Goodbye 2015 Weekend Coffee Share

Welcome to the Goodbye 2015 Edition of the Weekend Coffee Share.

We hope you and yours had a Merry Christmas. You can read about our Christmas here as well as about the Sydney to Hobart Yacht Race which set sail on Boxing Day: https://beyondtheflow.wordpress.com/2015/12/26/an-aussie-boxing-day/

I’ll also mention that during the last week Beyond the Flow hit 30,000 views and kept going. I am pretty stoked with this as I’ve reached about 20,000 view this year and the blog is really starting to make steady progress.

All up, 2015 has been a pretty good year for our family. Of course, there were the usual ups and downs but we’re all good.

However, unfortunately the same can’t be said about the wider world. While there is so much beauty in our natural world, the human element is questionable at best.

What are we doing to each other?

Even though we might not like the answers to this eternal question, we need to keep asking, we need to keep striving for peace on Earth and equality and freedom for all peoples as well as respect for all living creatures and the Earth itself.

Earth from space

Our planet needs compassion + action.

Although we’ll no doubt never create heaven on Earth, we still need to keeping trying to make things better. We need to keep searching, keep asking and keep trying to make some kind of difference…not matter how small. Both good and evil build up like Lego bricks and it’s up to us which tower rises and falls.

So, as we head towards another year, I am reminded of these inspirational words:

Let there be peace on earth
And let it begin with me.
Let there be peace on earth
The peace that was meant to be.
With God as our Father
Brothers all are we.
Let me walk with my brother
In perfect harmony.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0_DxNpW1kHQ

While I used to have quite a local focus when it came to social justice, since I’ve been blogging, my backyard has extended, becoming more global. Just because something is happening overseas, I can no longer just switch off and ignore what’s happening. Be unaccountable. Once you become informed, either you respond or you are also guilty of neglect turning your back. Not being the Good Samaritan who stopped and helped and made a difference.

 

Hercules

Hercules holding the world for Atlas.

That said, we can’t be like Atlas carrying the world on our shoulders. We can’t save everyone.

Creation of Adam

Michelangelo: The Creation of Adam c 1512.

So, we are left with that gap. A gap that shouldn’t stop us from trying but which reminds us that as individuals, we can not do it all.

In February 2015, I heard about a global blogging network called 1000 Voices for Compassion and while we are still only a small group, we have stuck together and I do believe that through our monthly posts, that we have made some kind of difference in 2015. You can read more about the group here: http://www.1000voicesspeak.org/

Through this group, I have really been able to spread my wings and be part of something truly inspirational.

So, as we head into the New Year, I pray that our world will be a safe place full of opportunity for all. That we humans can overcome so many of the differences which divide us and come to appreciate our commonalities more.

Lastly, if we were having coffee I’d wish you a Happy New Year and ask whether you’ve set any New Year’s resolutions? I am still working on mine and I am taking the whole process quite seriously and I’ll get back to you next week on what I’ve put together.

In the meantime, I’m going to tackle the pile of photo frames stacked up around the house and finally get them up. We’ve only been in the house 15 years! On that note, I’m heading off real quick before I really start to freak out at a rather lengthy “Should Have Done List”.

This has been part of the Weekend Coffee Share hosted by Part Time Monster and please check us out at the linky http://www.inlinkz.com/new/view.php?id=593302

Love and best wishes,

Rowena

PS Update on the Sydney to Hobart Yacht Race: Wild Oats XI retired with broken mainsail last night. In the greatest resurrection since Lazarus, Comanche just resumed the lead after announcing last night that it had retired with a broken rudder. The two leaders are halfway across Bass Strait.

 

 

 

 

 

32 thoughts on “Goodbye 2015 Weekend Coffee Share

  1. Irene Waters 19 Writer Memoirist

    I share your desire for world peace Rowena and Vince Gill’s words say it so well “let it begin with me.” Lets hope that 2016 sees many of the conflicts resolved. I also hope that 2016 sees your children enjoying their new schools and that all your healths remain good. Happy New Year.

