A Magical New Year!

Being the New Year, I’ll need to reintroduce myself now that I’ve lost weight, finally become chocolate and sugar-free and have been exercising with such focused determination that I can now do the four minute mile straight up a vertical hill.

Of course, I’m doing all this while juggling husband, kids, dogs, home renovations and simply pressing the almighty “Write” button on my laptop and hey presto, the long awaited Book Project is not only finished, it’s been published. I’m now touring the globe on my book tour.

Darlings, this isn’t just your average ordinary book tour. Not free appearances at suburban libraries where you’ve got to be thankful that they’ve stocked your book so your audience can borrow it for free.

No, we’re talking Prime Time TV, the glossies,  newspapers and of course, there’s a movie in the pipeline.

All this magically happened when the clock struck midnight and a little bird poked it’s head out through the door and said: “cuckoo!”

Reality check!

Rather…

cinderella 2

Cinderella woke up with a nasty bang on the head. Still had all her age-old bad habits intact. No weight loss. No new found fitness. Indeed, the evidence was telling. There was even a half-eaten box of chocolates by her side, which she promptly scoffed with a burp.

AND…there definitely was no a magic wand!

Just her self.

Billy Field – Bad Habits

When I get the urge
I just got to splurge
I’m a slave to all my desires
Well I’m in a mess
Because I can’t repress all of these
Bad habits

 

These bad habits are the downside of persistence!

After all, Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.”

So, in 2016 I’m committed to change.

Yet, while identifying where you are and where you’d like to be is a good start, more importantly you need to work out HOW you’re going to get from A to B. What is it going to take? I’m talking about the nitty gritty.

No more thinking, writing, talking, philosophising about it.

Just do it!

Problem – Solution.

So, “running on time” starts looking something like:

  1. Buy a new watch.
  2. Use an alarm.
  3. Use a diary/calendar.
  4. Make lunch the night before

Unfortunately, if your bad habits are anything like mine, you’ll have quite a lot of work to do. Feeling overwhelmed, it’s all too easy to give up before you even get started.

So, instead of trying to build Rome in a day, choose one thing and get moving. Even if you only move a a few degrees away from where you started, things have changed. You’re heading in a different direction.

Our New Year’s project involves renovating our son’s bedroom. He’s about to start high school, which is a time where you particularly want them to feel comfortable to home and for their room to become some kind of oasis. He’ll be studying out in the office or kitchen most likely but he’ll still need to make space for his books etc. We also want to his room to be his happy place where he can unwind and process stuff.

DSC_9124.JPG

Our Boy Scout Leaving home in FULL uniform at 4.30 this morning.

This morning, he left for the Scout Jamboree and will be gone for 12 days. We ran the colour scheme by him beforehand and have cleared his room out, sugar-soaped the walls and plastered a few nasty spots and will be undercoating tomorrow. He’ll have light blue walls, white trim and door a couple of red shelves. It will be a vast improvement.

I am hoping that being better organised and having a space which he’ll love and take pride in, will be good for his self-esteem. Help him feel loved. We are certainly working hard enough. It’s a lot of hard work and we don’t have a TV crew helping us out. Of course, we could ask for some help but you can’t fit a lot of people in the room either. We’d easily end up painting each other and tripping over the dogs all at once.

Meanwhile, the dogs are looking rather put out. We’ve moved most of Mister’s things into the lounge room and their space has shrunk dramatically. I think Bilbo is seriously thinking of taking over Mister’s room. Thinks it’s a wonderful kennel with its garden views…a great vantage point for keeping an eye out for the postman, garbage truck, anyone on a bike and anyone who dares walk their dog past our house. As you could appreciate, he has a long list of things which he considers “intruders”.

I am still putting together my goals and strategies for 2016. With both kids starting at different new schools, once they get settled, I’ll have a better idea of where I’m placed. It’s an important year for them and I’m more than happy to work around them. That said, they’re expected to work. They have been having quite an easy run but you’ve got to start growing up, taking responsibility and being part of the team some time.

Although getting the kids more organised isn’t directly working on my own goals, it will make a phenomenal difference if I’m not chasing their missing tails!

Shock horror! I might even manage to get from A to B.

Oh what a feeling!

How is the New Year going in your household?

Well, I hope. It doesn’t all have to be about making plans either. Lounging beside the pool drinking cocktails should never be scoffed at!

