Aussie Jingle Bells.

Being a good Australian, I love a good yarn and a bit of theatre and so I thought I’d share this Australian version of Jingle Bells with you: Aussie Jingle Bells. I still recall my kids singing it at pre-school and we’ve also sung it at a family Christmas Day sing-a-long. We only had one of those and I’m sure it must’ve been this carol that killed it off.
I’ve included a u-tube link and the words so you can sing-along from wherever you’re sitting right now but if you’re currently experiencing Winter, please turn the heater up to “roast” so you can fully appreciate an Australian Christmas.

Aussie Jingle Bells

Dashing through the bush,
in a rusty Holden Ute,
Kicking up the dust,
esky in boot,

Kelpie by my side, Singing Christmas songs, It’s Summer time and I am in my singlet, shorts and thongsOh! Jingle bells, jingle bells, jingle all the way,
Christmas in Australia
on a scorching summers day, Hey!
Jingle bells, jingle bells, Christmas time is beaut!,
Oh what fun it is to ride in a rusty Holden Ute.

Engine’s getting hot;
we dodge the kangaroos,
The swaggie climbs aboard,
he is welcome too.
All the family’s there,
sitting by the pool,
Christmas Day the Aussie way,
by the barbecue.

Oh! Jingle bells, jingle bells, jingle all the way,
Christmas in Australia
on a scorching summers day, Hey!
Jingle bells, jingle bells, Christmas time is beaut!,
Oh what fun it is to ride in a rusty Holden Ute.

Come the afternoon,
Grandpa has a doze,
The kids and Uncle Bruce,
are swimming in their clothes .
The time comes ’round to go,
we take the family snap,
Pack the car and all shoot through,
before the washing up.

Oh! Jingle bells, jingle bells, jingle all the way,
Christmas in Australia
on a scorching summers day, Hey!
Jingle bells, jingle bells, Christmas time is beaut!,
Oh what fun it is to ride in a rusty Holden Ute.

 

Lyrics taken from <a href=”http://www.elyrics.net/read/b/bucko-&-champs-lyrics/aussie-jingle-bells-lyrics.html” rel=”nofollow”>this page</a>

Just in case this needs a bit of translating, here’s Santa is what could well be a Holden Ute:

Hope it brought a smile to your face!

xx Rowena

8 thoughts on “Aussie Jingle Bells.

  1. roweeee Post author

    Yes, definitely cringe worthy. I’ve written a guest post for Solweig Werner’s blog about an Aussie Christmas…not a serious piece. The Ettalong kids usually sing Felice Navida (or spelling to that effect). That’s on tomorrow night. I don’t think I’ve ever heard Aussie Jingle Bells sung at Ettalong School. xx Ro

  2. Ralph

    Heh Heh, in our little part of Australia here in Germany my Humans ALWAYS play this loudly at Christmas. Ours is from the Bucko and Champs CD “Aussie Christmas” with a few other dodgy songs thrown in. The German neighbors look very confused!

    R

  3. merrildsmith

    🙂 It’s actually warm here for December It’s supposed to be around 70 degrees F tomorrow! I’m afraid we’ll end up with blizzards in January and February just to balance it out.

  4. Norah

    My grandson came in singing this today, absolutely enjoying himself. He was delighted to find that I had the book, and then asked if I had Six White Boomers. He couldn’t believe that his grandmother had these books (and many more) of songs he had learned at prep. It is good to have something a little suited to our climate, even if it the Australians portrayed are rather stereotyped.

  5. Nooce Miller

    I think the song is great fun, like a good novelty song should be! I had to look up kelpie (since I was only familiar with the Scottish water spirit type) and swaggie (which I really should have known since we sung Waltzing Matilda in elementary school and there’s a swagman in that), but once I got both of those terms sorted the song went along just fine. We had 72 degrees F (22 C) the past three days here in the Midwestern U.S., and I must say I’ve enjoyed the unseasonable warmth. A cold front is coming, though, so it will be back to only dreaming of a hot Australian Christmas for me.

Leave a Reply

