Mum’s Taxi Takes A Dive.

When it’s comes to modifying Mum’s Taxi, I’d never considered attaching a snorkel before. A meter perhaps but never a snorkel.

That was until yesterday morning when I was driving our son to school in the rain after dropping Mademoiselle at the local swimming pool. Oops! I mean train station. I ended up driving through flood waters, clinging onto the steering wheel desperately hoping I’d make it out the other side. The “puddle” was considerably deeper and longer than I’d anticipated and I was dreading becoming a victim…a statistic of stupidity.

Even though the rain was bucketing down, the flood waters caught me off-guard. After all, I was simply driving our son to school a few streets away. When the car in front of me did a U-turn, I probably should’ve followed suit but my navigator goaded me to drive on: “C’mon Mum! Keep going!”

After all, what kid doesn’t love driving through puddles?!!

However, this wasn’t your garden variety puddle. It was more along the lines of an Olympic Swimming Pool. Well, Okay. I exaggerate. At the same time, this wasn’t the sort of puddle you should drive through, even though it wasn’t a raging torrent. Not dangerous but why take the risk?

Indeed! To impress your son. A son who goads you into driving through flood waters like a professional navigator when he’s only 12 years old and can’t even drive a car. Has no idea what happens when a car stalls in flood waters. Or, worse still, that cars can get swept away. Their occupants drowned.

Why did I listen? Why didn’t I trust my instincts? I blame a mother’s love. Or, was it really something less noble like wanting to be the hero? Fangio?

Well, I also blame inexperience. It’s the first time I’ve ever faced driving through such deep water. After all, I’m a city slicker. These days I might live in Greater Sydney by the beach but it’s hardly the Great Australian outback, which expects drought and flood. It’s civilization. Moreover, for the last few months it’s been scorchingly hot. Our front lawn has been cremated. Floods weren’t something I’d given a lot of thought!

I love a sunburnt country,
A land of sweeping plains,
Of ragged mountain ranges,
Of droughts and flooding rains.
I love her far horizons,
I love her jewel-sea,
Her beauty and her terror –
The wide brown land for me!

Dorothea Mackellar: My Country

Yet, that’s Australia. I shouldn’t be surprised.On the other hand, as an urbanite, you feel perhaps somewhat naively, that you’re insulated from nature. That you can package nature up inside a pipe. Control and contain it. Make it behave. Yet, nature has her own ideas. Fights back. Humiliates and subdues mankind, bringing us to our knees. We can be prepared but there are no guarantees. Nature does what nature wants.

That includes making our morning school run considerably more challenging.

I often say that I never know where Mum’s taxi is going to take me next and through flood waters definitely wasn’t on the list.

xx Rowena

11 thoughts on “Mum’s Taxi Takes A Dive.

  1. Deb

    I do the same thing but I have to at times in order to get home! My road floods in three places in a mile stretch…if I need to get home, I have to go through it. I’ve had a few scares when it has been especially deep and looked more like a raging river than a mere trickle across the road. Nah, smarter than that wasn’t part of my vocabulary! Stupid was. 🤔

  2. New Journey

    Oh my….looks like the floods happening in Texas at this time….glad you made it through….so what happen to all the hot sun…are you heading into fall as we head into spring???? xxkat

  3. Norah

    Well I’m pleased to hear that you’re still here to tell the tale, Rowena! I hope somebody put up a sign to warn other motorists. I hadn’t realised Sydney was experiencing such heavy rainfall. Interesting that you say nature does what nature wants. Unfortunately I think we (humans) are having too great an effect upon nature at the moment and it doesn’t always behave in “natural” ways. But I won’t get into a climate change discussion here!

  4. roweeee Post author

    I have seen a few signs around in other locations. I’ll have to look into this. It’s a main road and there were no signs when I went through.
    The upside of the rain was capturing some stunning cloud photos yesterday. I’ll be posting them tonight.
    I agree with you abut climate change and that we are already seeing the proof but I keep hoping it’s just a glitch but even just where we live there are to many changes.

  5. roweeee Post author

    Slowly but surely. I’d been hanging out for that cool change but when we received a deluge, I changed my mind. I’ll be posting some photos of the incredible cloud at the beach yesterday at sunset.

  6. roweeee Post author

    There were really nasty floods in Brisbane a few years back and I remember seeing cars and their occupants swept away and that was pretty sobering. Need to respect the forces of nature.

  7. Pingback: My Picks Of The Week #12 | A Momma's View

Leave a Reply

