Dog Genius Reads Book.

Although all creatives know at a conscious level, that their creation takes on a life all of its own once it leaves home, little did Geoff Le Pard expect that his latest book: My Father & Other Liars would find its way into the paws of Australian dog, who swears she’ s read it cover to cover.

“Trust me!” She says. “Would these gorgeous puppy dog eyes ever tell a lie?”

She also told me that she’s not the first dog to take up reading. Her friend Odie , much to Garfield’s surprise, has read Tolstoy’s epic: War & Peace.

However, as much as Geoff was hoping his book would be picked up, I don’t think this riff raff of canines was quite who he had in mind.

But just like you can’t pick your relatives, authors can’t pick their readers. Your readers pick you.

xx Rowena

PS Before Lady got hold of Geoff’s book, it also had a bit of an “excursion” to Sydney. What you could call a book tour except there was no author in sight. Just like giving birth to children who end up with ideas and journeys all of their own, Geoff’s book also ran away from home and took a few selfies to annoy him. Yes, Geoff was still back home in London watching the sun and the warmth fade away while his book’s headed to the beach sunglasses, hat and even a bit of zinc on the nose.

20 thoughts on “Dog Genius Reads Book.

  1. TanGental

    Reblogged this on TanGental and commented:
    Rowena has pointed out a hole in my marketing strategy for my new book, My Father and Other Liars: I haven’t tapped into the canine reading market.

  2. roweeee Post author

    It certainly gave me paws for thought. Not easy to photograph dogs. I later tried Bilbo and when you try to get him to look in the camera, he comes to you instead. Lady is a bit more docile and easier to work with xx Rowena

  3. roweeee Post author

    You’re welcome, Dave. Wait til you read about the book’s self-promotion tour in Sydney. I’ll be posting that tomorrow xx Rowena

  4. merrildsmith

    Very cute!
    One of my cats likes to nibble on my books, and the other has slept on them, but I don’t think either of them have actually read them. I’ll have to ask. 🙂

  5. roweeee Post author

    That’s funny. My husband is allergic to cats, which upsets our daughter who is a real cat lover. Also, cats are small enough for her to pick up. Having the cats chew on your books sounds so cute. One of those extra little details you could insert into a scene.

  6. roweeee Post author

    No, Lady is a Border Collie x King Charles Cavalier. She’s 3 years old and we’ve only had her for a year. She came from a farm where she was actually registered as a “working dog”. I swear that dog hasn’t done a day’s work in her life unless you consider hunting. She does love going to the beach.
    I’ve just Googled your Aussie Shepherds and they’re actually an American breed…who’d have thought.
    Hope you have a great weekend xx Rowena

  7. Shareen Mansfield

    Mine is a retired . His only job is to sniff the car, let the bunnies eat my garden & catch then release any mice. He’s goofy! He trained for search & rescue but was too attached to me. He’s literally got to be able to see me or hear me always. He even stares at me while doing his business. Awkward! I love em! Lady is gorgeous!

  8. roweeee Post author

    Thanks very much, Shareen. Dogs can be so funny. Sounds like he was searching for you, found you and now won’t let go! xx Rowena

Leave a Reply

