The Greatest Roller Coaster Ride-Flash Fiction.

Obviously, catching the roller coaster, was her boyfriend’s idea. She couldn’t wait to get off!

Terrified and tortured, the young woman tried maneuvering into foetal position. Yet, constrained by the seat belt, was a contorted knot, her tiny hands shielding her face. Squirming with every twist and turn, she embodied The Scream. Yet, she didn’t make a sound.

Why couldn’t she tell him she was scared of heights?

Why didn’t he respond? Try to help?

Too late! Her stomach betrayed her. The Dagwood Dog chasing her milkshake spun out of control. A cyclonic catastrophe struck.

That woke him up!

March 23, 2016 prompt: In 99 words (no more, no less) write an adventure, experienced or witnessed. Explore your own ideas about what makes an adventurous spirit. Is it in the doing? Does standing witness count, and if so, how? Be adventurous!

Respond by March 29, 2016 to be included in the weekly compilation. Rules are here. All writers are welcome!

….

Today, our family had the most incredible fun at the Royal Sydney Easter Show. This was quite an adventure for us because tackling such huge crowds and walking long distances is difficult for me what with my “small engine”. So even though I had grown up going to the Show every year well into my thirties, we’ve never taken the kids before. From my perspective, this was a very serious breach because that’s what families do in Sydney abnd we couldn’t do it.

Anyway, we had such a great day and you’ve never seen such cheeky grins as the lot of us tearing round on the dodgem cars trying to wipe each other out. Don’t know why the sign says “No Bumping” because we all know it’s inevitable and a huge part of the fun!

After the dodgems, there was a big discussion about which ride they’d go on next. Both kids were looking at a fishing game, which was pretty elementary but then our son decided to go on this rollercoasters of rollercoasters, “The Spinning Coaster”, which promoted itself as the Greatest Rollercoaster in Australia. This ride was pure torture with sharp 90 degree turns and sense you were about to shoot over the very edge. Our son mentioned something to my husband about how he should’ve gone fishing instead.

Meanwhile, my husband noticed the couple who were sharing their compartment on the ride. He mentioned something to me afterwards about whether she’d be talking to him afterwards. It clearly wasn’t her idea to have a go. As I teased out what happened, this picture emerged of this absolutely terrified young woman who had tried curling herself into a ball but was tied into her seat by the seat belt and instead had covered her face with her hands and was trying to bury her self in the seat. Our daughter is pretty scared of heights and spent the first half of our ride on the Ferris Wheel with her eyes very tightly shut. Although I know it’s better for her to face her fears, particularly as a child, that doesn’t mean I’m oblivious to her pain. I feel it. I know it. Not that I’m afraid of heights but I was absolutely phobic of dogs as a child or more precisely, the sound of barking dogs and I know that crippling level of fear. For those of you who know how much I love dogs now, that’s a real encouragement.

Why did I write about this couple? I guess because I remember going on dates to the Royal Easter Show when I was in High School and that awkwardness of first dates where you might not have the courage to admit to your weaknesses. You want to impress and it can be a huge thing for someone to admit and share their very personal fears. Much easier to simply avoid them but then you can’t.

Of course, being fiction, I just had to make this poor woman’s misery even worse and make her sick.

By the way, I asked my husband how her boyfriend responded. After all, I would’ve been trying to help her. However, Geoff said he didn’t really seem to notice. That while he wasn’t quite as terrified as her, he was barely getting by himself. I asked Geoff how he noticed all this detail and he said that with our 12 year old son sitting next to the woman, he needed to make sure he was alright. Geoff was being a good Dad.

The other point of this story is that it’s better to admit your fears rather than covering them up or you could end up confronting them in a way that only makes them worse, fueling your anxiety.

Mind you, falling in love doesn’t always help our logic, does it?!!

xx Rowena

.

 

 

 

22 thoughts on “The Greatest Roller Coaster Ride-Flash Fiction.

