Weekend Coffee Share: Halloween Edition

If we were having coffee, or even a cup of tea this weekend, you might want to bring some earplugs and a chill pill. Two kids dosed up on Halloween sweets, can be rather disturbing. A Halloween all of it’s own.

How are things going at your place? I hope you’ve had a great week and I’m looking forward to popping over for a chat.

Yesterday, I went trick-or-treating with the kids and a few of their friends. This is the one day each year where we roam up and down the street meeting the neighbours and it’s pretty fun. Shame we can’t do that more often.

Here’s our post about Halloween in Australia:https://beyondtheflow.wordpress.com/2015/10/31/an-australian-halloween/

Zombie Eyeballs

Zombie Eyeballs

While enjoying the fun side of Halloween, I’ve also been conscious that real life has enough horrors of it’s own and you don’t need to make up ghosts, ghouls and other nasties to know there’s evil in our world. We have had a dreadful murder case involving a young Mum and her daughter unfolding over the last couple of weeks: https://beyondtheflow.wordpress.com/2015/11/01/when-horror-is-real/ This reminded me yet again that:

“The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.”

Edmund Burke

Girl in a suitcase

Girl in a suitcase

So coffee at my place can get a bit philosophical. I might be in my 40s but I still believe in changing the world.

Speaking of which, I has fun doing the 3 Day Quote Challenge this week. My quotes were:

Day 1: The Apache Blessing

“May the sun bring you new energy by day,

may the moon softly restore you by night,

may the rain wash away your worries,

may the breeze blow new strength into your being,

may you walk gently through the world and know

it’s beauty all the days of your life.”

Day 2: Learning to Fly

“Come to the edge,” he said.
They said, “We are afraid.”
Come to the edge,” he said.
They came.
He pushed them…and they flew.”

― Guillaume Apollinaire

Day 3: A.A. Milne- Christopher Robin.

“Promise me you’ll always remember: you’re braver than you believe and stronger than you seem and smarter than you think”.

On a more positive note, I’m pleased to report that our dog Bilbo is recovering from his flea allergy and his skin has pretty much cleared up over the last week. That was such a relief as I was very concerned. It’s going to take awhile for his tail to grow back but he’s otherwise well…but very, very hungry. The vet did warn me that he’d be hungry and if you have ever seen a Bordfer Collie on a mission, you could just imagine how I’ve been stalked all week and he’s been staring at me like a famine victim. I’m lucky he hasn’t eaten me!

Personally, my long-standing cough seems to be on the mend and my ongoing efforts to reduce the prednisone I take to treat my auto-immune disease has taken another step forward. As of Friday, I’m down to 8mg. This is about as low as I’ve been without having a flare so I’m hoping the new support medication will cope with the drop. My doctors are pretty confident and I’m feeling hopeful. Fingers crossed!

Our Family at the Australian War Memorial, Canberra in 2014.

Our Family at the Australian War Memorial, Canberra in 2014.

Tomorrow, our son leaves for his Year 6 Canberra Excursion. This excursion is a rite of passage for our Primary School kids and they get the opportunity to visit Parliament House, the Australian War Memorial and our national Science Museum, Questacon and many more. My husband has expressed concern about how the teachers are going to put up with a whole busload of kids dosed up on Halloween lollies and we’re tried to keep Mister lolly free today. All those colours are not good news!

Parliament House, Canberra...Photo Wikipaedia.

Parliament House, Canberra…Photo Wikipaedia.

Anyway, that about sums up our week. Hope you and yours have had a great week.

Now, how about you go and visit Diana at Part-Time Monster http://parttimemonster.com/ 

You’ll probably also enjoy a guest post by Corina on The Day of the Dead or  Dia de los Muertos http://parttimemonster.com/2015/10/29/corina-on-dia-de-los-muertos/

Here is the linky for the Weekend Coffee Share: http://www.inlinkz.com/new/view.php?id=577537

Love & Blessings,

Rowena

19 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share: Halloween Edition

  1. Melissa @ Ever Growing Farm

    Hi Rowena! I’m happy to share coffee (or tea, as it is this morning) with you, even with kids hopped up on sugar running about 🙂

    I’m sorry to hear about the murder in your area, the world can be a very horrible place and I hope they solve it soon so your community might have a bit of closure at least. Those wounds, though, run deep. Do practice some self-care and personal healing around it all ❤

    I love your three quotes! The Apache Blessing speaks deepest to me today. Thank you for that.

    I hope you have a lovely week and I hope everything goes perfectly for your son's excursion!

  2. Ula

    Glad to hear Bilbo is doing better, as are you. Keeping my fingers crossed things will keep improving for you. Thanks for the coffee and have a wonderful week, Rowena.

  3. New Journey

    As I sit her and lift my cup of coffee to you, the first day of November another start of a new month here, our fall into winter, your spring into summer…I think of you across the world probably laying in your bed all warm and snuggled in…I am getting ready for the day…just had my omelet and am getting ready to head for the gym and then to a friends who has a couple bags of material for me….its raining, well at least some rain has fallen her this morning….and the weather is cool….Halloween over and onto the holidays, Thanksgiving and then Christmas followed by the start of the New Year….I am sitting here drinking coffee thinking about the pumpkin pies I will make and the get together with my family…..I love fall and winter….sun is good but I love cool days with rain gently falling….glad your Border is on the mend…and your daughter did a great job on her face for Halloween….I so enjoy the difference in our cultures and weather….I enjoy out coffee chats….even though mine was all over the place…I am still enjoying having coffee with you my friend…..glad the cough is better and welcome to November…kat

  4. Daisy Smiley Face

    Hope your son has a fun trip. Great makeup on your daughter for Halloween! Glad you’re feeling better. I think wanting to change the world doesn’t have an age limit. Go you! 🙂 Have a great week!

