Puppies Together.

There is something so profound about this photo taken when Bilbo first joined our family in January, 2010. Our daughter was still crawling at the time and they were like puppies together.

Although Bilbo is about 9 months younger than our daughter, he will be turning 70 in dog years later this year. He is elderly before she’s ever grown up. Compared to the super-charged dog who’d rocket down to the beach as soon as the front door opened, he’s slowed down and is showing some signs of arthritis in his hind legs. Meanwhile, Miss still has a lot of growing up to do.

Newton Family & bilbo

A family photo with Bilbo as a pup Mother’s Day, 2007.

“I have sometimes thought of the final cause of dogs having such short lives and I am quite satisfied it is in compassion to the human race; for if we suffer so much in losing a dog after an acquaintance of ten or twelve years, what would it be if they were to live double that time?”

Sir Walter Scott

For all dog lovers, this “insynchronicity”, is a hard pill to swallow. Why can’t dogs age alongside us and spare us the pain that comes with losing a succession of canine companions? It’s just not right!

Bilbo

If only we could fiddle with time.

The only trouble is that we wouldn’t want to botch it up and suddenly find ourselves aging seven times as fast!

Now, that would be tragic!

xx Rowena

21 thoughts on “Puppies Together.

  1. merrildsmith

    Bilbo has such a sweet face. It is indeed sad when our pets die (and sad, too, for pets whose human companions die). Our first dog died when I was a young teen, and she was about 16. My family got her as a puppy before I was born, so at her death, I had known her my whole life.

  2. roweeee Post author

    I think our kids are keeping Bilbo alive with regular shock therapy. They’re very enthusiastic with their hugs.
    By the way, Bilbo lost about 12 kilos after we got Lady, our second dog, and his mobility really improved. Not sure if even in his post-op state he’s trying to impress the lady but losing all that weight certainly gave him a new lease on life and he’s moving so much better now. He’s running like an athlete down at the beach.

  3. roweeee Post author

    That’s one of the beauty’s and the heart aches of family dogs. They are such members of our families yet live a fraction of the time. Our last Border Collie was 8 when he died and our Old English Sheepdog was much the same yet he could be around for awhile yet. I certainly hope so!
    It must have been such a loss when you lost your dog and teenagers are so sensitive around that age too. Well, some are!
    Hope you are having a great weekend.
    xx Rowena

  4. merrildsmith

    It’s just as sad when cats die. I love my little guys. One of them follows me around the house and sleeps curled up against me.
    Hope you have a wonderful weekend, too!

  5. roweeee Post author

    I agree with you about time flying faster after 40. as a kid, don’t you remember it being an eternity until your birthday came round again? Now, you blink and another year has gone! Grr! xx Ro

  6. roweeee Post author

    You cat sounds lovely. My daughter really wants a cat but my husband is allergic. Then she wanted rabbits but it’s not worth the risk with Lady. She would rate as a professional rabbit killer. You would think that two dogs would be enough pets but she really loves animals!

  7. colinandray

    Great pics Rowena…. but you’ve got to admit that all puppies are really cute! The problem (for so many people) is that as they grow up, the owners loose interest, probably because they are like children and are just as much work. Our Humane Society (no doubt typical of many) gets a lot of dogs that were purchased because they were so cute as a puppy. I bet our Ray was really cute! Again …. great pics. 🙂

  8. merrildsmith

    My younger daughter never thought she would love a dog as much as she loves hers–he came with her husband. 🙂 And she convinced him to take in the cat that the dog had grown up with (at his parent’s house), so now they have a dog and cat.

  9. New Journey

    Oh my, what a couple of cuties….as my border enters her last year(s) we hope its plural with us, my heart breaks every time her hip slips out from under her…she’s unaware of her demise…she is still a puppy at heart with her Frisbee in her mouth…no thoughts of arthritis and aching joints for her….its all about living in the moment….what a wonderful way to go through life… your pictures are not only timeless they are priceless…and yes our animals are so much a part of our families….I have had my dog longer than my first 2 marriages lasted…LOL says something about relationships for sure….LOL thanks for sharing…kat

  10. roweeee Post author

    Too true. I think I have about two years left before I’m persona non grata for awhile. It could well be Lady and I going out for coffee together. xx Ro

  11. roweeee Post author

    We adopted lady as a 2 year old so we haven’t seen her as a pup either. It’s disgusting how people take on a dog with such little thought. As you know with Ray, they bond with their families and it’s not that easy for them to re-home. They give you so much love and ask so little from you. Speaking to the converted, of course! xx Rowena

  12. roweeee Post author

    I’ve always heard that when newly weds get a dog it’s a precursor to children. It was with us with our original Border Collie. Unfortunately, he passed away when our son was still a baby but I found some really cute pictures of him while organising our hard drive. I’ll have to write a post about him soon.
    xx Rowena

  13. Sailing a 34' Catamaran Named Chiron

    Cute dog pic!
    My husband wants a dog so we are moving our land home soon and adding an Australian cattle dog in April when the litter is ready.
    I have an elderly cat, 17 this year, 85 in people years. He’s on the decline but still pretty spry for an elderly gent. Our friends don’t live nearly long enough!

  14. Deb

    My heart has been broken by the loss of our family pets more than I care to count. They are our family members and it upsets me when someone will tell me “it’s just a dog/cat”. No…they are our four legged children!

Leave a Reply

