Merry Christmas & A Happy New Year!

We would like to wish you and yours a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year. To those of you who celebrate the birth of Jesus, also wish you a Blessed Christmas and for those with Jewish beliefs, we wish a Happy Hannukah. Happy Holidays isn’t part of our Australian vernacular.

I have always loved seeing how Christmas is celebrated in different cultures not just in terms of food but also sun versus snow.

Vintage Ettalong Santa Truck 2008 Pearl Beach

An Australian Christmas, Santa on a fire track, Pearl Beach, New South Wales.

So, I’d like to share a guest post I wrote over at Solveig Werner’s Blog: A Stinking Hot Australian Christmas http://solveigwerner.com/2015/12/17/advent-calendar-day-17-a-stinking-hot-australian-christmas-by-rowena-newton/#comment-2801

After all my ranting and raving about celebrating a scorchingly hot 40°C Christmas, the weather has shown up my bluff and we’re looking at 26 °C with possible rain. Humph? Rain???? Who on Earth has been praying for rain right before Christmas? No! It’s supposed to be blue skies, sunshine…a perfect Christmas Day!

Bilbo & Lady

Merry Christmas from Bilbo & Lady

Anyway, wishing you all a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Love,

Rowena, Geoff, Mister, Miss, Bilbo & Lady!

29 thoughts on “Merry Christmas & A Happy New Year!

  1. merrildsmith

    It’s raining here–and warm with chance of thunderstorms! Crazy weather for us–it feels like late spring. Wishing you and your family a very Merry Christmas!

  2. merrildsmith

    Frank and Rowena–many of the towns around here have Santa riding through on a fire truck. Our town did it last Saturday night–Christmas music blaring, lights, sirens, and fire fighters giving candy canes to any children (or adults) who come out of their houses to see him!

  3. roweeee Post author

    Thanks, Kat. Had a great day full of conversation, food and presents. I hope you had a great day too! The kids will be staying with my parents for a few days and I won’t know myself. I can’t decide whether to sleep, read, paint my son’s room or what. I also want to get back to writing my book. I also want to get some paid work again once the kids get settled at school. This is starting to head into New Year’s resolution territory. Heaven help me there! xx Ro

  4. New Journey

    I would start with a good Christmas nap!!! LOL our big day s happening today…dinner at 4p with my kids….hadn’t even thought about resolutions….xxkat

  5. roweeee Post author

    Hope you are having a great day today. It’s very humid here and I’m stuck to the leather lounge. We’ve watched the start of the Sydney to Hobart Yacht Race on TV and that was quite exciting. It’s a huge deal to be the first boat out of the Sydney Harbour Heads. Loyal pulled that off only to have major trouble with sails not long after and had the smile promptly wiped off her face.
    We had roughly an hour’s drive to Sydney in traffic yesterday and so I had plenty of time to think about the new year. Looking at doing some freelance writing and photography on the job front. With both kids starting at new schools, I’ll have to be uber-organised so I’ve been tossing and organising paperwork. Have made some great headway but have a long way to go. Perhaps, I should have a bit of Christmas cheer! Look forward to hearing how your Christmas went Love and blessings, Rowena

  6. New Journey

    Christmas has been wonderful….dinner was yummy, Rouladen turned out really well, I called Germany this morning and got a bit more advice on: Rouladen in the over or stove top…so that helped…LOL stove top won….it was wonderful to have the kids all together, my cousin made the strudel…it was yummy….I am still up getting the dishes done….I have the tree down and all the decorations put away already and the pile for good will all stacked up by the back door….LOL as much as I love the holidays and enjoying the magic….its all about getting it together to leave for Yuma…LOL It cold here in the high 20’s at night and low 50’s during the day….so the yard is totally covered for the winter…lost some plants from the Thanksgiving freeze….sounds like your getting it all lined up for the new school year…when do they start the new school schedule?? Hope the heat has let up some..happy holiday season my friend… mine was truly one of my favorite ….HO HO HO xx kat

  7. roweeee Post author

    Sounds like you had a fabulous day and I can’t believe your organisation but can understand it if you’re about to hit the road. i am feeling motivated to sell some of the items of furniture, which I keep putting off.
    Victoria has been hit yet again by horrific bushfires. It’s a long way away from us but you still feel their pain. Something like 116 houses lost. It is quite exceptional for them to lose a few homes so these loses do indicate that it’s a nasty blaze. We get bush fires around here and you just know when there’s the heat and gusts of wind, there’ll be smoke somewhere on the horizon.

  8. New Journey

    I hate the wildfire seasons….my heart aches for those who are in the path of the blaze….very sad indeed….My furniture I am donating is not worthy of selling…LOL I am hoping that someone can get some good use out of them…well week before the New Year, last week for me to get what I need done….enjoy the rest of the holidays…..xxkat

  9. Tails Around the Ranch

    WordPress absolutely needs a LOVE button, especially with photos like these. 🙂
    If it’s any consolation, most of Colorado received snow ON Christmas day, something I don’t ever recall (we get it before or after but never ON the day). Praying the heat lessens down under. 🙂

  10. roweeee Post author

    Thanks very much, Monika. I particularly loved the photo of my daughter with Lady. Speaking of Lady, she’s been missing my daughter as the kids are at my parents’ place. I think the dogs think we’re lousy parents. What did we do with the kids? Why aren’t we looking for them? That’s great you had snow on Christmas Day. A few bloggers will be thinking you got their snow as some places which usually get snow have had a green Christmas and I’ve even heard there was a heat wave over in the US. It was cooler here on Christmas Day and it’s actually a little cool here today. It’s a blessed relief! Wishing you a wonderful New Year xx Rowena

  11. roweeee Post author

    Thanks very much. I need to find some money somewhere after Christmas. Know of any money trees? If you have kids, all you have is money pits! That said, I want them to reach their potential and be happy! xx Rowena

  12. New Journey

    I wish I had a money tree, then all I would have to worry about it how to make it produce faster….LOL My son had an epiphany not to long ago and shared it at lunch the other day….I am not sure why it has taken so long for him to notice this…LOL when he was young, and it was just us…we did take out a lot…we both had our favorites at a few restaurants and it beat cooking, well he asked me how I could afford to have done that when I was single and it was just us…he wanted to get his ole favorite from the pizza shack, tortellini pesto with chicken breast…he was appalled at how much it was….he was so humbled he thanked me for all I did for him when he was young…so if you spend enough on them, and then wait long enough they come around wide eyed and surprised at how much life really cost for the little pleasures…LOL I was working 2 full time jobs….your right raising kids is not cheap….LOL kat

  13. roweeee Post author

    Wow Kat! Well done for working so hard to bring up your son and to look out for him. Must have been difficult! My kids are starting to get a better idea about the value of money but I also need to be firmer and think about how all those bits and pieces add up.
    Great to hear your son finally saw the light. That’s priceless! xx Rowena

  14. New Journey

    I have learnt if you teach them all the tools to be a good person and how to take the best care of yourself that it pays off….I have wonderful kids and they are both caring and giving…..that’s all I can ask for…I am pretty sure you have a couple of good kids there…and they will both grow up into wonderful adults too….xxkat

  15. roweeee Post author

    That’s very encouraging advice, Kat. Well done with your kids. What a relief to have them grow up so well.
    My son is about to leave on for the Scout Jamboree. He’s away for 12 days of pure fun! Scouts is also very good at reinforcing those values. I’ve been told that they grow up a lot at Jamboree. I’ll be interested to see how it all goes.
    They arrived home this afternoon and I’ve madly been trying to pack away my attempts at sorting things out. The rubble in the spare room is better. It IS better! xx Ro

Leave a Reply