  1. Norah

    Great flash. Except that I wouldn’t have got on the roller coaster, I can identify. Perhaps the boyfriend wasn’t feeling much different and was just trying to hold it all together.
    When Hub and I travelled by boat to Heron Island we were treated to two-metre swells. That doesn’t mean much to me, but the waves were pretty big and the boat was tossing around all over the place. Hub and most of the other passengers spent the entire two-hour journey throwing up into lovely little paper bags kindly handed out and collected by the patient staff. All I could do, to prevent the same happening, was stare at a point at the front of the boat and give little regard to what else was happening. I am usually a sympathetic vomiter so it is amazing that I managed to hold it all in. That is, until a metre away from disembarking and I couldn’t hold it any longer. Maybe the boyfriend was busy concentrating too.
    I’m pleased you all had a good time at the show – well, your family, at least.

  2. roweeee Post author

    I quite like the Ferris Wheel, especially the view from the top and by the time we on the rides, my camera battery had gone flat. So annoying. I struggle to download photos from my phone and download them into FB and save them from there which is clearly crazy. I hate technology!

  3. roweeee Post author

    It’s funny because I absolutely love them and the view from the top. I don’t go on vigorous rides with spinning etc I don’t like the shock and I’m not sure it’s good for me. That’s a great excuse anyway.

  4. roweeee Post author

    Thanks Merril for the big smiley! Loved it!
    Unfortunately, the camera battery is only as good as the operator! I’ve been caught out a few times and should remember by now not to take my chances and to plan on a big day out but you also want to have fun too. Geoff’s phone did a reasonable job. xx Rowena

  5. merrildsmith

    I think the big smiley is WP’s doing. I just did a regular smile face, and that’s how it looks on my end. I’ve been seeing big smiley’s on some comments people have made to me, and I thought they were doing something different.

  6. roweeee Post author

    Thanks, Kat. I’m glad I wasn’t on there! While they were doing that, I was with my daughter while she played a very simple fishing game. Our son was wishing he was with us while he was on the rollercoaster!

  7. New Journey

    LOL I used to like Roller Coaster in my youth…no thank you now!!! I do like Ferris wheels….went on a really big one at the Worlds Fair in Spokane Washington….pretty amazing…..looked like you all had a good time….what a great family outing…kat

  8. roweeee Post author

    Kat, it was a great day. You should have seen us all grinning on the dodgems. No saints there! Such fabulous memories and photos. No photos from my childhood visits to the show. Such a pity!

  9. Irene Waters 19 Writer Memoirist

    LOL. Great flash Rowena. I’m as bad as the boyfriend as it gave me a smile although I’m with the woman and would have been terrified. I know what you mean about parent duty taking the kids to the Easter Show. My parents felt that guilt and worried that we would never experience a real show (as in their mind our country town’s show was lacking) so my mother was given the job of driving to Sydney (Dad being a minister had to take Easter services) and giving us the experience. Mum hated every minute of it. She never attended another Royal Easter show in her life. The irony was that during that year Dad was offered a church in Sydney and we moved and every year after that my Dad took us. He loved the show as much us we did.
    Glad to hear you all had a great time. I’ve never been to the show in Homebush. I should think about trying to go one year.

  10. roweeee Post author

    I loved reading your comments. My Mum was much the same as your mum about the show…a bit more positive perhaps. She didn’t go on any rides, except perhaps the Ferris Wheel. I remember her standing there watching us instead of being a part of it and I decided not to be on the sidelines like that. I do have an escape clause for rollercoasters and other dangerous rides! xx Rowena

  11. Irene Waters 19 Writer Memoirist

    Perhaps it is their generation that had them standing on the sidelines and perhaps that is part of the reason why I have such a fear. Good on you for being a hands on, strapped in Mum. I’ll listen for your screams from here.

  12. Pingback: Called to Adventure « Carrot Ranch Communications

  13. Charli Mills

    I think it can be just as fun to apply the challenge to BOTS and it welcomes a greater breadth of writers, too. Thanks for sharing the link, I’ll check it out!

Leave a Reply

