Nano, Halloween and that writing process

Although I’m not doing the NaNoWriMo Challenge, I’m passing on this excellent advice from my English mate, especially after he barracked for Australia against the Kiwis. He must have a fondness for the underdog.

TanGental

2014-12-13 11.18.35 And this is what happens if you do look back…

If there’s one lesson from Halloween, at least as portrayed in the movies, it’s that whatever bad is happening, it’s happening behind you. There’s even the Biblical take on this concept with Lot’s wife being turned into a pillar of salt. Or in the Panto: ‘He/She/It is behind you’ is the classic refrain.

And if we turn round? If we check? If we turn on that light? If we look behind us? Well we stop everything. The story ends abruptly and the fun is over before it’s time. You kill the mood.

If any of you are about to undertake the NaNoWriMo challenge, or indeed if you are about to kick off writing your first novel (or you second or your third…) take this advice to heart.

DO NOT LOOK BACK

There will be plenty of time for revision later…

View original post 95 more words

7 thoughts on “Nano, Halloween and that writing process

  1. roweeee Post author

    Have you read Geoff’s books? I’ve come to know him quite well through blogging and so I ordered signed hard copies. I’ve already reviewed his second book: “My Father and Other Liars” https://beyondtheflow.wordpress.com/2015/10/16/an-unauthorised-book-tour-my-father-other-liars-geoff-le-pard/
    I am yet to review his first book. I wanted to leave a gap and haven’t got back to it. I often find reviews quite boring so I did something rather different and more on the publicity stunt side of things. It was a lot of fun x Rowena

  2. Irene Waters 19 Writer Memoirist

    Your review was a lot of fun. I bought Geoff’s first book some time back but I am so snowed under with ‘compulsory must read”books that the “want to read books” are left waiting in the wings. I am going to savour it when I do read it. Cheers Irene

  3. roweeee Post author

    I have been looking for a hook to start writing my memoir and think I might finally be on my way. I spent 8 months in Europe in 1992 and six weeks in Paris which included doing a poetry reading at the famous Shakespeare & Company bookshop. I have swags of material so this seems to be a good launch pad. I might well juxtapose that with trips I’ve made across the Nullarbor between Sydney and Perth…a good contrast.
    I really enjoy both of Geoff’s books and will be writing a similar style of review for his first book soon. Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

