A Photographer’s Dream.

“A tramp, a gentleman, a poet, a dreamer, a lonely fellow, always hopeful of romance and adventure.”

Charlie Chaplin

On Thursday morning, a freakish sea of fog literally knocked on our front door, as the street and indeed our entire town vanished in the haze. We’ve been living here for 15 years but we’ve never seen anything like it before. While we’ve seen patches of fog over the beach and the river in the past, we live a few streets back. Eerie, intriguing, even beautiful and yet there was a nagging underlying concern: why is it so?!! Google can tell me how fog forms but that doesn’t account for why it’s here… an act if God or Mankind?

I don’t know but for now, I had more pressing concerns.

“A writer, photographer, dreamer, wife, mother, daughter, friend seizing each and every beautiful stunning moment and lighting its spark. That’s who I am.”

Rowena Newton.

Although I consider myself a writer first and photographer second, given these freakish weather conditions, I didn’t even stop to think. As I shuffled the kids into “Mum’s Taxi”, I threw my camera bag in the boot and all plans were off. I was off to the beach. Once I’m looking through the lens, that’s it.The rest of the world is gone.
Not that I had great expectations. With that much fog, the beach could well be a complete white-out. Yet, on the other hand, that mix of intense early morning sunlight and the thick milky haze could well be spectacular, creating something exceptionally good. I just didn’t know.Photography is like casting a line out into the ocean, you just don’t  know what you’re going to catch. You can read the landscape and weather conditions to improve your chances but ultimately there’s a strong element of luck…being in the right place at the right time.
That is, as well as playing the numbers game.
Mind you, you can ,take your 10,000 photos but if you don’t train your eye and learn how to maximise your equipment, you might catch the big one once but it won’t be a repeat performance.
DSC_9926.JPG
I pulled up at the beach and saw a thick blanket of fog through the sand dunes. Nothing that special.
couple walking

A Morning Walk.

Then, as I walked along the beach, I turned back around looking East. The sun was rising, still low on the horizon, blazing through the fog with a burning glow. There was no colour. The canvas had been painted silver grey etched with darkened silhouettes. It was eerily Post-Apocalyptic and I half expected a cloaked pirate to emerge from the haze…Captain Jack Sparrow, perhaps.
Father & Son

While Mummy is Sleeping…

Instead, there were just the usual early morning walkers and a father hanging out with his toddler son. Couldn’t help thinking Mum was at home trying to sleep or perhaps at home with the new baby. Or, perhaps she’s at work while Dad’s staying at home. Who knows? You can’t assume but remembering that staggering sleep deprivation, I’d be asleep!

“It is in the compelling zest of high adventure and of victory, and in creative action, that man finds his supreme joys.”

Antoine de Saint-Exupery

Wow! This was good…very, very good. The interplay between the sunlight and the fog and those darkened silhouettes was pure magic and all my senses suddenly sprang to life. I could feel that intense tug on the line as the rod bent over towards the sea, knowing beyond all doubt that I’d caught a whopper of a fish and needed to use every bit of nouse to bring it in.
DSC_9867b

Seagulls Reaching for the Sun.

I am not a technical photographer and rely more on my eye, perspective and the magic of being in the right place at the right time and seizing the moment. At this point, I was focusing on the silhouettes…nothing special in normal light but seeing the familiar through the fog made it freakishly unusual. As I said, Post-Apocalyptic.
The sea gulls also added an intriguing element. They’re so common and yet through this fog and the muted light, they appeared somehow profound.
From not knowing how this expedition was going to turn out, I was absolutely stoked with the results.
These photos were such an unexpected gift. When I woke up that morning, I’d had no plans of going to the beach or taking photos. However, through capitalizing on the unexpected, I produced some of the best photos I’ve ever taken…the most atmospheric.

“Life is what happens while you are busy making other plans.”

John Lennon

This would not have been possible if I didn’t have the space to create. To be able to down tools and just take off. Living beyond the clock, I can follow the twists and turns of fate, creating my own path as I go. Sometimes, I almost feel myself being pulled along, led somewhere beyond myself. Call it what you like… God, fate, serendipity but inspiration grabs me, sweeping me right off my feet and into the unexplored realms of imagination. No doubt, you have been there yourself and can’t quite explain how you arrived or quite how you left. Not everything comes with scientific proof.
DSC_9855

Beach Feet.

That was Thursday. It’s now Saturday and I still feel strangely intoxicated by the fusion of sun and fog, which completely dazzled my senses. It’s been like peering into something so beautiful or transcendental but then arriving back home with a thud. That nasty bang on the head…a reality check.
Welcome back to the “To-Do List”.
Perhaps, I should take a hint from Snagglepus and simply “exit stage left”. After all,
just like “taking the hair of the dog” is offered as a hangover cure, my solution could very well involve taking more photos!
Or, I could just write about it instead.
What’s been inspiring you lately?
Hope you’ve had a great week and are enjoying your weekend.
xx Rowena

13 thoughts on “A Photographer’s Dream.

  1. Midwestern Plant Girl

    You sure had some interesting weather. Great photos to show us also!
    Fog is a normal thing here. Especially in spring, when the ground is still frozen and the air is warm. Makes for some beautiful sunrises.
    Does Australia do ‘daylight savings time’? We change tonight. It will be light when I wake up now. 😃

  2. roweeee Post author

    Sure did. We don’t get a lot of fog right here so I haven’t had much experience photographing in it before. I am going to be on the lookout now. Sydney Harbour apparently gets lots of fogs but I’m not usually down that way early enough.

  3. roweeee Post author

    Thanks very much.
    I’d imagine those foggy sunrises would be beautiful. That said, sunrise is a rather foreign concept to me. I’m much better suited to sunsets!
    Not all of Australia has daylight savings time. Queensland definitely doesn’t and I think Tasmania might not have it as well. Apparently, the cows are very sensitive in these areas and won’t produce milk i they change the clock.
    I take waking up in daylight for granted but we’re getting up earlier this year and it’s dark. How can this be? We still have Summer heat and yet dark mornings. It does not compute. That said, Winters here don’t compute with me either. I go into denial. Just like I’m in denial about the time at the moment.

  4. roweeee Post author

    Thanks, Merril. I am still in the moment. I think seeing that light in the fog has pressed too many buttons all at once and overstimulated my creativity. It was quite ethereal.

  5. purpleslobinrecovery

    Hi Rowena! I decided to come see you from Janice’s St Pat’s Day Meet and Greet. Boy, am I ever glad I did! These photos are fabulous!! And wonderfully eerie!!
    That first photo- my how young you are to be so talented!
    Love the Mummy’s Sleeping best of all. Seeing Dad’s with their kids, just tugs at something inside.

  6. Pingback: Weekend Coffee Share: March 12, 2016. | beyondtheflow

Leave a Reply

