Letters To Dead Poets-AA Milne #atozchallenge

Hi Christopher Robin’s Dad,

This is J & A’s Mum.

Not sure whether you remember me. My Mum used to read Winnie the Pooh to me when I was very small and now that I’ve grown up, I’ve been reading your books and poems to my children. My favourite poems are: Vespers and Now I am Six.

When I was one,
I had just begun.
When I was two,
I was nearly new.
When I was three,
I was hardly me.
When I was four,
I was not much more.
When I was five,
I was just alive.
But now I am six,
I’m as clever as clever.
So I think I’ll be six
now and forever.

Now We Are Six, By A. A. Milne

 

By the way, in case you hadn’t noticed, my son looks quite a lot like your Christopher Robin. Indeed, he could’ve stepped straight out of the pages of your books.

Well, at least, that was: Once Upon A Time…

Christopher Robin Milne

Christopher Robin Milne & Winnie the Pooh.

You see, he’s no longer six and we now have to double that score. That’s right! He recently turned twelve and has just started high school, which as I’m sure you’d appreciate, was quite a shock! It doesn’t seem that long ago that he was very young…just like your Christopher! I have no issues about him growing up. Indeed, I’m rather relieved that he’s not out there chasing Heffalumps and Whoozles and looking for the East Pole. That’s enough to give even the most courageous parent a series of heart attacks!

Jonathon wharf alone

Our son looking rather Christopher Robinish.

Speaking of growing up, I was wondering why Christopher Robin never grew up? Why did you stop writing about him and telling him stories about all his toys? Why didn’t the story telling grow up with him?

It’s not that I mean to be rude but is the reader just meant to passively sit back and not share their opinions or respond to an author’s work in any way? Or, are we allowed to think? Have opinions and instead of just being written to, can we readers actually write back? Express our views?

Well, at least, I think so but perhaps I’ll disagree when I also become “an author”.

Well, being what Owl would call “impudent” and others might consider “thoughtful”, I decided to send you a poem I wrote about my son being 12. You could say that to get to this poem, we’ve doubled Now We Are Six…applying some simple calculation.

Poem: Somewhere In Between.

but somewhere in between…

my feet now touch the ground

though my thoughts are

somewhere in the clouds.

I look out my bedroom window

at the road which lies ahead

wondering how to get from A to B.

Do I really have to walk?

Why can’t I take a jumbo jet?

I don’t have all the answers.

Indeed, I don’t even know

which questions I should ask.

Yet, everywhere I seem to look,

all I find is rules.

Rules on rules on rules!

Be here!

Go there!

This is how to do your hair!

Living by this ringing bell,

has to be a form of hell!

Neither tall,

Nor small

but somewhere in between…

why can’t I just enjoy the view

before I grow too big?

.

I must say that the other thing that I’ve noticed now that my son is 12 and my daughter’s 10, is that I am also being forced to grow up. Just like Christopher Robin has in a sense been immortalised as a little boy, you have also been frozen in that same time warp. You will always be that father of a young boy, bringing the adventures of his toys to life through Winnie the Pooh, Eeyore, Piglet, Tigger, Kanga, Roo and Rabbit.

Most of us do not have that luxury.

It’s been wonderful experiencing my second childhood…building sandcastles, reading picture books and driving along with the likes of Eeyore in my car.That is, being able to do all these fun things without being considered “insane” or “different different”.

So, if you don’t mind me being so full of questions, I only have a couple more.

As my kids grow up, do I really have to grow up with them? Why can’t I just veer off on my own trajectory and keep on being a kid? Do my own thing?  Just asking!  After all, don’t you still feel like finger painting and making mud pies every now and then?

I thought you might have a plan. Or, perhaps I should be asking Pooh? Despite being a so-called “bear of little brain”, he really is quite a good problem solver.

Thank you very much, Mr Milne! You’re an excellent listener!

Warm regards,

Rowena

Born 18th January, 1882, Alan Alexander Milne died on 31st January, 1956 aged 74. While his ashes were scattered, there is a memorial plaque at Ashdown Forest, East Sussex, the setting for Winnie the Pooh which quotes:

“By and by they came to an enchanted place on the very top of the Forest called Galleon’s Leap.”

