#Weekend Coffee Share

Greetings once again, although I must confess that it’s now Monday here in Australia, although that’s the good thing about staggered time zones around the world. I get to turn the clock back. It’s still the weekend somewhere.

I hope you all had a great week last week.

If we were having coffee, I’d have so much to share and I’m looking forward to catching up on your news as well.

Springing into Spring at the Beach.

Springing into Spring at the Beach.

It’s now Spring here and on some days, it almost feels like Summer and were starting think “beach” again. not just in terms of walking the dogs but actually going for a swim.

Last week, I finally managed to get back to working on the Proust Character Questionnaire, which many writers use to create their characters’ back story and get into their skin. https://beyondtheflow.wordpress.com/2015/08/25/in-pursuit-of-character-the-proust-questionnaire/

As I am working on a motivational memoir, I am doing the Proust Questionnaire on myself and it’s proving to be a fascinating journey and such an exploration of ideas. I’m loving it.

Butterfly of Happiness

Butterfly of Happiness

The first question of the Proust Questionnaire was: What is your idea of perfect happiness? https://beyondtheflow.wordpress.com/2015/08/30/what-is-your-idea-of-perfect-happiness-the-proust-questionnaire/

I actually addressed this a few weeks ago before I became “distracted” by the lung infection and my daughter’s audition:

So last week, was all about answering question 2: What is your greatest fear?

I can usually relate to The Scream by Edward Munch

I can usually relate to The Scream by Edward Munch

Well, for someone with quite a swag of fears, this wasn’t an easy question to unravel either and, of course, I also had to explore fear and really feel the emotion: https://beyondtheflow.wordpress.com/2015/09/18/grappling-with-fear-the-making-of-courage/

https://beyondtheflow.wordpress.com/2015/09/20/my-greatest-fear-the-proust-questionnaire-continued/

Not unsurprisingly, I much preferred happiness.

I encourage you to at the very least check out the Proust Questionnaire and I’d love you to join me on my journey. I am learning so much!

A slice of heaven.

A slice of heaven.

Another big development this week was baking Creme Caramel for the first time. My mother was the Queen Caramel Queen back in the 80s and I had very big high heels to fill but I succeeded…even if my kids prefer the supermarket version…philistines!

Photoshopped: my Creme Caramel was turned into a Green Slime Monster. No respect!

Photoshopped: my Creme Caramel was turned into a Green Slime Monster. No respect!

The kids are now on school holidays for two weeks so the blog might be slowing down a bit.

Hope you had a great week and I look forward to catching up!

For those of you interested in helping people through Trades of Hope:

http://www.carrieanntripp.com/lets-change-the-world-over-coffee/

How about you go and check out Ursula at The Broccoli Addict: https://broccoliaddict.wordpress.com/2015/09/19/weekend-coffee-share-everything-in-its-right-place/

xx Rowena

19 thoughts on “#Weekend Coffee Share

  1. Fabio

    Great energy, great writing, great photos, great questions, great everything! You and the family have a wonderful week and enjoy the spring in your beautiful and happy country! Take care! 🙂

  2. Ula

    Rowena, thanks for the shout out. I like your idea of using the Proust questionnaire on yourself and making blog posts out of the answers. I think I may take you up on it. I also hadn’t thought to give it to my characters. I do interviews with my characters, but I think I may do this questionnaire as well. Hope you have a fabulous week.

  3. roweeee Post author

    Thanks, Derrick. That blue ball in her hand is actually a huge gobstopper that my aunt bought for her. I’m sure she was on a serious sugar high.

  4. roweeee Post author

    Ula, I highly recommend it. I have really been probing the depths and grappling with these concepts and I really love that sort of thing, even though it is slowing down the Book Project. I am also feeling that this could be a book in itself. Have you ever read Kahlil Gibran’s: The Prophet? I love it. Let me know if you go ahead.
    I hope you have a fabulous week too. My kids are on school holidays and I’m trying to be fun Mum but I’m tired and still getting over the lung infection and am simply enjoying not having to be anywhere for a few days. We call them pyjama days. xx Ro

  5. Daisy Smiley Face

    Love the photos! And the Proust questionnaire — I should do that. I write memoir, too, and it could help with some places in my work.

    Nice to *meet* you. See you again soon. ~Tara

  6. New Journey

    Hummmm if I was having coffee with you I would say let put it in carry out cups and go walk barefoot on the beach…even though .its fall here, the weather has been hot again it was 101 today at my house, but the fog has finally arrived and its cooling off…I am looking forward to the cool nights of fall and then winter…can only wish for rain….did they get the beach done?? have a fantastic week and enjoy the kids….great pictures and you have a beautiful smile….xxkat

  7. roweeee Post author

    Repairs are ongoing at the beach. You can now see a row of sandbags backing onto the road.
    Thanks for the comment on the smaile. I was a bit naughty posting that one as it is about 8 years old. It was actually taken just as I was leaving the rehab hospital after being diagnosed with the auto-immune disease. Although I look great in the photo, I was still pretty crook and couldn’t sit on the ground and have the muscle strength to get up again.
    Forgfet what they say about the camera doesn’t lie. It tells bigger porkies than the rest of us!
    I’m with you on having a cup of tea at the beach. I’ll pack the sponge cake…today’s “masterpiece” xx Ro

  8. Minuscule Moments

    Rowena love the happy shining photo of you, sounds like you are getting lots out of the questionnaire and finding fun things to write about is always a bonus. Raining here trying to amuse crazy indoor kiddies is always a challenge.

  9. roweeee Post author

    Yes, pick kids up from my parents tonight and arrived home to two wet dogs who could understand that being wet meant not getting up on our laps.
    The questionnaire is going really well and I will probably expand on it a bit at the end. Hope the rain clears soon! xx Ro

  10. roweeee Post author

    Thanks very much, Daisy. Great to meet you too. I have really found the Proust Questionnaire helpful but there are a few areas that it doesn’t cover, not unsurprisingly considering it was developed in 1890. I highly recommend you do it though and my posts might save you a bit of leg work.
    I really have been trying to focus on getting the questionnaire finished but life gets in the way. Now, I’m also trying to catch up on the material I wrote while I was away without a computer and I’m having to type up my hand-written notes. Not as exciting as it used to be. Hope you’ve been having a great week xx Ro

Leave a Reply

