Weekend Coffee Share: Byron Bay – Back to Earth.

If we were having coffee right now, I would never get to sleep.

So, I’m drinking a decaf tea served in a Tim Tam mug by the way. If you haven’t tried Australia’s favourite biscuit which is best eaten as the “Tim Tam Explosion” (one of the more polite terms I’ve heard), you haven’t lived. By the way, this is where you bite off both ends of the Tim Tam and dunk the end in a hot drink and suck through it like a straw. The chocolate melts and if you’re not careful, you’re Tim Tam falls in the drink and drowns. Such a waste!

This is an exceptionally rare packet of Tim Tams. The tray isn't empty!!

This is an exceptionally rare packet of Tim Tams. The tray isn’t empty!!

Returning home from Byron Bay is never good but the fridge/freezer had seemingly died but miraculously returned to life once it had defrosted and the new fridge had been ordered. But the old unit is in the laundry and the new one is BEAUTIFUL. It has the freezer down the bottom so I can reach reach the fruit and veg without torturing myself. It is so clean and right now I’m feeling very protective!

Life is good.

The next day a filling fell out of my tooth while I was at the beach.It actually looked like a bit of shell but I knew.

Life not so good.

My Father & Other Liars by Geoff Le Pard decided to launch it's own book tour and couldn't wait for Geoff to visit Australia!

My Father & Other Liars by Geoff Le Pard decided to launch it’s own book tour and couldn’t wait for Geoff to visit Australia!

Tuesday, the kids returned to school for the start of Term 4. Miracle of miracles, they were on time despite the chaos with the fridge-freezer.

Wednesday, train trip to Sydney reading My Father and Other Liars by blogging mate Geoff Le Pard…almost compensated for the trip to the dentist. (Check it out at http://www.geofflepard.com) If you’ve seen Finding Nemo, my dentist’s surgery is in just about the same location as that Australian dentist and he also has a fish tank. So after business was attended to, the book decided it wanted to see the sights. Make Geoff jealous. We walked down to the edge of Sydney Harbour  and I took some mediocre photos with my phone. The weather wasn’t great so I didn’t bother taking the SLR, which involves taking a backpack as well as my monster-truck sized handbag.(I told the book it had to pack light but once again it didn’t listen. Insisted I pack the kitchen sink and cart it around without any assistance whatsoever. It seems that being a book makes you some kind of royalty and there’s absolutely no question that everybody will carry you around. You don’t even have to turn a page!)

Next, we walked over the Luna Park and considered catching a ferry but again the weather wasn’t great and what with the cold gusts sweeping across the harbour, I opted for another day. The book wasn’t happy and started nagging so I zipped it back up in my bag where I couldn’t hear it’s complaints. Believe me the whingefest was turning into a negrave (a great term I stole from a show about ice addicts). Fortunately after parenting two kids, I’m adept at ignoring all noise and pretended we’d never met (even though that terrible racquet was coming from my handbag and I wasn’t very popular in the quiet carriage on the train!

I'm not sure whether selfies are supposed to reverse the text in a photo but it does seem a bit odd. Technology and I are not usually on very good terms.

I’m not sure whether selfies are supposed to reverse the text in a photo but it does seem a bit odd. Technology and I are not usually on very good terms.

In between reading Geoff’s book, I’ve madly been trying to type up my notes from the Byron Bay trip and sort out the photos. I’m only halfway so I’ll be posting about Byron Bay for some time to come and just hope nothing happens in the meantime that’s going to set me back. That’s the trouble with contemporary communications. News ages way too quickly.

Byron Bay looking North to Mt Warning.

Main Beach, Byron Bay looking North to Mt Warning.

Anyway, I’ve really like to encourage you, especially if you live overseas and have never been to Australia, to check out my posts about Byron Bay. I know I’ve been raving on about the snakes but it really is paradise on earth and every time I go there, I return a changed person. Something changes just like going to a chiropractor and your spine is suddenly in alignment, you just feel better!

Here are some of the posts I’ve written about Byron Bay:

The Sun Set Byron Bay

The Sun Set Byron Bay

Byron Bay: Australia’s Alternative Paradise: https://beyondtheflow.wordpress.com/2015/04/03/byron-bay-australias-alternative-paradise/

Sydney-Newrybar-Byron Bay  Weekend Coffee Share 4th October, 2015 https://beyondtheflow.wordpress.com/2015/10/04/sydney-newrybar-byron-bay-weekend-coffee-share/

Snake Bait:a snake was on the loose outside while my kids were picking mulberries.

https://beyondtheflow.wordpress.com/2015/10/08/snake-bait/

Shadow in the Chook Shed

https://beyondtheflow.wordpress.com/2015/10/09/motivational-chooks/

Updating our annual family photo at the Byron Bay Lighthouse.

Updating our annual family photo at the Byron Bay Lighthouse.

Shadows in Paradise: An Australian Postcard ... some of the not so friendly critters around Byron Bay.

https://beyondtheflow.wordpress.com/2015/10/10/poem-shadows-in-paradise-an-australian-postcard/

Poem: Beyond the Veil (a bride and groom posing for photos at Byron Bay Lighthouse)

https://beyondtheflow.wordpress.com/2015/10/11/poem-beyond-the-veil/

Byron Bay Lighthouse

Byron Bay Lighthouse

Lazy Birds of Byron Bay…birds which feast of humans and human refuse

https://beyondtheflow.wordpress.com/2015/10/10/lazy-birds-of-byron-bay/

Ibis drinking coconut milk

Ibis drinking coconut milk

Well, that pretty much wraps up the last week and looking at that ibis sipping on fresh coconut milk while the rain’s pouring down overhead, is making me feel like getting straight back in the car and going back to Byron Bay.

I’d love to hear how your week went and your various ups and downs.This post is part of #weekendcoffeeshare. You can check out the various posts via the linky:

http://www.inlinkz.com/new/view.php?id=571509

xx Rowena

12 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share: Byron Bay – Back to Earth.

  1. Corina

    What a wonderful piece of the earth you live on. I love Tim Tams, too. We brought back about 30 boxes but it wasn’t enough! They were gone in no time!

  2. roweeee Post author

    Gemma, I haven’t tried Pods but the Tim Tams are great and also Mint Slice. You’re lucky that your family has the discipline to post them. They are very addictive, which I’m sure you’ve discovered xx Rowena

  3. Gemma

    I’ve never even heard of Mint Slice. Will have to get them to send some over. I really want to come back over to Oz. Came over for my honeymoon x

  4. roweeee Post author

    It’s hard when you travel and fall in love with a place and then you can’t afford to go back and there are also so many other places that you want to see as well. I spent a year in Europe in 1992 and haven’t been back. Fortunately, I can now keep in touch with my friends over there through email and Facebook but I’d also love to go back plus visit so many of the people I meet through my blog and where they live. Let’s hope we win Lotto…not that I usually enter! xx Rowena

  5. roweeee Post author

    That sounds like Tim Tams. They are becoming more available overseas these days so keep your eyes peeled. You might be in luck By the way, I’m impressed with you taking 30 packets home. That’s something I’d do! xx Rowena

Leave a Reply