Which is your favourite poem by AA Milne? Or, perhaps you relate to one of the characters from Winnie The Pooh?

Personally, I feel like I am a combination of most of his characters…quite a “soup” you could say.

xx Rowena

 

70 thoughts on “Letters To Dead Poets-AA Milne #atozchallenge

  1. roweeee Post author

    Thanks very much. Piglet is gorgeous. I re-read “Winnie the Pooh” last week and he really does represent what it’s like to be a child in the adventures and being so small. Milne captures that so well! xx Rowena

  2. roweeee Post author

    Thanks very much for popping by and I’m pleased you’re enjoying the theme. It’s well and truly outgrown the scope of the challenge and some of the posts have been quite lengthy but there’s been so much new ground to explore and putting such varied poets back to back through the alphabet has intensified the journey considerably. Jim Morrison from The Door was my J followed by Keats.
    Take care.
    xx Rowena

  3. roweeee Post author

    Thanks for popping round and for your comment. I have definitely had more than a touch of Eeyore delving into all these poets. I re-read “Winnie The Pooh” to write the post and appreciated so much nuance that I’d missed before. Milne’s characterisation was incredible! xx Rowena

  4. roweeee Post author

    That is so beautiful that you bought that giant Pooh Bear for your son. I could just imagine him propped up inside it. I had a huge one which we eventually gave to the kids’ school but I bought an Eeyore the same size a few weeks ago from the charity shop for $1.00. Of course, I couldn’t leave him behind. This left me with his strapped into the front passenger seat with a 45 minute drive home. It was quite intriguing. I thought he’d make a great talking point for encouraging kids to talk about difficult emotions.
    xx Rowena

  5. roweeee Post author

    Thanks very much for popping by, Pam and I’m pleased the post resonated with you. I had great inspiration. xx Rowena

  6. roweeee Post author

    Do you know the Tigger song? That was my favourite although I also love “I’m just a little black rain cloud.” I actually love photographing clouds and have been caught out by some menacing black rain clouds! xx Rowena

  7. Pingback: Alphabet Soup Week 3 #atozchallenge | beyondtheflow

  8. roweeee Post author

    Thanks very much, Jean. Sorry it has taken me so long to reply. I have trouble accessing some of my comments at times. I a writer, not a geek! xx Rowena

  9. roweeee Post author

    Thanks very much, Julie. I apologise if I didn’t reply to your comment before. I’ve had a bit of trouble accessing my comments. Hope you’re enjoying the challenge. I’m having an absolute ball!
    xx Rowena

  10. roweeee Post author

    Hi Keith, I’ve tried replying to this before but have had a few technical difficulties with my comments.
    Rather than growing up, I think I’m simply going backwards but that’s another story altogether.
    How are you finding the challenge?
    My kids are home on holidays and the family is getting a bit annoying by my “absence” but it’s all finally coming together for me and I’m not going to let it go now!!
    xx Rowena

  11. roweeee Post author

    Thanks very much for popping by. I’m so sorry it has taken me so long to reply to your comment. I’ve had a few technical difficulties, which could very well be caused by a bear of very little brain!
    xx Rowena

  12. roweeee Post author

    Thanks so much for the encouragement Pat as well as your appreciation of AA Milne. Sorry it’s taken me awhile to reply to your comment. I’ve had trouble accessing a few. Something to do with being a bear of little technical brain I believe!
    How is the challenge going for you? I am loving it but am struggling to juggle it all.
    xx Rowena

  13. Keith Channing

    I have to confess that I kind of cheated on two counts:
    1. I find Limericks relatively easy to write (follow the Limericks link under Rhyme in my menu and you’ll see how many I knock out), and
    2. I did one for each letter well before the end of March. Extras are added since.
    For me, the most challenging part is reading and commenting on as many others’ posts as I can.
    As for family, the children all left home a long time ago.

  14. Pingback: Alphabet Soup Week 4 | beyondtheflow

  15. Pingback: #AtoZchallenge Reflections…66, 652 Words Wiser. | beyondtheflow

Leave a Reply