  2. Solveig

    Rowena, it’s been great having your comments popping up on my blog all day 🙂
    I am glad to hear that your year has been a good one. Let’s hope that for all of us 2016 will be just as good or even better. I want to be more serious with 1000speak posts in 2016, it took me a long time to really join in, as I was not always confident in my words. I do hope that the movement will grow and will make things more positive for everyone.
    As for new year’s resolutions? I am thinking of them. I agreed to do a guest post sharing 2-3 of them, but I just cannot decide which ones to share…
    Many hugs, Solveig

  3. Diana

    I’m glad to hear that you’re having such a pleasant end to the year. I think too about how we’re having a good one but there are so many who are not. And although my own little family has had its ups-and-downs this year, it’s nothing compared to what others have had to endure.

    I’m glad you’ve joined the coffee share this year—hope you have a happy new year’s!

  4. Corina

    Sometimes, the situation in the world makes one want to just stay in bed with the covers over their head but I suppose, as enticing as that may be, that won’t lead to any solutions or any betterment in the world. We each must do our part, as tiny as it may seem, to make the world a better place, and not just our world, but the whole world!

    Wishing you a wonderful rest of 2015 and a superb 2016.

  5. Nooce Miller

    Wonderful blog post — these words of yours are especially beautiful: that our world will be a safe place full of opportunity for all. That we humans can overcome so many of the differences which divide us and come to appreciate our commonalities.

  6. New Journey

    Today I am drinking dandelion detox tea and pumpkin spice mixed together…yum….hard to believe that 2015 will be over before weeks end…I will be another year older as the new year rings in….59…..the last year for the 50’s in my playbook…I promised myself yeas ago, age 51, I would be healthy before I hit 60….so I am down to 12 months…+ a few days…resolutions rolling around my head…I suppose we would talk about them….the weather is crazy I am positive we would talk about how cold it is on the west coast compared to the east coast.. We would talk about what exceptional children you are raising and how lucky they are to have parents that care enough about there well being and future dreams to put them first….Uh Oh my cup is empty..lets switch over to a glass of fruity red wine….possible warmed with mulled spices…its cold here, I think you would ask for ice and lemon wedges in yours…LOL We would talk about my heavy heart as I move to Yuma for a trial basis for my husbands health….first time I have lived apart from my kids….at least I am close enough I can zip home…its about 700 miles…….I would tell you how happy I am that I found you on WordPress and how much I enjoy the friendship we have built…and how impressive you are…you are an amazing woman, wife, mother and writer….thanks for keepin lil ole me around….I raise my wine glass to you, Cheers!!

  7. Norah

    This year has brought the conclusion of many aspects of your life and the new year is opening up many others. Congratulations on what has been achieved. Forget the regrets. They don’t mean anything. I wish you joy and success in all your endeavours in the new year.

  8. roweeee Post author

    Your tea sounds incredibly healthy. I should probably be detoxing myself instead of retoxing in the form of chocolate and cheese. We’re even going to splurge on a pizza for dinner, which I had thought about eating at the beach but oddly it’s too cold.
    Wine sounds great and I’ll take the Gluwein today…thanks!
    Moving to Yuma is going to be a big change for you and your family. Geoff said your roads are better there but it’s still quite a drive to get back, even by Australian standards. Fortunately, communications are a lot better and cheaper than they used to be but that doesn’t make up for the every day.
    Hope the move helps your husband’s breathing.
    I Googled Yuma and population wise, it’s not too bad…65,000. You can be thankful you’re not moving to one of the towns in the Australian Nullabor Desert. Cook has a population of 4: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cook,_South_Australia
    I have been through there on the train and they had a stop there. You certainly wouldn’t want to get left behind!
    Anyway, thanks for your friendship and encouragement and for reading my blog. xx Rowena

  9. New Journey

    Good Morning…..Yuma is a nice little town….in the winter the Snow Birds all flock there from there cold homes, we have people come from all over the USA and lots from Canada so the population goes up to about 180,000 , gets a little frenzy for sure…but it just means you take more breaths and try to be a little more patient…have a great week….kat

  10. roweeee Post author

    Thank you very much, Nooce. I watched a documentary about racial issues in Chicago and I was quite shocked. I didn’t realise things were so bad and even though I am a world away in Australia, I still feel the need to respond. Do something. That said, I there’s that adage: “Think global, act local”. xx Rowena

  11. roweeee Post author

    Thank you very much, Corina. I relate to wanting hide away and yet I find myself drawn out and onto my blog trying to make some kind of difference or impact.
    Wishing you a great rest of 2015 and a wonderful year ahead in 2016. I only have a couple of days to get ready to welcome in the New Year and of course, my new self which is just waiting round the corner to trade places with my old self xx Rowena

