Our Enchanting Little Dancer

I could have danced all night, I could have danced all night
And still have begged for more
I could have spread my wings and done a thousand things
I’ve never done before

I’ll never know what made it so exciting
Why all at once my heart took flight
I only know when he began to dance with me
I could have danced, danced, danced all night

My Fair Lady – I Could Have Danced All Night
Mesmerised, spellbound,enraptured…this afternoon we attended our daughter’s annual dance concert. Every year, I literally get swept off my feet by the incredible dancing, the music and the lighting and how it all comes together in a way that sweeps me away on some kind of magical carpet.
DSC_8500

Miss suffering having her photo taken yet again. I can see her starting a support group for kids with papparazzi mums.

Our daughter has been learning ballet since she was 4 years old. She did a year of tap. Switched to jazz. This year, she also did musical theatre and next year, she’s going to pick up modern. I don’t know enough about dance technique to know how good she is but she certainly looks like a dancer and that’s not simply because her hair’s in a bun. Put a dancer in a hessian sack and you can still spot them in the crowd.
Amelia with ballet shoes

Miss with dancing Shoes

Of course, simply looking like a dancer isn’t enough but surely it must help somewhere along the way?!!
Today, Miss performed with her jazz and ballet classes. While I was very impressed by the jazz routine, I was exceptionally moved by her ballet performance. The girls looked like a flock of graceful white swans, in the most beautiful white tutus.  They were absolutely beautiful and Miss looked incredible. My mother was so moved by her performance that she had tears in her eyes.
As I watched Miss dance, you would never know that she hasn’t been well this year. That she’s been through so much. We are so proud of our Little Aussie Battler!
Well done!
Now, a new battle is set to begin. I’m wanting to photograph Miss in her tutu down at the beach. After fighting with her to take her photo before the concert today, I strongly suspect it’s going to take some serious bribery and even then I probably have a snowflakes chance in hell.
Stay tuned!
xx Rowena

18 thoughts on “Our Enchanting Little Dancer

  1. trentpmcd

    “paparazzi mums” – Good luck with the beach/tutu picture 😉 Silly question, but once you named the song, why was the poem so much easier to read when I could hear the music in my head? Ah, that’s why I’m more of a musician than a poet i guess.

  2. Cara Siskova

    Support group for kids with paparazzi mums… hahahahhaah!!! Miss IS enchanting though, very beautiful. I totally see her as a dancer, model, actress, etc. 🙂 She’s gorgeous! And not only talented but with a strong spirit. You are one lucky mom!

  3. roweeee Post author

    As you’d know yourself, there’s some kind of magic about seeing your child on stage, which goes beyond pride and all of that. There she up there and to be honest, she looked like someone else and I thought of Dame Margot Fontaine, largely through lack of any alternative. But she is that very petite, graceful, dark-haired dancer and even though she’s a novice, she conveyed that magic something which defies words but warms your heart or brings you to tears.

  4. roweeee Post author

    Sadly, I didn’t get to take many photos of her on the day as no photography of any sort was allowed. This is why I’m needing to get her dressed up again and I know that tutu would look fabulous at the beach. I’d actually love to photograph a group of them down there. My friend has 4 daughters so I might be able to get them involved. It would make for such beautiful shots. Mind you, the sun is so hot today, they’d all fry to a crisp. My son is in bed nursing sunburn from Scout camp and there’s bushfire smoke outside. Fortunately, we don’t have to go anywhere today and I was about to say “chill out” but I think we’ll be doing more of a melt.

  5. roweeee Post author

    Thanks very much, Cara. I was certainly counting my blessings last night. I have some disability issues myself and am a member of Muscular Dystrophy Association. I am personally grateful to be able to walk and have friends with kids with such challenges. It is so important to be humble and count your blessings, while also celebrating the good…a fine line there! xx Rowena

  6. roweeee Post author

    You raise an interesting point here. I’ve been to quite a few performances in the last month and I now realise that the ones which move me the most, cause me to see pictures in my head. I guess you could call them “visions”. So, I think I must be more visual. I find that when I put the visual with music, my creativity just soars, sometimes a bit too far I must admit. My daughter’s dance concerts what with the dancing, fancy costumes and the music are the highlight for me every year. I come home so energized…electric. Just fantastic. I should also mention that I feel that way due to eeach and every child’s performance. They have the little 3-4 year olds go on and they’re cute, funny and irresistible and then they have older dancers on the cusp of professional careers and we have the opportunity to see them up close in a way I never would at a bigger venue like the Opera House on my budget and I feel so blessed…indulged. The funny thing is that before my daughter started learning dancing, I had very little to do with this world at all. I did ballet as a child and supposedly wasn’t too bad but as a teenager and what with my underlying undiagnosed hydrocephalus, I avoided any kind of dancing like the plague. I was awkward, clumsy etc. I now feel like I was robbed in some way because dancing , singing, painting, writing are for everyone whether you are good at it or not. It’s all abut connecting with your soul and expressing emotion, thought, angst and setting yourself free from constraint. Letting the bird out of it’s cage to fly towards the sun. No one has the right to stop someone from experiencing that freedom or form of self-expression or stopping the incredible flame which lights when creatives comes together and that creative spark turns into a brilliant flame.
    As my kids get older, I’m starting to see kids give up dancing. Not necessarily because they don’t love it but for some it’s because they’re not good enough and for others, it’s purely a matter of time, too many competing interests and the further you go up the grades, the more dedicated you need to become just to keep up. Same with all these activities. There needs to be some sort of path for a more middle of the road approach where you don’t need to quit or keep progressing up the grades…a holding pattern of sorts. Any thoughts? xx Ro

  7. trentpmcd

    I agree that the arts are important for everyone. And I think everyone should at least dabble in a couple of totally unrelated arts: dance and painting, or music and sculpture or whatever. the more different types of emotional release the better. Or, as you said, connecting with the soul. It is so important yet the powers that be only see marketable skills as important. I don’t known if Australia is as bad as the US on that, but if you can’t make money with it, your not good enough to go pro, or whatever, it is discouraged. Except for a few sports, the more violent the more supported. There does need to be a way to find a balance. Perhaps 30 minutes a day of something, or 15 if that’s all they have. But for dance there is driving to and from the lessons, the time before to stretch and warm up, etc. So an hour a week. But then, that hour is impossible. OK, if I invent a machine that can give you more hours in a day I’ll let you test it. 🙂

  8. Pingback: Weekend Coffee Share: Christmas Edition | beyondtheflow

  9. Midwestern Plant Girl

    Food always brings folks together. . Maybe offer a picnic at the beach with tutus? 😉
    It is unseasonably warm here, I won’t complain, I’ve not gotten my winter coat out yet, just my light jacket. It should be high of 20F, but it’s about 40F.

  10. New Journey

    how true that is….but there must be something you can dangle in front of her….LOL I have one of those kids myself…my son…a force to be reckoned with…LOL

Leave a Reply

