Born To Crash.

Ȕber-pumped, Fangio’s poised in the driver’s seat. His foot’s on the accelerator ready for blast off! Mightn’t have a licence but this is the Dodge Em’s.

What a misnomer! Although the sign states: NO BUMPING, we’re all out to crash.

Caught up in “The Siblings’ Revenge!” my husband and I fight on opposing sides.

Disco lights flash. The hunt begins. Where are they? A hunter stalking his prey, he was born to crash!

Bang! Got them! Again! Again! Again!

“Yahoo!” We’re in the zone… until retaliation hit.

Ouch!

Siren rings!

Adventure over, we’re laughing like a bunch of crooks!

dodgems 2

March 23, 2016 prompt: In 99 words (no more, no less) write an adventure, experienced or witnessed. Explore your own ideas about what makes an adventurous spirit. Is it in the doing? Does standing witness count, and if so, how? Be adventurous!

Respond by March 29, 2016 to be included in the weekly compilation. Rules are here. All writers are welcome!

…..

DSC_0363

Setting out on our big adventure…standing at the entrance to the show.

Yesterday, we went to the Royal Sydney Easter Show and had the best time ever. I will never forget our ride on the Dodge Ems where I teamed up with my son and my husband teamed up with Miss.

My son and I chased them round the track like a crazed stalker. He was driving and a couple of times, I actually grabbed the wheel and tried to get up out on the edge where he could actually drive. He wasn’t interested. Just wanted to crash…especially into Dad and his sister. She was just as bad. The looks on their faces were quite priceless…grinning from ear to ear with the most fiendish smiles. They just loved being legalised villains. All the other drivers were the same. We all just wanted to crash.

I laughed so much my face hurt. Much more fun than driving a stupid car and you don’t need a licence!

This is my second flash fiction this week. After writing about the personification of fear on the rollercoaster, I wanted to write about a happy adventure. Take the topic a different direction.

Hope you’ve had a Happy and Blessed Easter!

xx Rowena

 

22 thoughts on “Born To Crash.

  1. TanGental

    I was terrified of dodgems from a young age having sat with a mad uncle once and he had no fear. Not sure that’s ever left me. And you are too young to use Fangio as your default F1 driver!

  2. merrildsmith

    I was wondering what the Royal Sydney Easter Show was when you mentioned it in a previous post. So it’s a kind of fair? It’s sounds like you and your family had a great time! I’m with the others here–not a big bumper car fan–and we once had to have a ride stopped to take our young daughter from one. She was in tears.

  3. roweeee Post author

    There was an ad a few years ago with Fangio on it and that’s stuck with me. My family were Mark Webber fans but his cars kept falling apart or breaking down. Maybe I should change it to Daniel Riccardo? Even though Michael Schmacher is an obvious alternative, his ski accident makes me feel uneasy about him.
    I haven’t heard about a fear of dodgems before although my mother wouldn’t have a go.
    I am very wary of rollercoasters. This seems pretty sane to me but when my brother was about 8 or 9, he pleaded to go on Mighty Mouse and Dad went on it with him…ever Captain Courageous. My Dad still talks about something tough putting “hairs on your chest”. My brother was absolutely terrified and looked like a ghost when he got off.
    From then, rollercoasters were like suicide…you can’t change your mind halfway and get off.

  4. roweeee Post author

    Hi Merril, the Royal Sydney Easter Show is absolutely huge and includes animal shows, handicrafts, huge agricultural displays, rides and showbags. You get the country people coming to the city to exhibit , which has always been a thrill to city folk like me.
    We were lucky that they were judging the Best Dog in Show yesterday so virtually every show breed was represented by their best in Show so we got to meet and photograph such a cross-section of breeds. I posted dog photos tonight and will be posting more photos of the exhibits. They were so inspiring. You should have seen the imagination and skill which went into the cake decorating! Such patient talent! I prefer to use chocolate ganache because it hides a multitude of sins.
    I am trying to keep up with my blog reading while also trying to capture our memories of the show and get ready for the A2Z challenge.
    We have never been able to take the kids to the show before due to my health and also my son’s high energy.
    Sorry to hear about your daughter on the dodgems. My daughter was like that and is slowly calming. On the Ferris wheel she sat there with her eyes sealed shut for the first half and was very brave. Both Geoff’s Dad and my Dad have a strong fear of heights so not surprising she struggles. She was also terrified of Santa..serious tears!

  5. Davina Lyons

    Looks like great fun!! The one time I did the bumper car thing, it took a couple of people to get me in and out of it. I barely fit!!! I laughed so hard!!!! So did everyone else in sight!

  6. TanGental

    Roller coasters work for me though I’ve been a tit on a few, like when I left my prescription sunglasses on my head inside space mountain in Florida ( the roller coaster is in the pitch black). I wonder why everything was a bit vague on my way out. We never did get them back.

  7. roweeee Post author

    You and I should never go on an adventure together! I went for a swim at the beach quite a few years ago and wore my glasses in. I’m as blind as a bat and I really don’t like the feeling of being completely vulnerable when I’m blind in the water. The surf is usually pretty flat so it’s not a problem but you can see where this is heading. Wave took them out but a few days later, the lifeguard called. They had turned up. I think I salvaged the frames. That was how I became friends with the life guard down there. The sort of thing that only happens when you’re middle-aged and married! He is actually my friend’s husband.

  8. roweeee Post author

    My body was fun but I was quite hyped up when we arrived home. took me a long time to unwind. So much fun and so much to see!

  9. Irene Waters 19 Writer Memoirist

    I told my Mum about my memories of her taking us to the Show today. She agreed she hated every minute of it but suggested I should visit the Qld equivalent. Funny I have no interest in that at all but after reading your pieces I’d consider going to Sydney.

  10. roweeee Post author

    Irene, I must admit that what I consider to be the show is at the original showground.
    By the way, have you ever been to the Marburg Show? My Mum’s family lived there for awhile. My grandfather was a Lutheran Minister. It is a real country style show but I must admit that it’s been 12 years since I last went so that’s been awhile too! Hope you had a great week! xx Rowena

  11. Irene Waters 19 Writer Memoirist

    No I haven’t been to the Marburg Show. I don’t even know where Marburg is. Country shows are good value particularly as you know most of the entrants. I liked Gloucester show for that reason. In fact my godchildren and their mother all did dressage which I used to love watching at Gloucester and this year I believe her pony got a first at the Royal Easter. That must have been a real buzz. I still think of The Show being at the old showgrounds. I can’t imagine that Homebush has the same atmosphere but maybe one day I’ll see.

  12. Charli Mills

    How wonderful you went to this festival! I understand losing abilities, and to be able to go to something we once did with ease is indeed adventure. Great flash! In the US we actually call Dodge Em’s, Bumper Cars! I love those crashes.

  13. Pingback: Called to Adventure « Carrot Ranch Communications

Leave a Reply