  12. roweeee Post author

    Thanks, Diana. I’ve really enjoyed the weekend coffee share and catching up with the same people each week and have made some friends, which is great and it’s also an opportunity to encourage each other as well.
    I hope you and the family have a wonderful year ahead in 2016.
    xx Rowena

  13. roweeee Post author

    Thanks very much, Merril. Ditto to you as well. I am currently trying to sort out the home front to give 2016 a bit of a kick start. Be more organised. Humph…

  14. roweeee Post author

    I decided that I wanted to read all your Advent Calendar posts and just sit down and make sure I finished. I really loved them and will share them with the kids when they come home from my parents’ place tomorrow. They’re quite enchanting.
    It’s so good you’ve become involved with 1000Speak and please don’t feel intimidated and speak out. I am amazed at how I’ve stepped out there tackling some pretty serious topics but the words just come to me…along with doing my research. If somebody had told me that I’d be writing publicly about terrorist attacks, I would’ve been stunned but I’ve just found myself in this space and it feels right. Hugs, Ro

  15. roweeee Post author

    Thank you very much, Irene. I haven’t heard that sung for quite awhile but we had it at our wedding, which was 3 days before 9/11. I chose it thinking about married life but it ended up feeling quite prophetic. Happy New Year to you and yours too! xx Rowena

  16. Diana

    Thank you so much! I’ve been so pleased by the way this little community has grown. It’s almost a year old at this point, and it’s been a lot of fun.

  17. roweeee Post author

    It’s going so well, Diana and it was such an inspired idea. I’ve made real friendships through it and provides people with an opportunity to get to know each other over time and be there for each other. I used to work in online marketing and we talked about making sites “sticky”. People needed a reason to keep coming back. They also need a centre hub. I actually find it quite hard to keep up with even the bloggers I consider friends and visit regularly unless they keep visiting me or are among my top commenters. I never see some of them in my reader and its otherwise hit and miss unless they email me. My email got so clogged up it became unusable. So, being able to go to a Linky every week and “follow the yellow brick road” makes it so easy and I really appreciate your effort and the foresight to do it! Happy New Year. Love & Best wishes, Rowena

  18. Irene Waters 19 Writer Memoirist

    My heritage is Celtic (Irish on one side and Scot on the other) but I like to think there is a bit of Spanish in there. I have the skin that is attributed to the rape of the Celts by the Spaniards (but that might be all family story and my dreamings).

  19. roweeee Post author

    I supposedly have a touch of black Irish as well. My grandmother told me the same story but I’d like to check out my DNA. There are some DNA family projects which look really interesting and I’d also like to trace back my female line and see where that ends up. It looking like Germany or Poland.

  20. Irene Waters 19 Writer Memoirist

    My brother has had the DNA testing and writes a good article on the various possibilities http://mountainsrivers.com/2014/02/13/mitochrondral-eve-the-deep-maternal-ancestor-of-us-all/
    His tests showed up that he and I presume I belonged to the Subgroup U5a1a1 which puts us in Western U.K and Scandinavia. He explains the sub-groups here http://mountainsrivers.com/2014/02/16/deep-maternal-ancestors-out-of-africa-into-ice-age-europe/
    It is fascinating. He is hooked on family history and tracing things back. I’m equally interested but my focus is different as I like researching the personal. Interesting that your Grandmother told the same story.

  21. Janice Wald

    Hi Roweee,
    I know Matt and Solveig,
    I have read other bloggers Weekend Coffee Shares wondering what they would discuss. Will there be one for 2016?
    Thank you for visiting my site this weekend. I am glad you liked my post about how bloggers navigate life.
    Janice

  22. roweeee Post author

    Hi Janice,
    The weekend coffee share is in full swing and going ahead again in 2016. It is hosted by Diana at Part-Time Monster and here’s a link to the details: http://parttimemonster.com/weekly-features-and-series/
    People tend to write what’s going on in their week and might refer to some of their posts. It’s like we’re all sitting in a cafe sharing what we’ve been up to. Hope that helps.
    Best wishes,
    Rowena

  23. Diana

    Yeah, it’s really become a community this year, and that’s something quite nice about it. We’re coming up on the 1-year anniversary. 🙂

Leave a Reply

