That Other Couple

How to talk to each other as a couple is something to keep an eye on. Could be that the gentleman had Alzheimer’s. The comments are great as well! xx Rowena

vanbytheriver

The Notebook From “The Notebook”.

We’ve all seen them. That older couple.

Not the one holding hands, smiling politely at each other, silently enjoying a restaurant meal, reflecting on a lifetime of memories.

That other couple.

Growling, snarling, critical, impatient, angry, exhausted.

I witnessed one of those couples recently in a grocery store.

His name was Albert. She ordered him to “stay put” with the cart while she went around the corner. He did not. Something caught his eye and he moved the cart a bit to get closer. She came back, berating him.

“I thought I told you to stay put, Albert. This is why we can’t shop together. Let’s just get out of here.” And I watched, a bit stunned, as they steered abruptly toward the check-out lane.

As he walked a few paces behind, a stoop-shouldered Albert glanced at me. I wanted to tell him to run, as fast as he could, to get away. I…

View original post 159 more words

5 thoughts on “That Other Couple

  1. Midwestern Plant Girl

    Funny! I wrote post for next Monday (my anniversary) that is similar, but opposite. I see old couples cuddling like they were 13. I think it’s the cutest thing.
    Love the joke at the end… waiting for them to die! Ha ha!

  2. roweeee Post author

    That joke was good. Happy Anniversary for next Monday! I am about to post some flowers from the Royal Sydney Easter Show with you in mind. Our garden is so basic that not much to post there. I’m cheating! xx Rowena

  3. vanbytheriver

    Thanks so much for the reblog, Rowena.💕 Although Alzheimer’s can come earlier than expected, it is doubtful that it applied here…I suspect this couple was at most in their 50’s. There were far more harsh words than grey hairs.☺

  4. roweeee Post author

    I did appreciate the reference to the wrist strap/harness for the elderly. My sister-in-law is areal advocate for using them with small children, particularly in crowds and near roads for their safety. She’s not that mobile and it’s good insurance.

  5. Tails Around the Ranch

    Sadly, far too many young & old couples engage in this kind of behavior. Having recently found the love of my life, I find so much joy in being just the opposite-silly and fun with peals of laughter, getting me through each day of what looks like the new norm in this crazy, angry world. ღ

Leave a Reply