  5. roweeee Post author

    Thanks, Merril. We found him on my computer watching Minecraft videos in the middle of the night. I don’t think he’d been there long because my husband heard Lady’s tail wacking on the floor and he was sprung. I have mentioned a bit recently how we can be our own worst enemy and it’s so true. Geoff got him on to the bus so hopefully the adrenaline gets him through the day. I don’t know whether you have read Steven King’s book: “ON Writing” but he talks about being terribly drunk on a school excursion to New York and missing everything. Mister’s efforts this morning reminded me of that! I am praying we don’t get a phone call! xx Rowena

  6. roweeee Post author

    Thanks very much, Kat. Somehow I managed to make it through yesterday without a pinch and a punch for the first day of the month from the kids.
    I enjoy the cultural differences catching up with you and other bloggers. I read one blog last night where they went and chose their pumpkin straight out of the pumpkin patch for Halloween. I was blown away. We don’t do anything like that. I’ve heard people talking about Thanksgiving. We naturally don’t celebrate that here but it’s a great idea. Some people have been lamenting that Thanksgiving isn’t what it used to be. Do you find that it’s not celebrated as much where you are?
    The Border is looking better but the son is incorrigible. They had to leave at 5.30 AM this morning and my husband found him on my computer at 4.30AM playing Minecraft videoes. We were ropeable. Talk about self-destruction. We have a breather for a few days while he’s away and hope we don’t get a phone call. xx Ro

  7. New Journey

    Boys will be boys…LOL I feel for you….as far as Thnaksgiving, no everyone I know celebrate it…big Turkey dinners, with all the trimmings….my daughter and her husband have it with his brother about 3 hours away….a tradition that they have made, I usually have w big meal on a different weekend so the kids can do something with there spouses family….I always called it a “Shelter Dinner” but its the typical turkey, dressing, mashed potatoes and grave, and the rest of the yummies….but this year I have claimed Christmas dinner…first time in over 25 years….like I said I normally relent to the kids other families but this year is mine…LOL I am having an old fashion German meal….its fun to have a thanksgiving meal we always state what we are thankful for around the table and its just fun to enjoy the time together….I used to grow our pumpkins when the kids were younger….but we have huge corn mazes here and big pumpkin patches so the kids can go cut their pumpkins off the vines….really big here…. when I was younger we used to dress up and scare people when they came to the door for candy…LOL fun by all…..enjoy your break…he will be home before you know it…..xxkat

  8. Corina

    I think the teachers are pretty good dealing with the kids that are not only hyped up on sugar but also on the adrenaline from going on a much anticipated trip. At least the ones here in the U.S. are. While teaching, it was usually our modus operandi to just leave them be as long as they weren’t hurting themselves, hurting others, or being disruptive to others. I hope he has a wonderful time!

  9. roweeee Post author

    I like the sound of an old fashioned German meal for Christmas. What o you have in mind? I’m curious. I am melting today. Or, is that swimming in the humidity? I think it might be the latter. I’m sipping on a fruit smoothie with blueberries, strawberry and banana.and some local honey, yogurt and soy milk. I’m pretty sure these smoothies are helping to get rid of the cough. Take care and have a great day xx Rowena

  10. New Journey

    That sounds very healthy….keep drinking them..I am making rolauden with mustard crumbled bacon sauted with onions and a dill pickle in the middle…in a brown, mushroom sauce, I will also roast a chicken on the BBQ, spatzel, rote Kole, mashed potatoes, carrots, probably some sort of green salad, simple..and probably good ole cheese cake for dessert…yes it should be apple strudel but probably not going to happen…LOL so you have any other ideas…?? I am open to suggestions…hope a cool breeze comes in off the ocean for you…xxkat

  11. roweeee Post author

    Thank you very much for the chat and coffee and stopping by. The Apache Blessing really spoke to my son and he shared it with his class. I thought that was quite incredible for an 11 year old boy. I was very moved. I hope you also have a great week xx Rowena

  12. merrildsmith

    I was too tired to reply to this last night. Was your son up late because he was anxious or just because? Hope it all went smoothly and you don’t get that dreaded phone call!

  13. Nooce Miller

    I’m glad to hear you managed to get your son off on schedule, if I didn’t already say so when I replied to your comment on my site. We had horrible problems with son #2 on the computer all night at that age. Physically taking it away didn’t matter; he managed to stealthily sneak one out of the family room and inside his closet where he sat on the clothes-cluttered floor and stuffed a shirt under the door to block the light from getting out in case we checked his room in the night (pillow under the covers to simulate his body in bed), then he’d put it back downstairs before we woke in the morning. We figured he’d done that for three weeks before we caught on and put a stop to it! Perhaps your own son only woke up early, excited about his trip, and jumped on the computer to kill the waiting time (I always try to believe the best!) Ramping down prednisone can be tricky, it sounds like you’re doing it the right way and it’s working well. My fingers are crossed for luck for you. Thank you so much for the coffee, I look forward to our next visit.

  14. Irene Waters 19 Writer Memoirist

    Flea allergies are a pain so glad to hear Bilbo is getting over his. Halloween was a bit of a fizzer here this year I think in part because the Noosa Triathlon was being run at that is a huge event to beat any Halloween celebrations. I loved your daughter’s eyes. Hope your son enjoys his school excursion. See you next week for coffee.

Leave a Reply

