The House of Chanel, Sydney

“Fashion is not something that exists in dresses only. Fashion is in the sky, in the street, fashion has to do with ideas, the way we live, what is happening.” ~ Coco Chanel

Coco Chanel at David Jones.

Coco Chanel at David Jones.

You wouldn’t believe that I am still writing about our trip into Sydney last Monday and still have new things to share. In case, you’ve forgotten or haven’t caught up, Miss and I went into Sydney for her audition for the part of Marta in the Sydney production of the Sound of Music. She didn’t receive a callback but that didn’t stop us from enjoying a day out.

David Jones's Flower Festival

David Jones’s Flower Festival

Being Spring in Sydney, Department Store David Jones currently has it’s annual flower show. These stunning window and store displays include an incredible tribute to the House of Chanel, where no detail was spared.

Here’s a photo of the real House of Chanel on Rue Cambon taken in 1962.

Douglas Kirkland Mlle Chanel on Rue Cambon, in front of the House of Chanel 1962 [printed later] archival pigment print, edition of 24, signed paper size 20 ..

Douglas Kirkland Mlle Chanel on Rue Cambon, in front of the House of Chanel 1962 [printed later] archival pigment print, edition of 24, signed paper size 20 ..

The Eifel Tower by Night.

The Eiffel Tower by Night, along with street reflections.

When we first arrived, the stylist was still applying the last touches to the display, which was also quite interesting to watch. By the time we returned from the Sydney Tower Eye, the display was up and running and the lights were changing colour from purple through to blue, red, pink and even the moon rose and set. The Eiffel Tower was made of flowers and there were little moving silhouettes of Coco Chanel in the windows…along with her perfume.

Window Shopping

Coco Chanel lived at the Ritz in Paris’s Place Vendome but worked and entertained within walking distance at Rue Cambon. There are four floors: the Chanel store is at street level, haute couture dressing rooms are on the second floor, her apartment is on the third, and her workshop is on the fourth. The rooftop of the building is said to have some of the best views of Paris.

Coco Chanel.

Coco Chanel.

“The most courageous act is still to think for yourself. Aloud.”

Coco Chanel

Shades of Rose.

Shades of Rose.

With such incredible attention to detail, even the scissors opened and shut.

With such incredible attention to detail, even the scissors opened and shut.

While this was a sensational display and we must enjoy beauty and not always fixate on hardship, at the same time, please bear in mind that Tim and Nugget are selling the Big Issue only metres away from this luxurious window display. They sleep across the road at Hyde Park and a $50.00 a night spot at a caravan park is luxury.

You can read more of their story here: https://beyondtheflow.wordpress.com/2015/09/11/sleeping-rough-in-sydney-meet-tim-his-dog-nugget/

Whatever else we do, we need to be thankful for what we have and appreciate the beauty and joy around us but we also need to think of those who are doing it tough.

Please don’t just walk past pretending that they’re not even there.Even if you have nothing to give, you could at least say a prayer!

xx Rowena

23 thoughts on “The House of Chanel, Sydney

  1. New Journey

    hello…..been a whilte…I lost you and found you again…LOL I followed the Facebook page to get you back on WP…it seems to add and remove blogs at will sometimes or who know I might of accidently hit the wrong button….what lovely day for you and your daughter…and I love all the pictures….the Eifel Tower and I have a thing…LOL one of my most favorite buildings/towers in the world…I look forward to seeing more of your wonderful day together….how you doing..??? XXkat.

  2. roweeee Post author

    Thanks, Kat. I;m doing really well again. It’s like I was never sick, aside from the odd cough and needing a bit more rest. Back walking the dogs again.
    I love the Eiffel Tower myself. My daughter'[s name starts with A and I gave her some sparkly Eiffel Tower earrings, which looked like a letter A. That was a bit of fun. xx Rowena

  3. roweeee Post author

    You’re welcome and thanks for the encouragement. I did put a bit of thought into how to end this one as there was quite a lot of thought involved xx Rowena

  4. roweeee Post author

    It was incredible with all the lights, moving parts and the floral display. Davoid Jones is also known for its incredible Christmas window displays.

  5. merrildsmith

    Lovely!
    The window displays make me think of two Masterpiece Theatre programs, “Mr. Selfridge” and “The Paradise,” which both focus on late 19th/early 20th century department stores.

  6. roweeee Post author

    I Googled Mr Selfridge and found a TV show. I don’t think it’s been shown here but from what I could see the windows look much the same.

  7. roweeee Post author

    Oh yes. I’m definitely needing to get the Summer clothes out of the roof this weekend. Back in a jumper today but enjoyed a few days of T-shirt weather. How is it over there? Hope you have a great weekend. I’m currently baked Creme Caramel in the oven and have no idea how long it’ll take as I only had a larger dish. I did read 1.5 hours. My Mum used to make it when I was a child and my kids didn’t know how it was made and I was quite disgusted with them and myself for not having the guts to make it. Mum used to make it for dinner parties and my brother and I would do battle with the toffee layer at the bottom of the dish. That was an experience my kids definitely had to have! Take care xx Ro

  8. New Journey

    sounds yummy ,,,and worth fighting over….we had one rainy day. everyone I talked to enjoyed it so much.we yurned on the heaters, put our jammies on and hunkered in and enjoyed the cold, rain….but its suppose to be back up to 90 tomorrow…88 today….I am so ready for winter and cool weather….doing good over here…not a lot going on….sadden by the huge fire burning just north of us, suppose to be smoky again today…I am going to have to look up the recipe for crème caramel….sounds like a new treat for my birthday later this year…LOL glad your doing well..pictures of your baked yummy cake….XXkat

  9. roweeee Post author

    I’ll keep an eye on them. I must confess that I really got hooked on the Australian version of the Bachelor recently. I was quite adamant that I wasn’t going to watch it but couldn’t resist. Sam Wood, the Bachelor, was very down to earth yet very handsome. He came from Tasmania, where my husband grew up and had lost his mum at a young age. He ended up choosing the single mum out of the girls and I was very touched by his sincerity. All the girls were stunning and good people, apart from one who was quite a whiner. I’m going to miss them all now that it’s over.

  10. roweeee Post author

    Thanks. I live on the fringe of that world and that sense of entitlement and I guess I wanted to challenge that…even a little.
    Hope you have a great weekend and the school holidays go well. I know I should be more organised but we’ve had some big stuff on and I’m better but I’m still needing quite a bit of rest. We’ll be going to Byron Bay for a bit to stay with Geoff’s sister and I think we’ll be making the most of the local parks and the beach. I’m also taking the kids to see Oddball at Cinema Paradiso. Take care xx Ro

  11. roweeee Post author

    For some reason, I get drawn right in. I vowed not to watch the bachelor but then the human element was really strong throughout and I was hooked. I don’t even watch much TV. I was just as hooked on Masterchef but I do love cooking and the Voice. Oh dear!

Leave a Reply

