Scrooge’s New Year!

“I will honour Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year. I will live in the Past, the Present, and the Future. The Spirits of all Three shall strive within me. I will not shut out the lessons that they teach!

–Charles Dickens, A Christmas Carol

No point adding any commentary to the mighty words of Dickens.They stand alone.

dickensSC918_pref

As we move into a new year, which doesn’t really have such a  clean slate after all, I pray for peace in our time for 2016 and that love may fill our world and every and every breath.

Despite all evidence to the contrary, I remain a believer.

How about you?

Thanks to Merrill Smith from Yesterday and today: Merril’s historical musings for putting me onto this brilliant quote!

dickens

Wishing you an “Almost Happy New Year” with two days to go. Our peace and quiet will be turned up several decibels this afternoon when the kids arrive back from their grandparents’. Then, the sounds of kids, dogs and “Ollie” the robot will replace the sounds of silence.

We love our rich and busy lives but a little pause every now and then is also appreciated!

xx Rowena

8 thoughts on “Scrooge’s New Year!

  1. merrildsmith

    I was going to comment that we used the same Dickens’ quotation in our posts this week. 🙂 Thanks for the mention.
    I echo your wishes for peace.
    I’m glad you got a break, but I’m sure you’re happy to see your kids again. Enjoy the hustle and bustle of family life. Wishing you also an “Almost Happy New Year!”

  2. roweeee Post author

    I’d better find some champagne, my friend. The rate I’m going, I might not even have any Lindt chocolate left. We still need to get the lad packed for scout camp. I am hopeless at packing and this is very detailed and methodical…not my forte. Dad will be helping with that although they are to pack themselves. Independence etc.
    I was very proud of my kids today when a friend of Geoff’s visited with his two foster sons who have special needs. The kids all played together well and got on. I made pancakes for lunch and we actually managed to pass muster. It was a good feeling. As much as I encourage other people, I do find it hard to accept imperfection in myself and that having heart is more important than a clean house. I love your comment that a messy house is a sign of an active life. That said, I’m still trying to get more organised. I’m sending a boot load of kids stuff round to my cousin’s place. They have three grandchildren and 3 on the way. It helps me part with some of our more special things.
    Champagne seems like a good idea xx Rowena

  3. New Journey

    Sounded like a lovely day…..and I loved it when I played the toys forward….I just recently shared all my son’s Star Wars toys I bought for me in his name…LOL he didn’t want them and I had my joy, they were just in a big chest…so I played them forward and gave them to a friend who has a daughter who loves Star Wars so that made me happy…let the boys do the packing…its good for them…after all your just a girl!!! lol And yes no one remembers what your house looked like, they remember the feeling of your home…not how many dishes were in the sink…LOL Have a wonderful New Years…your going to beat me at it….but I will be happy to bring up the rears….LOL XX kat

Leave a Reply

