Mummy Sleeps In!

Struggling to come up with a title for this shot of a father and son down at the beach yesterday morning, I finally seized on “Mummy Sleeps In.”

Our son might have turned 12 this week but I still haven’t forgotten that extreme fatigue that comes with having young kids. I think Geoff might have taken the kids for a walk on Saturday mornings to try to give me a chance to catch up…not that he’d fared much better himself. Indeed, commuting to Sydney and working all day, he could well have been worse off.

Little peoples are incredible cute and enchanting but they’re also incredibly high octane and a 24/7, round the clock “job”, for lack of a better word.

I still remember the impossibility and luxury of a hot cup of tea…not something you can drink around the little peoples, even if you do manage to pause them and time for an instant.

By the way, this photo was taken yesterday morning when our town was blanketed in thick fog. The fog was so thick and expansive that it even filled our street, right up to the front door. It was quite incredible! We’ve been living here for 15 years and it’s never done that before.

That’s why I rushed down to the beach with my camera. I was expecting some good pickings but nothing this good. The bright early morning sun shining through the thick fog, really created an incredible ambiance…a photographer’s paradise!

I wonder if this image brings back any memories for you? The beach is such a way of life for many parts of Australia. I just love it! I spent so much of my own childhood there and now I go there with my own kids…and the dogs! Thus, the beach somehow moves beyond time, as generation after generation walks it’s sandy shores.

DSC_9855

Beach Feet.

 

This photo is part 2 covering my walk yesterday through the Mist. Here’s part 1: Walking Through the Mist.

I hope you are having a great week!

xx Rowena

5 thoughts on “Mummy Sleeps In!

  1. roweeee Post author

    Thanks, so much Merril.When I saw the fog yesterday morning, I thought there could be some great photographic possibilities down at the beach but knew it would be hit and miss. The fog was so thick, I could well get nothing but the sun was just above the horizon and blazing through the fog in a sort of post-apocalytic haze. It was so incredible. Creating a whole new ambiance. Needless to say, many photos taken!
    xx Rowena

  2. roweeee Post author

    Thanks, Derrick. Another just posted. I’m still working on the story to go with them.
    Hope you’ve had a great week.
    xx Rowena

  3. New Journey

    Last year we were in Casa Grande Arizona, it had rained, pretty heavily the entire night, we got up early to head toward a little out of the way town called Florence…and the fog was so heavy we considered pulling over till it lifted…but we trudged onward and so happy we did, we were able to witness the fog covering the giant saguaros in the desert…a sight that only comes around once if your lucky a year….what beauty…..loved the picture of the beach….kat

Leave a Reply