Love & Best Wishes!

xx Rowena

PS: If you’d like to see the Sydney Fireworks, click here:

Sydney Fireworks: A Prelude to Midnight: How we spent NYE:

https://beyondtheflow.wordpress.com/2015/12/31/sydney-fireworks-a-prelude-to-midnight/

Sydney’s Magnificent Midnight Fireworks:

https://beyondtheflow.wordpress.com/2016/01/01/happy-new-year-sydney/

 

 

 

 

 

 

We’re also generally trying to downsize a bit and create some space for future growth. Otherwise, we’re all just going to end up stunted. It’s like trying to grow and expand inside a sardine tin. It’s just not going to happen.

 

 

14 thoughts on “A Magical New Year!

  1. Midwestern Plant Girl

    I wish you the best with your overwhelming plans 😉 I think when you have that many ‘normal daily’ things (like the kiddies in new schools) change, it is a bit easier to get with it, as you just must do it! Must! It’s the ‘soft’ things like ‘I’ll eat better’… what does that mean? You won’t eat with your elbows on the table? Ha ha!
    I normally don’t do resolutions (until after my 1/7 bday… shhh, if no one wishes me happy birthday, it didn’t happen. .) I did however make a 2 year plan to be able to climb a tree. That is a loose statement, however it will require a bit of weight loss, strength building and a hella lot of brain reconditioning, as I’m not a height fan.

  2. roweeee Post author

    Happy pre-Birthday in case I forget. I had to look at the date twice because you use the American date format. I was thinking it was in July for a minute.
    We know a fabulous climbing tree in Byron Bay. It;s some kind of native fig tree and it’s fallen on it’s side and kept growing so it’s just perfect. It’s a very special place for our family and it feels rather magical.

  3. Solveig

    I know I keep saying this: happy new year!!!!
    I loved this post. I thought at first that everything was true but recalled you telling me about eating a lot of chocolate and when you went on about the book I though, wait she’s not been telling us everything! What a quick progress! Ah may 2016 be q great year for you! And who knows maybe your book will be a great bestseller!

  4. vanbytheriver

    Baby steps, Rowena. If you set your goals too high in the beginning…it is so discouraging, and hard to accept when they start to fail. Best of luck to you and Happy New Year. ☺

  5. roweeee Post author

    Thank you so much for that, Van. I am seriously going to take that advice to heart and I’ll even stick that on a post it note. There’s also “slow and steady wins the race!” xx Rowena

  6. roweeee Post author

    Solveig, I am sitting on a very good and true story but I’ve got very caught up in all it’s tentacles and I’ve needed to find some kind of thread or pathways through it all. I’d got there and then the hailstorm hit, the hard drive crashed and then there was the end of school year and Christmas. My daughter took herself off to my parents’ place with my husband this morning. She’ll be gone for a week and my son’s at camp so in addition to working on his room, I’m going to get stuck into some writing on the book.
    By the way, I can’t ever see myself giving up chocolate or even trying!
    xx Ro

  7. Pingback: A New Year’s Coffee Share | beyondtheflow

  8. Suddenly Jamie (@suddenlyjamie)

    Best of luck with your New Year’s resolutions and plans. I love your practical approach, and I agree with @vanbytheriver (great handle, btw!) that there’s something to be said for biting off only as much as you can chew. I’ve been body slammed and then mocked by resolutions of past New Years, and I think I’ve finally started to learn that sometimes it’s better to just take things one moment at a time. I may have the intention to “write more,” but whether I do or not comes down to the split decision when, for instance, I have to choose between sitting my arse in the chair or plopping down on the couch with a glass-o-wine and a BBC Sherlock marathon. Sometimes, I feel more confident if I just think about the moments and not the Big Picture too much. 😉
    Either way – a very Happy New Year to you and your whole family!

  9. Kally

    Life Is A Journey,
    But My Best Wishes Are The Milestones
    That Will Give You Hope
    And Motivation To Move On.
    Am Wishing You A Joyous New Year!
    With warmth, love and blessings from MiddleMe to you and your readers.

  10. roweeee Post author

    Thanks, Jamie. I agree with what you say about sometimes looking at the smaller pieces rather than the whole, or it’s just too intimidating.
    Take care xx Rowena

Leave a Reply

