Learning to Fly:The 3 Day Quote Challenge.

“Come to the edge,” he said.
They said, “We are afraid.”
Come to the edge,” he said.
They came.
He pushed them…and they flew.”

― Guillaume Apollinaire

Earlier this week, my daughter and I attended an open day for what is called an Opportunity Class. Kids sit a test in year 4 for these classes which are held in Years 5-6 before starting high school. My daughter is currently on a waiting list but we were still invited to the introduction session and tour of the school.

For these students and their families, deciding whether to attend these classes can be a huge decision as it usually means leaving their current, local school and their friends, community and convenience to travel often quite a distance and starting from scratch. So, indeed, it can feel like sitting on the edge of a great precipice with your toes curled over the edge wondering if you’re going to make it.

Skiing down the mountain at Perisher in August 2013.

Skiing down the mountain at Perisher in August 2013.

These words deeply resonated with me too and remind me of my epic ski down the Front Valley, Perisher a few years ago, which was a huge thing to do given my disability and chronic health status. You can read the full sage here: Turning My Mountain Around https://beyondtheflow.wordpress.com/2013/09/11/turning-my-mountain-around/

“The edge” doesn’t need to be so dramatic either. Just in our ordinary, everyday lives, we confront things we don’t want to do. Would rather avoid or even inspire incredible fear. That could be a spider in the house, driving someone out of your comfort zone. Difficulties with the family of some sort. In so many, many ways, many of us are everyday heroes who fly off that proverbial edge, usually without so much as a selfie to celebrate our triumph, let alone a film crew. I’m with you.

Stepping out and exploring the world on foot...Miss 2008 aged 2.

Stepping out and exploring the world on foot…Miss 2008 aged 2.

Many thanks to our friend Melinda from purpleslobinrecovery, who has nominated us for this Challenge. Melinda blogs about her journey from slob to clean queen, and her ongoing battle with the Clutter Fairies, who we think must be related to the Slapstyx Goblins!

Thank you to Annabelle Franklin from https://annabellefranklinauthor.wordpress.com/ who nominated me for the challenge.

Rules of the Challenge

  • Thank the blogger who nominated you
  • Publish 3 quotes on 3 consecutive days on your blog. It can be your own, or from a book, movie or from anyone who inspires you.
  • Nominate 3 more bloggers to carry on this endeavour

I would like to nominate:

  1. Geoff Le Pard from Tangental: http://geofflepard.com/
  2. Derek J Knight http://derrickjknight.com/
  3. Monika at Tails Around the Ranch https://tailsaroundtheranch.wordpress.com/

I hope you are having a great week. My cough seems to be settling down again (phew!) and Bilbo is looking so much better. Of course, we don’t have everything sorted but definitely an improvement.

xx Rowena

16 thoughts on “Learning to Fly:The 3 Day Quote Challenge.

  1. roweeee Post author

    That’s cool. Are you undertaking the big November novel writing thingy? I know I could go and look up it’s proper title on your blog but that’s what I call it. I used to work with a girl who wrote fan fiction and she did it every year. It’s a bit beyond me at the moment but I am making inroads on the book project at last!
    Hope you’re having a great week xx Ro

  2. roweeee Post author

    Thanks very much, Merril. She’s keeping me pretty busy both in terms of driving her to things but also doing mental gymnastics trying to work out how we’re going to pull it all off!

  3. Norah

    That’s a great quote. Exudes hope and inspiration. Your stories are great too. Sometimes life is as scary as jumping off a cliff.

  4. Pingback: Learning to Fly:The 3 Day Quote Challenge. | oshriradhekrishnabole

  5. derrickjknight

    Many thanks for the nomination, Rowena. I am honoured, but can’t really accept these any more because I have much to do keeping up my daily posts, reading and doing justice to all those I follow, and the comments others make on mine.

  6. roweeee Post author

    Definitely. I don’t think we should minimise those seemingly small challenges we face and tackle every day. They can be just as daunting.

  7. annabellefranklinauthor

    I can relate to this post. Sometimes this self-publishing lark is like jumping off a cliff – especially if, like me, you don’t know what you’re doing half the time! Funnily enough, my quote for Day 3 is along similar lines – purely coincidental, as I planned my three quotes a couple of weeks ago.

  8. roweeee Post author

    I had a message from a friend last night who has been singing for 20 years and competing in the Eisteddfod. She’s now just over 40 and married with two kids and running a floristry business and she just blitzed it and got her best results ever first places..the works. The adjudicator basically asked her why she was doing that with her voice. Sounded like a line from The Voice!
    I know that don’t know what you’re doing business with my kids. I feel very lost at times.
    I am currently reading Steven KIng’s On writing as I’ve mentioned and I’m feeling things starting to click more. I’m working on a memoir or not is usually the case and he’s really prepping me and and overcoming a lot of my objections and concerns and I’m feeling more confident. I write well but it’s putting all this stuff together and knowing how to handle the ups and downs and the reality of my story where I just can’t make things up and yet I know that even writing non-fiction is a form of fiction as well. Does my head in.

Leave a Reply

