers. You have a knack for storytelling. Hope you are feeling better.

  4. roweeee Post author

    Thank you very much, Ula. I am feeling so much better and it’s such a relief to breathe without hearing my lungs crackle. It really was quite disconcerting.
    I don’t know whether I developed the art of storytelling from my grandfather but he grew up in thie quirky German village in South Australia, which was populated with characters such as a cocktoo which used to walk across the road looking drunk saying”drunk again! drunk again!” Actually, when I look back there’s quite a cast of characters…a Great Great Aunt who had a kooaburra who would laugh at the start of the news on the radio and she also had a budgie called Romeo who could recite Shakespeare. Perhaps, this was just life before the TV set came to town xx Rowena

  5. roweeee Post author

    Thanks, Monika. We finally made it out to celebrate yesterday with a belated lunch on Sydney Harbour. I’ll post the photos later tonight xx Ro

Leave a Reply

