Lazarus Returns: Back to School.

We did it!

  1. Hair cuts.
  2. Uniforms ironed and labelled.
  3. New shoes.
  4. Lunches made.
  5. On time!!!

What an absolute miracle!

DSC_9529

How the Day Went…

6.30 AM Alarm.

6.45 AM Out of Bed.

7.45 AM Deposit No. 1 son at High School and take photos.

8.00 AM Start Driving Miss to School.

8.45 AM Arrive at my daughter’s school.

9.30 -11.30 AM Print Photos…just the tip of an enormous ice berg!

12.00 Noon – Had lunch at Gloria Jeans. Writing beat reading. Wrote in journal.

2.00 PM Headed back to school. Traffic not the best.

2.15 PM explore shops next to the school and buy an Apple Crumble Cake for afternoon tea.

3.00 PM School Pick Up.

We successfully made it through their first day of school for 2016.

 

However, it still remains to be seen whether we can keep it up. At the same time, I see myself as a new creation.

New School Year = Clean Slate.

For better or worse, my watch is back on my wrist and I’m back to living to the beat of tick-tock time, instead of meandering well and truly off the grid, which is the real beauty of holidays. Not having to be someone, be somewhere stuck on the proverbial train track. If you have ever read a gorgeous Little Golden Book called Tootle The Train, you’ll now know what I mean.

Tootle-

So, our journey continues…

Tomorrow is another day!

DSC_9537.JPG

8 thoughts on “Lazarus Returns: Back to School.

  1. merrildsmith

    I’m glad your day went well! I love the family photo. Are the two schools far away from each other (and your home)? Do your kids ever have to go back for activities after school? Our girls were back and forth all the time from their high school (it was actually junior high and high school–7th to 12th grades) with rehearsals, meetings, competitions, etc. Fortunately, it was only about a 15 minute drive away, and once they and their friends began driving, I didn’t have to do it all the time.
    Hope Day 2 goes equally well! 🙂

  2. New Journey

    love the picture…you looked marvelous…new hair cut looks great….day one down….you’ve got this…well done….breath deep….your off to a great start…kat

  3. roweeee Post author

    Thanks very much, Kath. I am starting to realize what I’ve taken on and the difficulties of juggling my daughter going to school in Wyong with appointments in Sydney. I drove her up to Wyong yesterday and she had an appointment at the San in Wahroonga after school and it’s been full on. She caught the train today and she’s going to be doing that from now on. I might need to pick her up on Fridays but she’ll be good and she wants to be with her friends. Growing up very quick. Our son has brought home his first assignment, which involves looking at Haiku as well as Aboriginal poets. That was a wake up call. Realised that despite studying Australian Literature for two years during my degree, I am pretty sure I never read a poem by an Aboriginal person…or since! I feel quite ashamed. I have since looked up Oodgeroo Noonuccal (Kath Walker). Wish I’d found her work sooner. I’ll be posting at least one this week.
    How are your kids going, especially your daughter with High School? Hope things are going well.
    I don’t expect to get far with much this week but getting us all settled would be just fine. xx Rowena

Leave a Reply

